Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

21

The question is a bit broad and rather subjective, but I think it's a good one, nonetheless. There are as many answers as shamans, though: it depends on the person and their circumstances as much as on their totem. Here, let me present a few examples I'd consider stereotypical (though YMMV, wildly, of course.) First of all, imo, practically any shaman can ...


12

From the Rules Compendium, page 212: No Opportunity Actions Triggered: When a target is pulled, pushed, or slid, it does not trigger opportunity actions, such as opportunity attacks, that are triggered by movement. From the Rules Compendium, page 214: No Opportunity Actions Triggered: When a target teleports, it doesn't provoke opportunity actions, ...


11

Ok, the answers to this question are basically: Normally no. Yes, in some circumstances There is nothing stopping you from flavoring your companion however you want to. Let's start with the basics. Under normal circumstances you get one spirit companion. The power is worded in such a way that it only allows you to call your companion if you don't already ...


8

Full mages and shamans are about half as common as doctors, and can do impressive things if they can even master a few spells. They will usually be fairly well off as a result: if you can cast healing spells all day, you should be able to make plenty of money, but there are plenty of alternatives. If you can cast combat spells, you should be able to make ...


8

YES, ABSOLUTELY! The Shaman's Spirit Companion's precise nature and appearance is explicitly left ambiguous to allow players to role play all sorts of possible spiritual manifestations, including multiple different companions. It always helps to back things up with a print source, so here's an excerpt from Primal Power, page 60, where the Spirit Companion ...


7

Keen Eagle Allows you to summon a second spirit after you action point. While it's not fantastic, it'll certainly continue the basis of "multiple companions" for your character: Keen Eagle Action (11th level): When you spend an action point to take an extra action, you can use your call spirit companion power as a free action to conjure a second ...


6

The Shaman's tactic is fine. Most of the shaman powers are ranged or have the spirit keyword. This means the shaman can stay away from the front lines and stand in a slightly safer position, where the only way to harm him is using ranged attacks or bypassing the defender. It's actually a good thing for the group if the shaman stays back and tries to get ...


6

As per the Q&A section in: linky It moves up to your move speed when you take a move action Thus, as it explicitly notes a "move action" it only moves when you take a move action. However, it can be any move action. Take a look at the Dragon Article they reference for more details. Unfortunately, the wording here is pretty unambiguous.


6

Be careful not to confuse the two entities shamans work with: one is a spirit, the other is a living animal representing that spirit in the physical world. First, no, the spirit animal is not an animal companion. It is a living creature that mostly works like a wizard's familiar: [The Spirit Animal] ability uses the same rules as the wizard's arcane ...


5

According to the compiled Q&A for spirit companions: Q; How far away can my SC go and still be sustained? A: It needs to be within 20 squares of you at the end of your turn. There is a lot of argument about this, but for my answer I am relying on this FAQ from the Player's Handbook Races: Dragonborn, which states that "Q The Dragon Storm power ...


5

From "Call Spirit Companion" "The spirit lasts until you fall unconscious or until you dismiss it as a minor action." From "Conjuration" "At the end of the creator's turn, a movable conjuration ends if the creator doesn't have line of effect to at least 1 square of the conjuration or if the creator isn't within range (using the power's range) of at least ...


5

This question is different than the subject line of the post you reference, but the intent is still the same I think. (The subject line specifies a "close burst" when the actual question is in regards to a "zone" effect.) In any case, WotC's rules on zones are somewhat ambiguous on this point. There is no strict definition of what constitutes a zone's ...


5

Mending Spirit from primal power (p 148) gets you there. Although you already have to have taken Spirit Talker first. There is no other entry feat to Shaman. Mending Spirit [Multiclass Shaman] Prerequisite: Spirit Talker feat Benefit: You gain the shaman power healing spirit, but you can use it only once per encounter.


4

Yes! You can use the power as a ranged basic attack. There's no reason that it would lose that property. But! You can still only use it once per encounter. Specific overrides general. The feat says you can use it once per encounter, and that's that. It still counts as a ranged basic attack for that one use, but if you were trying to get a shiny new ...


4

Dogs in the Vineyard DitV is great at handling escalation of conflict, especially with woogy demons. The process of conflict escalation can be mapped into spiritual conflict quite effectively. For that matter, most Lumpley's games can be mapped to this sort of subtle conflict. The video itself depicts stuff that I could trivally find in DitV, even the start ...


4

"When you take a move action, you can also move the spirit a number of squares equal to your speed." So, not a separate action, just any time the shaman moves, the spirit companion may also move.


3

The spirit is not insubstantial (in the strict sense). I.e., damage done to it isn't halved. Also, enemies can't move through its square, so it's substantial. It does, however, float: since it's a conjuration, and conjurations can float, the spirit companion can as well. Even if it's not a critter with wings.


3

That's a legendary boon, mostly because divine isn't appropriate for the primal nature of the boon. This is a flavor issue rather than a mechanical one, I think. The boon itself seems completely reasonable to me. The power's fine as is. You could lose the Secondary Target line, which is extraneous, but it's clear what the power is meant to do and so on. If ...


3

PFSRD: By communing with the incredible powers of her spirit, the shaman forges a cherished bond with one specific servant of that spirit—known as a spirit animal. A spirit animal is a creature chosen by a shaman to serve as a conduit, allowing her to more fully access the magic of her spirit on a daily basis. The shaman's spirit animal also grants her ...


2

The Dresden Files The fate-powered Dresden Files RPG has very good rules for summoning, containing, and controlling spirits / faeries / ghosts / demons. Each of those three tasks - summoning, containing, and controlling - is dealt with in sufficient detail to be flavorful, but like most of the dresden-files rules, you can skip the boring parts. Is your ...


2

White Wolf's nWoD (particularly Werewolf: The Forsaken and Mage: The Awakening, afaik) has real extensive support for stories involving the spirit world(s) and spirits, well built rules that could easily be tweaked further to allow for homegrown settings independent of nWoD as well. (The old versions of these games would work great too, though the new one's ...


2

1) For both scenarios, is my reasoning sound, and do they work as planned? No - Scenario 1 does not work, but scenario 2 does. 2) Specifically, does my own counterargument to Scenario 1 make it not work as desired? Your second counter argument looks correct. Your first is moot because of the second. You are using your move action to do the walk (or run, ...


2

to answer your questions: yes your reasoning is sound, but the enemy can choose not to continue his movement after your reaction. the caveat does not apply as you are taking a move action, even if it's a readied one. the character can definitely change his move in response to a changed battle field (IMO). So you can't force and opportunity attack here, ...


2

In 3.0, both druid and shaman used the same system for obtaining an animal companion, based on the animal friendship spell. In 3.5, the druid’s system for obtaining an animal companion was overhauled, and animal friendship ceased to be a spell. And while the shaman’s animal companion goes unmentioned in the Oriental Adventures 3.5 update, its spellcasting ...


2

The Animal Companion wasn't 'updated' in Dragon Magazine. In 3.0 the Shaman and the Druid had the exact same type of animal companion. With 3.5, the spell Animal Friendship was removed and the Animal Companion that druids enjoy now are what they became. The Shaman didn't receive that update. Your DM would have to make a ruling. Make it the same as a ...


1

First off, I'd like to clarify that I could not find an official source on this matter, as it simply has not been covered in the Dragon Magazine. The forums and wikia I've stumbled upon have all dealt with the matter the way you assumed you should. Since the Animal Companion has not been covered in any official 3.5 source, but has always been rather similar ...


1

Well, they converted some of the oracle mysteries over to shaman spirits, but not all. You therefore have a couple choices. Convert it over yourself, and get your GM's permission. Wait for the inevitable third party book that converts it over. Reskin one of the other mysteries. "Shield of flying bones = shield of flying spirits." "Wracking pain in the ...


1

Don't forget that some characters don't really recognize their true calling early on, or their own magical natures until later in life. It could be that Eagle has been sitting quietly, patiently guiding Sally into a career that Eagle thinks is best for her, but Sally has no clue about it and is just pulling 9-5 as a secretary in the security office because ...


1

2nd scenario seems more sound to me going by what I believe I understand is going on from both scenarios. That said, its entirely up to DM Preference as stated. If its a dumb npc, maybe it won't notice or care. Also, I'd allow it even though in all aspects, if you did it off of that trigger type every time, you're hurting yourself more since the standard ...


1

This is, of course, your choice as a DM. It always is. But if you're looking for justification by the rules, the spirit companion seems to be balanced. While attacks on it always hit, they have to pass the damage threshold and, yes, at low levels it will be very hard. At higher levels, I can see it passing the threshold and hitting the shaman for a lot ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible