Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

9

No, it does not work quite like that. Firstly, 4th edition does not allow multiple enchantments to be placed on an item, you can only ever have a single enchantment on an item (although you can upgrade that enchantment, see below). Secondly Transfer Enchantment (from Adventurer's Vault pg 199) specifically states: You transfer the magical qualities ...


8

The Rules The only rules text I can find related to a general ritual's duration is from the 'Duration' description on page 299 of the Player's Handbook: This entry shows how long a ritual's effects last after the completion of the ritual. The effects usually last longer than those of a power. Tenser's Floating Disk has '24 hours' as its Duration. ...


8

Yes. PHB 114: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it. No mention that it has to be in a wizard book, just that it is a wizard spell. Similar text exists for the Ritual Caster feat. The Warlock's ...


7

I have to imagine that opening a door falls well within "basic functions and repetitive tasks" so there is absolutely no reason why not. Even if the door is trapped (and in fact this is an excellent use case), the unseen servant would have no problem opening it. Unlocking it however requires a measure of skill your unseen servant does not have. The last ...


3

The gargoyle attacks any creature that approaches the object or enters the area, though it allows for any exceptions you make. (Dragon, p. 423) You're the object here, so it attacks anything that approaches it that you didn't provide as an exception. It's option 2. The gargoyle is autonomous and has it's own actions. It does not consume yours. You are ...


1

I think there are some misunderstandings in how the rituals work. There are no level 0 magical items. There are normal items (non-magical and without level), and there are magical items (with a minimal level of 1). This means you cannot have a magical item without level. Item level comes from the enchantment, not from the base item. A Leather Armor of ...


1

Relics and Rituals by Sword and Sorcery. Chapter III of the book is entitled Ritual Magic and Chapter IV is entitled True Rituals. An excerpt: Beyond the dusty books and the quick gestures and the sonorous words that convey the power of spellcasters, there exists another level, one that rewards an even deeper understanding of magic. Most magicians ...


1

Multiple Disks? Yes! This post from wizards.com is helpful. As long as you have the required components and time to do so, then yes, get dat lewt with dem disks. There is nothing in the ritual that says you're limited to one, but you should look at the ritual costs. It appears that the designers were trying to rely on ritual components to limit rituals.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible