Tag Info

New answers tagged

4

It's the same reason why things like "defending yourself from being attacked" don't take away your action. They are assumed to be occurring in the process of fighting and are abstracted out of the combat system.


26

You are misunderstanding a vital element of the rules. There are not two different kind of saves. What you're reading as "Spell Save" is actually "Spell Save DC". It is used to calculate the save difficulty of spells casts by your character. Spell save difficulties are not set by the DM. When you cast a spell that calls for the target to make a saving ...


3

The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws. versus contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check A saving throw is not a check. The condition means they fail saving throws it has no impact on checks. Being incapacitated prevents them taking actions and reactions; opposing your action is ...


9

Hypnotic Pattern has no impact on a saving throw whatsoever. It imposes both the Charmed and Incapacitated conditions and having a speed of 0 does not automatically impose the immobilized, paralyzed, restrained, or stunned conditions, it just means you have a speed of 0. In fact, immobilized isn't even a condition in 5e. Rules for saving throws can be found ...


2

A save is neither an action nor a reaction - if it were, you would need to use your action or reaction in order to make a save. Effects that influence saves should always be clearly noted, because the save mechanic is an important part of the game. Speed 0 is not the same as applying the Immobilized condition - except for sharing the effect on speed of ...


-1

The rules are pretty straightforward about check contest of grapple and don't mention in any way that the target of the grapple uses up a reaction while the attacker uses an action. But since the target is stunned thus incapacitated, and cannot take reactions, he must not also roll for a check contest. Instead, I would use his passive check against the ...


3

Honestly, I would say a stunned character could still resist a grapple. Stunned isn't unconscious or unable to move one's muscles, it is a momentary bout of daze coming from a blow to the head or a flash bang effect. The character may not be able to initiate a grapple, resisting one takes a lot less ordination. I could however see a DM adjudicating that a ...


5

Although contests are RAW, how to run a contests is explicitly made the DM's responsibility via their own good judgment of the specific situation at hand. That means that, RAW, as soon as a contest is on the table (so to speak), it's in the DM's hands to make any and all adjustments necessary for it to make sense. In this way, the rules are — again, by RAW ...



Top 50 recent answers are included