Hot answers tagged

3

You need a free hand for the Flame Blade to appear in, and the other to perform the casting (S,M). After that, the casting is finished - you can use your "casting" hand for whatever you like. Concentration spells don't require you to "keep casting" to maintain them, just to concentrate. You don't lose the use of one hand while maintaining Invisibility, for ...


3

Yes, you can cast Flame Blade while holding a shield. In general, you need one free hand to cast a spell. Any material and somatic components required can be performed jointly with that one hand. There's nothing in the description of flame blade that requires a second free hand, so this rule is not superseded. Thus, you can hold a shield in your left hand, ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible