Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

9

No, it does not work quite like that. Firstly, 4th edition does not allow multiple enchantments to be placed on an item, you can only ever have a single enchantment on an item (although you can upgrade that enchantment, see below). Secondly Transfer Enchantment (from Adventurer's Vault pg 199) specifically states: You transfer the magical qualities ...


9

There's no such thing as "half an action", so that means you need to round it. There are no rules anywhere that suggest that you can do something in less than an action if you use up only part of it (for example; it's not a minor action to move only half your speed, nor it is a move action to only make one of the attacks a power grants) so in this case I'd ...


8

Yes. PHB 114: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it. No mention that it has to be in a wizard book, just that it is a wizard spell. Similar text exists for the Ritual Caster feat. The Warlock's ...


7

I have to imagine that opening a door falls well within "basic functions and repetitive tasks" so there is absolutely no reason why not. Even if the door is trapped (and in fact this is an excellent use case), the unseen servant would have no problem opening it. Unlocking it however requires a measure of skill your unseen servant does not have. The last ...


3

The gargoyle attacks any creature that approaches the object or enters the area, though it allows for any exceptions you make. (Dragon, p. 423) You're the object here, so it attacks anything that approaches it that you didn't provide as an exception. It's option 2. The gargoyle is autonomous and has it's own actions. It does not consume yours. You are ...


2

The second of the Two Principles (on page 29 of the Rules Compendium) says: Unless instructed otherwise, always round down even if the fraction is ½ or larger. I can't find anything to instruct otherwise, so RAW is to treat it as taking no time at all. That said, dividing actions is not something commonly done by the rules, and Hold Portal is ...


2

Book of Vile Darkness has rules for this in Chapter 2: Variant Rules. Pages 26 through 28 describe how sacrifices may be used in conjunction with a Knowledge (religion) check to gain various boons. Examples from Table 2-2: Typical Sacrificial Rewards include 24-hour-long versions of various spells, some entries from the planar binding series, and at the high ...


1

No, there are no player-available rituals to do this in any supplement that I know of, even the Book of Vile Darkness. However, as for your second question (Or can my players not create combat-capable undead), the Shadow Done Right 4th Edition supplements (http://shadow4e.wikidot.com/) contain a Necromancer class and at least one ritual concerning raising ...


1

Theatrics Make sure all your scenes are well rehearsed. Nothing will take you out of a scene quicker than some performer who forgot his script. Chanting/incantations/songs/spells are a great way to A) build up atmosphere, and B) make it very clear to all participants, that they are attending a ritual of some sorts. Make sure people will remember their ...


1

I think there are some misunderstandings in how the rituals work. There are no level 0 magical items. There are normal items (non-magical and without level), and there are magical items (with a minimal level of 1). This means you cannot have a magical item without level. Item level comes from the enchantment, not from the base item. A Leather Armor of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible