New answers tagged

1

By RAW, yes. So strictly speaking, absolutely. You've actually answered your own question citing the pertinent rules. Requirement met: An enemy of the target within 5 feet. Unless the enemy rolls the successful investigation check to determine the image is an illusion, there's no reason for it to not regard it as a potential threat. There are plenty of ...


7

No. Sneak attack requires "another enemy". Mirror images aren't enemies different from you; they're in your space, and they "move with you", so they don't present additional threats. In general, there's no strict definition of "enemy" provided in the PHB, but it's often used interchangeably with "hostile creature". So, as you continue to find ways to ...


4

Strictly speaking, no. The RAW answer is no. An image of a creature isn't a creature, and certainly isn't an enemy. Note that a Silent Image is pretty limited in what it can do; it doesn't really move unless the caster uses their action, so it's hard to see how any creature would perceive it as an "enemy". My interpretation of the Sneak Attack rule is ...


-1

to quote the PHB "You can try to hide when you are lightly obscured from the creature from which you are hiding. When you are hidden from a creature and miss it with a ranged weapon attack, making the attack doesn't reveal your position. Dim light doesn't impose disadvantage on your Wisdom (Perceplion) checks relying on sight. In other words: No


6

Dim-light does not impose disadvantage on attacks, only on perception checks that require sight (PHB p. 183), so yes, he can sneak attack from dim light provided he has advantage from some other means. Regarding lighting, only total darkness (or otherwise being unable to see your target) imposes disadvantage on attacks. So, you could effectively sneak ...


0

You are interpreting the Skulker feat incorrectly. All it does is remove the disadvantage you normally have on Wisdom (Perception) checks in dim light. It says nothing about removing disadvantage for attack creatures in dim light. Thus (at least by RAW), you would still have disadvantage and be unable to sneak attack, even with the advantage you have from ...


2

Maybe The relevant parts of sneak attack (PHB p. 96) are, "...you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe's distraction." "You don't need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it..." This leads us to a couple of cases: 1. Your invisible friend is simply hiding out, being invisible, and your foe ...


8

Yes You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll. The creature is an enemy within 5 feet and not incapacitated; providing you don't have disadvantage you can sneak attack. The invisible person can move and ...


0

Yes, the sneak attack damage would be amplified. Precision damage is the same type of damage as the weapon that applied it. If you sneak attack somebody with a bludgeoning weapon and they have resistance, then the grand total of your damage is reduced. The same should apply in your case with vulnerability. I think there are some small cases (such as ability ...



Top 50 recent answers are included