Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

26

In general, you worry about DC, Saving throws, and AC only in situations where there are two opposing views of what should or can happen. Unless you have some sort of magical shield which actually has a chance to prevent the magic from happening, (Like a partial anti-magic sphere or something) there is no reason to ask someone to roll a saving throw when ...


21

In OD&D, I can't find much clarity as to the effects of invisibility at all. In BECMI, you have a -6 penalty to hit an invisible defender. And you can't see them. The rest is up to you. Don't see any impact on saving throws. (That -6 may be from the Rules Cyclopedia). In 1e, you have a -4 penalty to hit an invisible creature and have to detect them ...


18

There is no option to skip saving throws at the end of your turn. From the Rules Compendium pg 228 If a creature is subject to an effect that a save can end, the creature makes a saving throw against that effect at the end of each of its turns. DDI words it thusly End of Turn: At the end of your turn, you make a saving throw against each effect on ...


18

An effect like the one you describe (permanent, bound to a structure) is defined in the Stronghold Builder's Guidebook, pages 77-78. The component is appropriately named "Hall of Truth". It enforces a save upon each entry into the chamber. The relevant text is: [The Zone of Truth] effect only lasts as long as the subject is in the space. If a subject ...


16

Unless the effect says to make a saving throw immediately, as when avoiding being pushed into a pit or something, a creature makes saving throws at the end of its turn for each of the effects that a save can end. (Rules Compendium, page 228). In this case, your spell would go into effect on your attack, and at the end of the other PCs turn, he'd get to make ...


16

Six saving throws instead of three is by design, intended to emphasize the ability scores, and new usages are likely to come up in future expansions. Why Associating saving throws with ability scores makes the scores more relevant, or at least come up a lot more often. It has been six saving throws since the first playtest rules. Quoting the transcript of ...


14

As you say, this is how Green Slime is presented in the DMG (3.5e p77, 3.0 p117). Note that Green Slime is considered a hazard, much like a flow of lava, raging river, or 40' pit would be a hazard. Green slime is green slime. Does the module say the slime is invisible? That the players can't see it? Is there an illusory wall or darkness spell concealing ...


14

All of it. But it may end up squeezing if they are partially over the pit. If only part of a creature's space is over a pit or precipice, the creature doesn't fall (Normally a creature ends up in such a position as a result of forced movement.) On the creature's next turn, it must either move to an unoccupied space that is at least as large as it is or ...


14

According to a very strict interpretation (my interpretation, in this case, obviously) of the RAW, sure, the warrior can choose to save against the Wound spell. Here's why: Voluntarily Giving up a Saving Throw: A creature can voluntarily forego a saving throw and willingly accept a spell’s result. – Pathfinder, Saving Throw Emphasis mine. The ...


13

It was explicitly addressed on pg 219 of PHB2 (and in the Rules Compendium page 98 ): Failed Saving Throw: Sometimes an effect changes as a target fails saving throws against it. The new effect, specified in a “First Failed Saving Throw” or a “Second Failed Saving Throw” entry, takes effect after the target fails a saving throw against ...


13

From the DMG/Compendium, the important part for your question: Forced Movement and Terrain Difficult Terrain: Forced movement isn’t hindered by difficult terrain. Blocking Terrain: Forced movement can’t move a creature through blocking terrain (page 61). Every square along the path must be a space the creature could normally occupy. ...


13

This isn't an oversight. Spells aren't the only thing that could possibly cause a saving throw. Saving throws are written to be generally applicable, so that they can cover every possible situation and future rule. This provided a solid foundation upon which both official rules and home rulings can build, as it provides for making saving throws against any ...


12

A failed save means the target has no idea that the effect has taken place. A successful save gives the target an idea that they’ve been targeted by a hostile mental effect, but beyond its hostility and the fact that they resisted it, they gain no more information (i.e. no indication of the source, the direction it came from, the nature of the attack, ...


12

5e has changed Dying in a few meaningful ways from 4e's Death Saving Throw mechanic: Death saving throws are now 3 successes before 3 failures. If you get to 3 successes, you're stable, but still unconscious. If you get to 3 failures, you die. If you get to stable, all of your death saves are reset (successes and failures). If any damage you would take ...


12

There's a limited amount you can do proactively to prevent this. The fact that your int save isn't going to be very good is pretty much a fact of life. If you're targeted by this spell, there's a really good chance you're going to get hit with it. You can take a starting class as something that gets proficiency, but that may not fit every build (and it's a ...


12

You are correct. Spell saves are 10 + spell level + spellcasting stat modifier (+ any miscellaneous bonuses). They don't go up directly with character level, except insasmuch as character level lets you cast higher level spells, get higher stats, and get feat like Spell Focus that boost your DCs. As you become a higher level caster you need to either ...


11

Standard Scheme You are correct. Read the base save of a Barbarian 3, base save of a Bard 6, and add them. Factional BAB & Saves: Variant Suggestion I strongly recommend, however, that you use the “fractional” variant. In 3.5 that’s in Unearthed Arcana; I don’t know if Pathfinder replicated it anywhere, but saves work the same ...


11

Can a creature willingly forego a saving throw versus a spell? If the creature is targeted by a spell that allows a saving throw, the creature can choose to fail that saving throw. Voluntarily Giving up a Saving Throw A creature can voluntarily forego a saving throw and willingly accept a spell’s result. Even a character with a special resistance to ...


9

No, Assuming the power used was Summon Thought Servant DDI, it works exactly like a Heal check. Opportunity Action: Triggered when a dying ally adjacent to the servant starts its turn; targets the triggering ally; the servant makes a Heal check to stabilize the target or to allow the target to use his or her second wind In a Heal check, the subject is ...


9

D&D4 answers only here. There is no save vs. falling damage directly. However there are a couple helpful things to remember. Training in Acrobatics DDI can reduce the falling damage you take: If you fall from a height, you can make an Acrobatics check to reduce the amount of falling damage you take. You do get a save when forced into a falling ...


9

@Kryan hit the nail on the perverbial head, however, there is another aspect not yet addressed. A sucessfull Skill: Spellcraft check of 25+spell level allows the character who made a saving throw against them to determine what the spell was. Note that this doesn't say they are required to see the caster casting the spell only make a saving throw. ...


9

There is no precedent in the rules for it to matter, so I doubt any rule addresses it. You are using a new mechanic, so create rules for it. Even if there is some RAW that defines the general case, people probably don't know it, since this is super obscure. So just give a specific rule in the effect for what you want to happen in this case, and also in the ...


9

Since you’re doing something the rules don’t cover, there is no rule that tells you one way or the other how it’s “supposed” to go – it’s up to you. I would recommend not having it be a single save ever, since that would mean someone who makes the save never has to worry about that effect ever again, while someone who does not can never break it. ...


9

Assuming you are vulnerable to 8th level spells (meaning no 9th level Globe of Invulnerability), the only way to prevent the Ability Drain effect from Feeblemind is to succeed on the Intelligence saving throw. There are several ways to improve your Intelligence saving throws. Here is an attempt at an exhaustive list in ascending order of inconvenience ...


8

There's nothing in the rules that mentions any sharing of reflex saves between mount and rider. Each rolls a separate reflex save. Unless it's stated specifically, a mount and rider do not share any abilities such as Evasion with each other, either. To address the issue of realism clashing with the game rules, I don't think this is out of bounds with ...


8

Yes From the Rules Compendium, p260 (emphasis mine): Death Saving Throw: When an adventurer is dying, make a saving throw at the end of that character's turn each round. A death saving throw works just like any other saving throw, but the result determines how close the adventurer is to death. If you get a bonus to all saving throws, that bonus does ...


8

To address your first question, Why is this trap so special and hardcore - and one of the very first one in the dungeon, no less? Think of the alternative. If the first few traps the players encounter are easily avoidable, or can be shrugged off without too much effort, that sets the tone for the rest of the dungeon. The paradigm becomes one of "Move ...


8

As you and your group correctly suppose, the silence spell works at its best when cast upon an area or an ally. No SR apllies and no ST is required in this case but the area is stationary or moves with the ally, so the intended target (most probably an enenmy caster you're trying to silence) could still move outside of the area and cast his spells. While ...


8

Think back to the last time (or any time) you remember someone casting a healing spell. Did you say that you're voluntarily failing your save? By RAW, that's what is happening. It's harmless, so you can choose to fail it. Everyone just assumes that you are automatically, because making people actually say that every time sucks. What happens if you forget ...


8

No Order of Operations Exists... These are rules you'll have write. It's unfortunate in d20 that there's no quantified step-by-step order for combat and applying effects a la most trading card games. Were there, we could just say, "Immunity applies during step X, Damage Resolution, after Saving Throws but before Inflicting Effects," or whatever. ...But If ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible