Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

17

The rules that you've quoted are pretty clear. You gain advantage when attacking unconscious creatures, and you gain disadvantage when attacking prone creatures from further than 5 feet away. If you have both advantage and disadvantage — you're attacking an unconscious creature from further than 5 feet away — you get neither, instead.


12

All bonuses to AC stack. I assume you're thinking of previous versions of D&D, where bonuses of the same type didn't stack. However, in 5e, the majority of ways to gain AC are separate ways to calculate your base AC, such as Plate Armour, which sets your base AC to 18, or Mage Armour, which sets your base AC to 13 + Dex. From the Player's Basic Rules, ...


12

There are 2 definitions of "round" in 5e. There is the definition of "round" that you quote, which is from initiative position intMax to initiative position 0 (or negative if you manage that some how). Then there is the definition used here for readied actions. This is the same definition used in "once per round" effects such as certain powers. This ...


11

There are no mechanics for called shots like this. This is not an abstraction that 4e generally cares to deal with and it introduces a level of realism that 4e is unconcerned with. You're not going to find source material that deals with this. That said, there are plenty of ways to narrate this happening within the current mechanics. The best things to use ...


9

I think the best thing to do here is to compare the wording on Lucky and Portent: Halflings, PHB 28 (emphasis mine): Lucky. When you roll a 1 on an attack roll, ability check, or saving throw, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll. Portent, PHB 116 (emphasis mine): You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by ...


9

From the Player's Basic Rules (v0.2), page 71: If a flying creature is knocked prone, has its speed reduced to 0, or is otherwise deprived of the ability to move, the creature falls, unless it has the ability to hover or it is being held aloft by magic, such as the fly spell. So a flying creature that is knocked prone will fall, unless it has the ...


8

For tools to implement non-standard PC races, you want the AD&D 2nd edition The Complete Book of Humanoids (1993). An excerpt of the back blurb: This handbook describes in detail over 20 humanoid races that can be run as player characters — from mischievous pixies to stubborn minotaurs, from lizardlike saurial to the savage half-ogre — and many more ...


8

Wax Eagle pretty much has it, but Create a Diversion to Hide and Gain Combat Advantage through Bluff are 2 different things, although very similar. Via Rules Compendium page 141 Bluff Gain Combat Advantage Make a Bluff check to gain combat advantage against an enemy by feining. Action: Standard action. A creature can take this action only ...


6

Yes, you can gain a familiar elsewhere and have both This ambiguity is due to a very annoying habit that Wizards of the Coast had to assume that all characters were starting from 1st-level, would remain single-classed, and would not take cross-class skills, when discussing what members of a class can do. You see this in similar issues like: whether a ...


6

So this question sort of ultimately comes down to "does shove use my weapon?" the answer to which is unfortunately clouded and probably up to your DM more than it is governed by the rules. I think in my games, I'd probably not, as "shove" seems more like a body to body effect (or shield if you're using one) rather than a weapon push, but I'd be open to ...


5

There's definitely some contradiction in the book and a few judgement calls to make, but here's how I'd run it: 1) Yes, generally speaking I would apply a -2 when using the drone with a matrix action since you only get the -2 penalty when performing matrix actions (Running Silent p235). In addition, the only matrix actions this drone/device will ever ...


4

Yes. As per PRD combat chapter, casting a spell provokes an attack of opportunity. There is no exception for touch range spells. As for the touch attacks with a spell, it is the act of attacking itself which doesn't provoke an AoO; the act of casting still does. You may find these three questions relevant to yours.


4

A lot of people run into this problem when using Savage Worlds, and it can be encountered whether using the Super Power Companion or not. On a fundamental level, given the way Savage Worlds is designed, it is extremely difficult to design an encounter with a single enemy foe that doesn't end quickly. This issue is exacerbated with the size and number of ...


4

No. See the descriptive text for the following items, which raise or mention an animal's intelligence in a way which indicates or implies that increasing an animal's intelligence score doesn't automatically change its type: Collar of the True Champion (Ultimate Equipment) Circlet of Speaking (Animal Archive) See also the text in the Advancing Companions ...


4

Spells do exactly what they say they do unless otherwise specified. With Command, it does not take effect until the following turn. So yes, no immediate effect, waits for the creature's next turn. You don't affect their current turn with this. With Thorn Whip, pull typically means that every foot of movement must move them closer to you (though this is not ...


4

Yes. The template lists all weaknesses of Vampires Weaknesses: Vampires cannot tolerate the strong odor of garlic and will not enter an area laced with it. Similarly, they recoil from mirrors or strongly presented holy symbols. These things don't harm the vampire—they merely keep it at bay. A recoiling vampire must stay at least 5 feet away from the ...


4

In the vampire template, there is a section called "weaknesses", that describes the following restrictions to a vampire's abilities: Held at bay by strong garlic odor, mirrors and strongly presented holy symbols. Cannot enter a private home or dwelling without invitation. A stake through the heart kills it. Number 3 is pretty irrelevant to the situation, ...


3

You should regain the use of your arm again. There's a different passage under Polymorph a little further down than the one you quoted that, in my opinion, should give a clear enough statement: While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, ...


3

Just prior to your citation (DMG 28): "It is assumed that an appropriate type of head armoring will be added to the suit of armor in order to allow uniform protection of the wearer." Uniform Protection = Same AC as the armor worn; No helmet means head is AC10 (which is targeted 50% of the time -- 1-3 on a d6 -- when fighting an intelligent foe). There is no ...


3

Yes, by RAW you can. As per SRD, while starting bardic music is always a standard action, maintaining it is another story. Bardic music abilities requiring concentration to maintain explicitly say so, for example (emphasis mine), Inspire Competence (Su) A bard of 3rd level or higher with 6 or more ranks in a Perform skill can use his music or ...


3

The basic idea behind Powers is that they are Called Shots. The reason you can only use them once per Encounter or Day is that no enemy is going to fall for the same trick twice. Or that the chance simply doesn't come up. While it sounds super heroic to stab the dragon in the eye, the truth is that the dragon isn't going to be standing still while the Rogue ...


3

First let me start by saying that if your ultimate end goal is it be hit more often, talk to your DM. With their consent, you could reskin Total Defence. Instead of bolstering your defences, you drop them, giving them a -2 rather than +2 which might entice an enemy to attack. Also consider rethinking your build. Enemies don't HAVE to do anything and any ...


3

The answer to this question is unclear from a RAW standpoint. There are essentially two camps: one who believe that attacks happen as a single atomic step and one who believe that attacks happen as a set of discrete micro-steps in a MTG-like fashion. People who hold the first position would say the answer to your question is no, as declaring an attack, ...


3

While Gygax spoke against this, he also allowed it in his own games and in fact, in 1e, there are some hidden guidelines to support it. Deities and Demigods gives us rules for calculating hit points for non-humans with levels, and the Dungeon Masters Guide notes for the reincarnation spell offers a little bit of advice. I don't know to what degree these ...


3

The second. You have an ability to obtain familiar, and you have an option to trade it for another ability. If you acquire the ability to obtain familiar from another source (multiclassing, for example), you will have both a skeletal minion from necromancer variant and a familiar from that another source.


2

From Bluff: CREATE A DIVERSION TO HIDE Make a Bluff check to create a diversion and become hidden using the Stealth skill. Action: Standard action. A creature can take this action only once per encounter. Opposed Check: Against a target’s passive Insight. The target must be able to see the creature creating the diversion. A creature can ...


2

Exploding Dice mechanic has little to do with your problem. You see, for a N-sided die an average roll is (N+1)/2. Whereas for an exploding N-sided die an average is (N+1)N/2(N-1) - just N/(N-1) times more. For d6 explosions increase an average roll from 3.5 to 4.2, or 20% increase. For d8 explosions increase an average roll from 4.5 to ~5.1, or ~13% ...


2

Technically, No. You have already quoted the important information. Gaining new spells per day is not the same as learning new spells. SRD for wizard states: Spellbooks At each new wizard level, she gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that she can cast (based on her new wizard level) for her spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also ...


2

Strictly speaking, you can declare an attack against the environment, even the ground (it has AC 5, if you were wondering; this is relevant for so-called “splash weapons”). So yes, you can “use the attack action” against the floor or whatever, and gain the benefit of Combat Expertise if you feel the need. If your DM actually makes you describe your character ...


2

Yes. Even stuff you declare after a hit is maxed on a crit. The only thing that isn't is something that specifically happens because of the crit. So if you have a hit that's eligible for Assassin's strike (or sneak attack, or anything else that is optionally declared after a hit) it's maxed.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible