Hot answers tagged

21

A general preface: each edition of D&D is its own game, and rules should be evaluated as such. Just because things happened in old rule sets does not mean that it will in 5e. Though it can be helpful to look at old editions for inspiration, you should be careful of the rules environs of the edition you are trying to modify when making house rules. ...


18

In core folks do this with their tower shields A creature fighting a dragon can take the ready action specifying the action as I gain total cover from my tower shield and the condition as When the dragon is about to use his breath weapon. When the condition's met and the dragon uses its breath weapon anyway, most dragons' breath weapons no longer have line ...


16

Impossible to say We have, effectively, three points of information. First, the entry on the disarm variant rule states that A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. and the entry on the battlemaster’s disarming attack lets you When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can ...


14

After: You choose to use the feat after successfully saving Here is the order of events as per the rule you quote: 1) You find yourself in a fireball's area of effect. 2) You get to roll your Dexterity saving throw.* 3) "If you succeed" on this saving throw you "can" use your reaction to get the feat's benefit. [The "bold quotes" here are straight from ...


14

Yes, shields can be disarmed. There are only two methods of disarming in the game at present - the variant rule in the DMG, and the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack. Both of these can disarm someone of a shield. The variant rule in the DMG says: Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. ...


13

By strict RAW, no. Allowing it wouldn't harm your game meaningfully, however. Shields are in the armour category, and are thus not weapons. You could easily argue that you could use it as an improvised weapon, but that does not make it an actual weapon. Using improvised weapons as justification for doing this does not hold up, as that would allow you to ...


9

The rules The answer is no, there are no shields granting cover on its own and allowing to bash with them. Having such a shield would destroy the balance because tower shields would become obsolete in the face of a shield that does both and heavy shields would be at least challenged, depending on your playstyle. I am also not aware of any official ...


8

This is clearly written in both the player's handbook and even the player's basic rules, in the respective chapter about Combat. I suggest you read either of those before asking basic questions. From the basic rules, page 73 (emphasis mine, identical text is found in the PHB): ATTACK ROLLS When you make an attack, your attack roll determines ...


8

Before (unfortunately). The trigger is [being] subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage And that is when the decision must be made: when the effect is hitting you. If the decision time was after rolling the save, the trigger would be "after making the roll" or similar. But it says "if you ...


8

While I would allow it, the rules put shields in the Armor Category, not the weapons list, and using a shield as a weapon is normally treated as an improvised melee weapon. My read of the rules would be that you cannot, as it's not listed as a weapon.


8

No, you can't load a hand crossbow while holding a shield. The errata added a new condition to the Ammunition property: Loading a one handed weapon requires a free hand. A hand holding a shield is not a free hand, so you can't load your hand crossbow while using a shield. And since you can't load your hand crossbow, you can't make multiple attacks.


7

According to the RAW in order to use a Shield 6 lbs and a dagger (light) weapon to attack in the same round, you would need the feat Dual Wielder. Two weapon fighting (pg195 PHB) stipulates that to get a second attack both weapons used must be light. In the weapon descriptions, the heaviest weapon that is classified as a light weapon weighs 3 lbs The Dual ...


7

1. Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Yes, you can use a shield as an off hand weapon for purposes of the Pin Shield feat. Like with an ordinary shield bash attack, you lose any AC bonus provided by your shield until your next action. You would also suffer any other penalties for fighting ...


7

(Organized by book, then by non-bashing to bashing, then in an arbitrary order. A short description of the feats' benefits are appreciated but not required, links likewise.) From the Core Rulebook: Shield Proficiency is obvious in the case of characters who aren't already trained in shield-use. Shield Focus gives a flat bonus to shield AC. Greater Shield ...


6

The language is thoroughly ambiguous. It can be interpreted in either of two ways: (you can use your reaction to take no damage) (if you succeed on the saving throw) If you succeed on the saving throw, you can use your reaction to take no damage. (you can use your reaction) (to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw) You can use your reaction ...


6

This is explained on page 203 of the PHB under the Components section: Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. Material (M) A spellcaster must have a hand free to ...


6

Yes, it takes up that hand's weapon slot (because it already did). Basically, you can either have an enchanted shield or an enchanted arm slot item. You can also have a weapon in each hand. You can't wield another item in that hand (you can hold an item, but not wield it). Thus you can't otherwise wield a magic weapon in that hand so you've got that. The ...


6

This is adjunct to Wax Eagle answer. Historically Shield Bashing was used part of the whole package of skills learned when using a sword and shield. This included maneuvers what we could consider to be a type of grappling along with full body contact. What they amounted to in an abstract was to get the opponent prone or out of position so you had an ...


5

The shield gives +1 to AC in the printed version of the book. It is most likely a peculiar typo in the pdf, as it makes much more sense to grant the ability to use a shield without penalties if it actually does something.


5

As far as D&D 5E is concerned The errata'd rules prohibit it. You need a free hand to load a crossbow. In real life (yes, I know :-) It is possible to reload a hand crossbow with a shield. I've done it. It was in response to exactly this question when playing 1st edition AD&D - yes, this question is that old. The type of shield we had one with a ...


5

What stops an intelligent foe from just grabbing your Animated Shield? Nothing, see Disarm. It remains your shield, the fact that you are holding it by magic rather than muscle doesn't change that. ... what is there to prevent an intelligent creature from actually taking the shield and locking it away? The Attack of Opportunity, the opposed roll ...


4

I agree with your interpretation, no matter the number of allies, you only get +2 to your Shield bonus to AC. Benefit: When you and an adjacent ally are each using a shield, your shield bonus to Armor Class increases by 2. I read an here as at least one. Nothing in the feat explicitly calls out that it might scale. Feats that have scaling bonuses ...


4

My interpretation of it is After Shield Master If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your reaction to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, interposing your shield between yourself and the source of the effect. Emphasis added to show the pertinent ...


4

After. As it says: you can use your reaction [...] if you succeed on the saving throw. So unless you succeed on the saving throw, you can't use your reaction. Since there's no way to know beforehand whether you'll succeed on your saving throw, you have to wait till you see the result to use your reaction.


3

If you're referring to the Moderately Armored feat, which is the only feat to grant proficiency in shields, then yes, you can carry a shield and cast with your other free hand. But note that the Moderately Armored feat requires proficiency in light armor first, which wizards also do not have. If you don't have proficiency with the armor or shield you're ...


2

Ultimately, it’s irrelevant. The feat doesn’t say it stacks with itself, so even if you get +2 from each adjacent enshielded ally, you would have a bunch of untyped +2 bonuses from the same source (the feat), and they would not stack, but rather overlap. Whether you have one +2 bonus, or a bunch of unstacking +2 bonuses, makes no difference at any point in ...


2

Weapon and Torch does not have you using the torch as a weapon Notably, you do not make a separate attack roll with the torch: you make an attack roll with whatever weapon you are using, and then if that hits, you also use the torch for some extra damage. The use of the torch in this manner is automatic following a hit with the weapon. You can use a torch ...


2

My take on this to fit with the way other class abilities work, is that using the cape should be a bonus action that a player takes to force disadvantage on the opponent until the beginning of your next turn. Additionally to fit a matador's style, it should able to be used as part of an attack and be taken as an action similar to sleight of hand, to hide a ...


1

Absolutely. Since a shield can be used as an improvised weapon, it can be bonded. Since Crawford states that the shield would be considered a normal improvised weapon, it can qualify as such. Consider a player who has taken the Tavern Brawler feat so they are proficient with improvised weapons. This player may bond to an improvised weapon such as a chair ...


1

The errata added (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon) to the Ammunition weapon property (phb s. 146). Thus, you wont be able to carry a shield and load your weapon. As a DM myself, I would allow you to load your weapon if you posses the "war caster" feature [phb s. 170] [..] You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible