Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

28

The new errata changes* "You can't hide from a creature that can see you." to Using Ability Scores Hiding (p. 177). The DM decides when circumstances are appropriate for hiding. Also, the question isn’t whether a creature can see you when you’re hiding. The question is whether it can see you clearly. Which effectively changes the ...


22

Do they stack? RAW, no. Occasionally, your proficiency bonus might be multiplied or divided (doubled or halved, for example) before you apply it. For example, the rogue's Expertise feature doubles the proficiency bonus for certain ability checks. If a circumstance suggests that your proficiency bonus applies more than once to the same same roll, you ...


20

They Are A Pair of Monsters With A Long History Together You can appeal to Dungeon and Dragons tradition for a thematically (historically?) consistent relationship between an Otyugh and an Ettin in the manner you describe. The rules you are working with don't explicitly say one way or the other, as KRyan pointed out in his answer. Citation: Article ...


16

Yes, and this and Nature are the only Domains that gets an extra cantrip, so other clerics still have 3 at first level while Light and Nature Domains gets 3 plus Light / (Druid cantrip). All the clerics get bonus cantrips as they grow up levels as you can see in the Player's Handbook (PHB) page 57, starting at 3 and reaching 5 at level 10th, the Light and ...


14

No, it would not. The first part of the description clearly says "so that divination spells reveal false information about it." This then applies to both of the more specific uses (false aura and mask). Of course, a symbol spell is not a divination, but as you point out it still fits the "passive detection" pattern. This is indeed a RAW loophole that ...


14

Yes he can save himself. Yes, he will lose his casting of Summon Monster V. Summon Monster has a casting time of 1 round, and the spellcaster is required to concentrate on the spell for that duration (emphasis mine): When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before ...


12

Your weapon can be drawn before you go in. There's nothing to say that you can't walk around holding your weapon, though provision of light and carrying of gear are common reasons to have sheathed a weapon. (Social nicety is another.) When can you draw it? Out of combat you likely just declare your draw and GM says "okay." In combat, on your turn, you ...


12

Each edition has different rules with respect to this. D&D 5e removed all restrictions and made alignment a general thing for characters. There is flavour text indicating which classes tend to do what, however the customization aspect allows for things like chaotic-evil Paladins. For other editions, the easiest way to find out is to look up the class ...


12

The DM's mistaken about how the fire damage works... The DM's correct that damage reduction doesn't reduce damage from non-weapon attacks (e.g. energy damage, falls, poisons), so a creature with damage reduction takes full damage from, for example, fire. (To take less fire damage, the creature needs the special ability resistance to energy.) But a weapon ...


11

No, it won't apply at all, and your reasoning for why it won't is correct. Charm person and company are certainly not harmless by the rules, and are in fact offensive spells for the purposes of e.g. invisibility. The trait (as you're probably aware) is for casters that routinely buff/heal party members that have class or racial features that require them ...


11

Officially, the druid can't use wild shape to assume such a form... The druid supernatural ability wild shape allows the druid to use an effect duplicating the spell elemental body I at druid level 6, II at level 8, III at level 10, and IV at level 12. The spell elemental body has no provision for elementals other than air, earth, fire, and water. Of the ...


10

The spell animate dead usually applies to the targeted corpse the template skeleton or the template zombie There's probably not going to be any direct developer support for or against your GM's ruling, likely because the developers considered the actual rules so obvious there was no reason to make such a ruling. The spell animate dead targets one or more ...


10

Animate Dead refers repeatedly to “a corpse,” not “a humanoid corpse” as its required target.* This alone should be enough to indicate that it can create non-humanoid skeletons or zombies (casting it on a small rat's corpse and getting a humanoid skeleton would be odd, wouldn't it?). But furthermore, it goes on to provide special handling for when the corpse ...


10

Does this mean that a character making an attack against an Arcane Locked object bypasses the spell's protection, because the object's AC is unchanged? (Emphasis mine.) RAW, yes, because making an attack specifically opposes AC, not DC. The target number for an ability check or a saving throw is called a Difficulty Class (DC). The target number ...


10

This DM is inclined to rule that a creature suffers no miss chance when attacking a foe 5 ft. away that's under the effect of faerie fire yet that's within the effect of an obscuring mist The effect of the 1st-level Sor/Wiz spell obscuring mist [conj] (PH 258) is an effect similar to those listed in the description of the 1st-level Drd spell faerie fire (PH ...


10

The DMG pp. 257-258 has a bit of what you're looking for: descriptions of fourteen sample potions, with damages and costs. A few individual descriptions contain enough detail to make (some) ingredients obvious--see Carrion Crawler Mucus and Serpent Venom, for example. As for crafting poison... During downtime between adventures a character can use the ...


10

As Thomas Jacobs says, there is no hard-and-fast definition given by the books for “spellcasting class.” Various non-book sources (FAQ, Customer Service, and so on) have repeatedly denied the ability to advance mystic theurge with another prestige class that advances a “spellcasting class,”1 but such sources are not officially a part of the rules (per errata ...


10

The spell Conjure Elemental, cast as a 6th level spell, can summon an Invisible Stalker. It's available to Druids and Wizards at 9th level, but obviously they will have to wait until 11th level to cast it as a 6th level spell. If you know the name of an Invisible Stalker, you could also summon it with Gate, a 9th level spell available to Clerics, Sorcerers ...


9

You are missing important parts of the hiding rules (PHB p.177, emphasis mine): In combat, most creatures stay alert for signs of danger all around, so if you come out of hiding and approach a creature, it usually sees you. However, under certain circumstances, the Dungeon Master might allow you to stay hidden as you approach a creature that is ...


9

Only if it becomes a seperate adventurer and takes actual class levels. One of the requirements for Animal Ally is: character level 4th Character level is defined in the glossary as: The total level of the character, which is the sum of all class levels held by that character. And classes are defined as: Classes represent chosen professions ...


8

This is up to DM discretion. As with much of 5e, this is left up to DM discretion. I personally think the scenario you present is a perfectly legitimate way of "help[ing] slay" an elemental of the appropriate type. When I saw the question title, I thought you were going to ask about scenarios where the party had slain an elemental, but the PC attuned to ...


8

In all these cases, the creator needs the feat Craft Magic Arms and Armor, but once that's out of the way... Wondrous items are rarely also weapons... Precedent exists in the form of the mattock of the titans and maul of the titans, but these are largely exceptions rather than rules, both items dating back to at least the Dungeon Master's Guide for ...


8

Such descriptions are frequently not considered “rules,” particularly by the crowd that is interested in the “rules as written.” The lifestyles of the big and nasty are setting details; the Monster Manual describes, in extremely vague terms, a default setting (often described as “Greyhawk with the serial numbers filed off”), but other official settings (e.g. ...


8

PFSRD > Magic > Duration > Concentration Concentration The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the ...


8

d20SRD: Shooting or Throwing into a Melee If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll. Two characters are engaged in melee if they are enemies of each other and either threatens the other. (An unconscious or otherwise immobilized character is not considered ...


7

I'll get the simple bit done first - you're right, nothing in the Thrown property turns a melee weapon into a ranged weapon. It's a melee weapon you can use to make ranged attacks, so the Archery Fighting Style, which says that You gain a +2 bonus to attack rolls you make with ranged weapons. can never apply to it. It can apply to darts, because they ...


7

No. As you stated, Sacrifice to Caiphon requires a Warlock attack power, and powers from Paragon Paths, Skill Powers, etc. are not Warlock powers. If it was supposed to, it would have stated something like "Warlock or Warlock Paragon Path Powers," like Kelgore's Well of Power (emphasis mine): [...] Instead, the next time you make an attack with a ...


7

A creature that contracts lycanthropy apparently does so instantaneously upon suffering a natural lycanthrope's bite and failing the Fortitude saving throw. The supernatural ability curse of lycanthropy says Any humanoid or giant hit by a natural lycanthrope’s bite attack in animal or hybrid form must succeed on a DC 15 Fortitude save or contract ...


6

Nystul's Magic Aura only affects spells and magic effects that detect creature types or alignments. Therefore, spells such as Dominate Person or effects such as Turn Undead are unaffected by Magic Aura. In 5th edition, specific always beats general, even if the specific exception exists in the same spell as the general wording. In the description for ...


6

The roll is a standard degeneration roll (a roll without the ability to spend willpower for a success), with a modified difficulty. Flaws often change the details of a standard roll to fit the context of the situation, and this is no different. You are excluding prey on your own; the moral basis of your path does not dictate that you exclude prey. It is ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible