Hot answers tagged

18

No, there is no general rule that states that you may make additional saving throws to shake off ongoing effects. Either the spell description, or the description for the specific conditions it applies, will specify if you have the opportunity to make further saving throws against the effect. Otherwise, assume it lasts for the duration. Many particularly ...


5

How does the caster know whether the victim made his SR? In general, only the player rolling the dice for the victim (and the DM) knows at the time whether or not he made his Saving Throw. The victim (in-game) only knows the effects that he perceives, and the caster (in-game) only knows what he perceives in turn. This is true for rolls in general, though ...


5

Saving Throws Are Rolled First According to every "save for half" spell I've read so far, the written order of operations is each creature makes a saving throw, then damage is rolled. For example, thunderwave says (PH282–3) Each creature [in the area] must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is ...


3

Saving throws may only be made when a spell or effect says that they may be made. If an effect gives one opportunity for a save and the save is failed, the effect lasts for the duration or until it is removed by some other means. The target does not ever get additional saves unless explicitly stated (or if some other class or racial feature grants ...


3

For the most part in D&D of the last 3 versions (3.x, 4 and 5) it usually comes down to if the spell would completely incapacitate a creature and allow for really unfair advantages during the effect. Example: in 5e Hold Person would allow for automatic crits within 5ft so if you were simply held for the duration without a chance of coming out of it you ...


3

The class feature says: When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling. My added emphasis shows clearly that you make this decision at the time you roll the damage. Each spell that requires a saving throw tells you when the saving throw is made and how much damage applies based ...


1

The saving throw and damage roll are independent of each other While most answers suggest that damage is rolled after the save, based on wording or "common sense", I will offer the opposing perspective: there is no sequential temporal relation between the two dice rolls. Spells that require a saving throw are either condition appliers (buffs/debuffs), or ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible