Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

16

First and foremost, each edition of D&D is it's own game, and rules should be evaluated as such. Just because things happened in old rule sets does not mean that it will in 5e. Though it can be helpful to look at old editions for inspiration, you should be careful of the rules environs of the the edition you are trying to modify when making house rules. ...


12

After: You choose to use the feat after successfully saving Here is the order of events as per the rule you quote: 1) You find yourself in a fireball's area of effect. 2) You get to roll your Dexterity saving throw.* 3) "If you succeed" on this saving throw you "can" use your reaction to get the feat's benefit. [The "bold quotes" here are straight from ...


9

Before (unfortunately). The trigger is [being] subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage And that is when the decision must be made: when the effect is hitting you. If the decision time was after rolling the save, the trigger would be "after making the roll" or similar. But it says "if you ...


7

The language is thoroughly ambiguous. It can be interpreted in either of two ways: (you can use your reaction to take no damage) (if you succeed on the saving throw) If you succeed on the saving throw, you can use your reaction to take no damage. (you can use your reaction) (to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw) You can use your reaction ...


6

Yes, it takes up that hand's weapon slot (because it already did). Basically, you can either have an enchanted shield or an enchanted arm slot item. You can also have a weapon in each hand. You can't wield another item in that hand (you can hold an item, but not wield it). Thus you can't otherwise wield a magic weapon in that hand so you've got that. The ...


5

This is adjunct to Wax Eagle answer. Historically Shield Bashing was used part of the whole package of skills learned when using a sword and shield. This included maneuvers what we could consider to be a type of grappling along with full body contact. What they amounted to in an abstract was to get the opponent prone or out of position so you had an ...


3

The shield gives +1 to AC in the printed version of the book. It is most likely a peculiar typo in the pdf, as it makes much more sense to grant the ability to use a shield without penalties if it actually does something.


2

My interpretation of it is After Shield Master If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your reaction to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, interposing your shield between yourself and the source of the effect. Emphasis added to show the pertinent ...


2

After. As it says: you can use your reaction [...] if you succeed on the saving throw. So unless you succeed on the saving throw, you can't use your reaction. Since there's no way to know beforehand whether you'll succeed on your saving throw, you have to wait till you see the result to use your reaction.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible