Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

26

D&D is a consensus game - Discuss the Options Your problem is not unique - it happens to every game master with a new system. It even happens in board games. It also happens whenever there is errata - changing the "offical rules." But, you are playing with a group of people so you should discuss any rule changes with the rest - regardless of the the ...


26

Yes, use the actual rules now that you know them The game is balanced around the ruleset it assumes is in use, and as you've already noticed any change to the rules is going to have system-wide implications (in this case, some very significant ones). You'll find a lot of powers, items, feats, and design philosophies make more sense now. But allow massive ...


18

Yes, if at the end of the shift you are not on a threatened square. Shift is a move action that lets you move 1 square without provoking opportunity attacks. You can then convert your standard action to a move action in order to walk away your speed. Note that some creatures may have a reach of 2 squares or more with their basic attacks. These creatures ...


12

Per the rules compendium page 249, you can't shift over any terrain that requires a skill check. So unless you have a swim speed, you can't shift while in water. Here's the excerpt from the Rules Compendium - see the Special Movement Modes section: Shift Action: Move action. Movement: The creature moves 1 square. (Some powers and effects allow ...


9

No, unless another rule provides an exception that allows it. A shift is just a type of move that doesn't provoke an opportunity attack. As such, you can't move through enemy squares unless the enemy is helpless or two size categories larger or smaller than you.


7

You can shift while swimming, but remember a few things about aquatic movement: You must make an athletics check to swim. You must spend 1 extra square of movement for each square you enter while swimming. Full rules, including DC's for different types of water, can be found under the athletics skill. Therefore, the normal move action of shifting 1 ...


6

Yes. From the PHB, page 290 (Opportunity Attack): "The most common form of opportunity action is an opportunity attack - a melee basic attack against the creature that provokes it." And the PHB, page 292 (Shift): "No Opportunity Attacks: If you shift out of a square adjacent to an enemy, you don't provoke an opportunity attack." This means that ...


6

You spend a move action to Squeeze yourself, during which Large and larger creatures may provoke opportunity attacks by "shrinking" away from opponents (the shardmind in the example does not provoke these as he does not reduce the number of squares he occupies). (Optionally) move half your speed, which may provoke opportunity attacks. You may then spend ...


6

According to the rules on page 292 of the PHB: Yes. You can move your full speed while squeezing (but not as part of the initial squeeze action). Yes. You can shift while squeezing, and do not take an opportunity attack for doing so. The half movement speed and opportunity attacks only apply to the initial act of squeezing. The penalty to attack rolls ...


4

Yes. A shift is very well defined in this question: Shifting Shifting allows for combat movement with out trigger opportunity attacks, but it does not say anything about hindering immediate actions that are not OAs. By definition this means that immediate actions (out-of-turn things) still apply. As long as the reaction being triggered is not an ...


4

Yes So long as you are not adjacent to an enemy nor within an enemy's threatening reach, you may move without penalty, even if that move is the result of converting a standard action into a move action.


4

Yes, An enemy shifting meets the criteria for enemy movement and would trigger this power. From the Rules Compendium glossary p314, or DDI. Move: Any instance of movement ... Shifting, teleporting, and being pushed are all examples of moves. There is a bit of confusion in your question though. You are asking about Opportunity Actions. Pursuit of ...


3

By RAW, there is apparently no way to do this. The closest you can get is a Wilding Clasp (from Masters of the Wild, p. 30), but those only prevent melding in favor of wearing, they cannot prevent dropping in favor of either wearing or melding. Therefore, the only way you will be able to get this to happen is by house ruling. Personally, I strongly recommend ...


3

Given that the only way to prevent the equipment dropping is when it can be worn or carried, it's going to depend somewhat on the form you're changing into. The solution I can see would be to ensure that all items you don't want dropped are attached to belt loops, as pretty much any reasonable form ought to be able to continue wearing a belt. You may still ...


3

yes you can. You can use a move action to shift and trade your standard down for a move to take a full movement action.


3

I think I may have just realized a point of clarification for this question: Normally, players think of squeezing in the sense of trying to get into small places like burrows and such. These places are still counted as one square in size, but require the special action of squeezing for medium-sized creatures (such as most PCs) to enter. However, ...


2

My opinion is that it does. From the Shift entry in D&DI: Movement: Move 1 square. Aside from just plain common sense, this clearly defines Shifting as a form of movement. No Opportunity Attacks: Your movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. This specifies that Shifting will not provoke Opportunity Attacks, with no mention of other ...


1

It's not RAI (Rules as Intended), but it is RAW (Rules as Written): The power notes: Pursuit of the Hunter Your prey tries to maneuver away, but there is no escape. Immediate Reaction Personal Trigger: An enemy within 2 squares of you moves on its turn Effect: You shift 3 squares. Until the end of your next turn, you deal 1d6 ...


1

Shifting doesn't provoke opportunity actions, with the exception of some creatures that can mark have stipulations that if you shift away from them they can still attack you (much like the fighter's mark ability). Also I've seen some newer creatures in the monster vault that have similar abilities if two or more of them are adjacent to you. But in general, ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible