Tag Info

New answers tagged

5

Incantatrix, spell-selection, and metamagic feats are the heart and soul of the mailman. The remaining class levels are not important, and could be archmage levels. In other words, you definitely can do it. Just take the feats and spells you need and have at it. You’ll still be phenomenally powerful. That said, there is a problem. The problem with ...


3

As The Mailman article says, "the first 16 levels are pretty critical, but the last 4 are fielder's choice". You can easily replace any of the higher levels with Archmage. This is because Incantatrix is really powerful, to a degree that most DMs find unreasonable. But if yours is okay with it, have fun. At 32 point buy, Str9 Con14 Dex14 Int14 Wis8 Cha17 ...


12

By RAW? No The spellbook rules say this: Once a wizard understands a new spell, she can record it into her spellbook. It says "wizard" explicitly, so by a direct RAW reading of the rule, no. A Sorcerer can't do it. It also says a wizard can copy into her spellbook, not into someone else's book. That makes sense, as it's hard for a wizard to ...


1

It seems to me that this build is viable but not optimal. Dual wielding weapons will be better than using a 1d8 rapier (you'll be doing 2d6 when you hit both time). When your cantrips or spells would be better used than attacking with a weapon, as a "free action" (those don't have a real term in 5e) you can stow one of your weapons, giving you a free ...


4

This really isn't as viable as you'd probably want it to be. First, there really isn't a way to hide and play in melee at the same time (unless you're a halfling). Second, a 16 AC is OK at first level, but will be pretty bad late in the game (the couple of high CR creatures we've seen would hit that 95% of the time, which is as much as they can). So ...


6

Nahal's Reckless Dweomer has been directly incorporated into the Sorcerer's class features. Starting in 3.5E, the spell was converted into the "Reckless Dweomer" class feature for the Wild Mage prestige class: Complete Arcane, Page 68 Reckless Dweomer (Su): At 9th level and higher, a wild mage knows how to spontaneously convert her own spell energy ...


6

Equipment: Amor: Plate: 18 Base Armor Class (via MC, best recommendation is Life/War cleric) Shield: +2 Weapon: Any finesse weapon. (See Defensive Duelist Feat) Feats: Defensive Duelist: Adds proficiency to AC as reaction if wielding a finesse weapon you're proficient in. War Caster: Allows casting while using weapons/shield. Important for utilizing ...


5

Draconic Resilience : AC 13 Dexterity 20 (+5) : AC 18 Bracers of Defense (Horde of the Dragon Queen Supplement, +3) : AC 21 Staff of Defense (Lost Mine of Phandelver, +1) : AC 22 Ring of Protection (Lost Mine of Phandelver, +1) : AC 23 Temporary: Shield spell (+5) : 28 Buff from someone else: Shield of Faith spell (+2) : 30


2

21 without magic. Higher with it That's pretty much the universal answer to this question (with the barbarian being the potential exception). There are several ways to go about about this. Pretty much the go to here is to MC something that gets you heavy armor and shields. Life or War cleric is the go to. You get access to Plate right away (as soon as you ...


16

You are able to cast the cleric spells at a higher level. While spells known / prepared are handled on a class basis, your spell slots are combined. PHB, page 164, Multiclassing, Spellcasting, Spell slots Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels ... Use this total to determine your spell slots by ...


5

1. How useful is the bonus to elemental spell damage compared to re-rolling the damage dice using Empowered Spell if the only direct-damage elemental spell you have that matches your ancestry is a cantrip? Assuming a Charisma bonus of 3 or greater, the bonus to elemental spell damage at level 6, is about the same as empowering. However, at level 11 it's ...


11

Yes and No. You get both sorcerer spells and wizard spells, but you must keep track of them separately. Your sorcerer spells must come from the limited spells you have chosen to learn as a sorcerer, have their save DC set with Charisma, and use your sorcerer spells per day. Your wizard spells must be prepared from a spellbook, have their DC set with ...


2

Sorc 1/Cleric 1 should be pretty solid. You'd have 3 L1 spell slots per day, you'd get access to medium armor and Shields, which is a nice boost to your AC. You'd also pick up the first domain feature for your cleric, which can be quite good. A S1/C1 would be a solid combination, it's a bit MAD as you'd want to make sure you have wis/cha/dex, but that's ...


6

Roll every time. The exact wording says "can", but you aren't rolling on the wild magic table, rather a d20 to see if you roll on the wild magic table where only a 1 on the die will result in a wild magic table roll. Given that very low chance I think it behooves both the player and the DM to have the wild magic sorcerer roll everytime a level 1 spell (or ...


13

There is nothing to prevent you from being made to roll twice on the table. They are two separate class features, if you've used Tides of Chaos, the DM is well within his rights to make you roll the d20 to check to see if you need to roll (for casting a spell), and making you roll on the table to get Tides of Chaos back. That's not to say he should, ...


-1

Neither option is correct. The DM either asks you to roll for Magic Surge, or they ask you to roll for Tides of Chaos, but never both. To clarify, there are 3 possible options: DM demands you roll a d20 for possible wild surge, and you roll a 1, rules then demands you roll a d100 DM demands you roll a d20 for a possible wild surge, and you roll > 1, DM ...


0

Yes, the player's handbook does give guidance as to when you should roll for wild surge. However it is very subtle and easily overlooked. There are two abilities you gain at first level for Wild Magic. One is Magic Surge, and the other is Tides of Chaos. These two abilities are actually linked to each other, in that after each spell that you cast above ...


10

It does seem kind of intentionally-vague. I suppose that's so the DM and players can determine how much wackiness they want to inject into the campaign. Perhaps there will be more guidance for this in the DMG, when it comes out. Like most things that are left up to DM discretion, this is something that the DM and players should discuss ahead of time, ...


10

Yes, this is true. Wizards get every spell a level sooner, except for level 0 and level 1 spells. See the spells per day tables on the Sorcerers & Wizards page. Wizards and sorcerers learn from the same spell list, but wizards learn each new spell level 1 class level earlier. So except for first level spells (which both classes gain at level 1), a ...


6

Your spell slots recover based on the class that you get them from. The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. Unlike spell slots ...


4

I went through the Wild Magic Table and came up with five possible results. Positive, gives a clear benefit (48%) Neutral, mostly flavor effect (12%) Negative, causes a clear complication (22%) Monster, causes a creature to appear that could be helpful or harmful depending on the roleplaying. (6%) Potential, could be harmful, could be helpful it depends. ...


1

The Spell Remains an Illusion Spell No matter what spell the caster chooses to copy with the spell shadow conjuration et al. the spell remains an Illusion spell as an Illusion spell is creating the effect. The supernatural ability summoner's charm does not apply to spells of the Illusion school. The Word Duplicate and the Word Mimic The game has used ...



Top 50 recent answers are included