New answers tagged

2

Hunters Mark should apply from my reading of it. Mercer's Order of the Lycan class reads under Predatory Strike that, "Your unarmed strikes are considered a single weapon in regard to your Crimson Rites feature." Under the Blood Hunter class the Crimson Rite could only be applied to a weapon, so if the Order of the Lycan (clearly specialised in close unarmed ...


1

Yes, unarmed strikes count as weapon attacks and will trigger Hunter's Mark. From the latest version of the Player's Basic Rules: Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). Note that the implication here is that ...


1

I treat thrown weapons as ammunition similar to an archer's arrows. This is a case where the spirit of the law outweighs the letter. It doesn't make sense to preclude using throwing daggers or javelins yet allow an archer's bow.


8

I think this is really into the realm of DM prerogative. I see two ways of looking at this. Making a second attack requires you to choose a target and thus interact (again) with your weapon. Thus once you have thrown your weapon for the first attack you cannot control it to make an additional attack. Especially for a spear or javelin, there's no simple ...


15

Yup, but it's a little tricky. Your spear or javelin is a weapon, so it qualifies for horde breaker. The tricky bit is that you've got to make your second attack with the same weapon. Not another instance of that type of weapon, but with the same weapon. So after throwing the spear or javelin you've got to retrieve it and attack with it again against ...


-6

It is entirely optional because it's YOUR feature, but more importantly because the skill says it's optional. This is a class feature, which means you, the player, decide whether or not you are going to utilize it on your character. Just because it's normally passive doesn't mean you can't switch it on and off. The most important part of this skill is the ...


0

You can always have a choice in not killing an opponent. Just land a knockout blow


3

Kind of... you can choose to knock out instead of kill which I think is what you really care about right? PHB pg. 198: When an attacker reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack, the attacker can knock the creature out. The attacker can make this choice the instant damage is dealt So you have to use the 1d8 but if they only have 1 hit ...


16

As far as the rules are concerned, no. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, the creature takes an extra 1d8 damage if it’s below its hit point maximum. There's no "you can" or anything like that here, it's given as a definitive statement. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, it takes extra damage. So if you don't want to deal extra ...


11

It is Not Optional When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, the creature takes an extra 1d8 damage if it's below its hit point maximum. —PH page 93 There is no wording that hints at it being optional. Compare this wording to that of volley or whirlwind attack, which both state that "[y]ou can use your action to…" (bold mine for emphasis). Or, if ...



Top 50 recent answers are included