Hot answers tagged

99

It's a relic of earlier systems. From the "Dungeonomicon:" Material Components: A Joke Gone Way Out of Hand Material components are a joke. I'm not saying that they are metaphorically a joke in that they don't act as a consistent or adequate limiting factor to spellcasting, I mean that they are actually a joke. Material components are supposed to ...


54

It looks like your real question is can a spellcaster use Eschew Materials to create undead without having a corpse handy? The answer to that question is no. Animate Dead Components V, S, M (an onyx gem worth at least 25 gp per Hit Die of the undead) Targets one or more corpses touched - Create Undead Components V, S, M (a clay pot ...


36

No, Major Creation works like Minor Creation, which states: Attempting to use any created object as a material component causes the spell to fail. You can create your diamond dust, but that dust cannot be used as material component for spells. You could probably attempt to sell it, make some money, and then use it to buy non-magical diamond dust. But ...


31

Ulmus Glabra aka Ulmus Glabra Montana is also known as Scotch Elm, Wychwood, Wych Elm, and Witch Hazel. (Witch Hazel is a different shrub in the US). It was used to make divining rods and had other reputed magical properties. One of the things you lose by just treating components as "junk" and abstracting them away is that it's one of the remaining sources ...


29

Mostly fluff. In metagame terms, a spell component pouch has two main purposes: If a wizard's spell component pouch is taken away, he can't cast spells. This is important when taking away the party's weapons, as in an imprisonment scenario, or when grappling. Ingredients for the spell pouch can serve as RP hooks. If the wizard requires a particular ...


25

Allow them to carry any spell components, parasites, flower tiaras, and intestinal flora along with them. The RAW aren't exactly silly, but they seem intended to avoid someone melding into stone along with an ally, enemy, victim, or familiar by claiming that they're carrying them as gear. As long as something is CR0 and Diminutive or smaller, it's fine. ...


23

Yes, you can cast prepared spells which require only Verbal and/or Somatic components when deprived of your focus. (As long as you can produce the Verbal and Somatic components, that is.) The focus only functions to replace (subject to the limitations you mentioned) such Material components as are required. It, like a component pouch, is not implicated when ...


22

First of all, I'm curious as to why the non-gp materials are included in the spell description at all if they are never going to be considered. Yes, it adds flavor, but since the material components are effectively ignored in play, the flavor is lost. They're only ignored if you have a spell component pouch or the feat Eschew Materials, and the ...


22

No canonical list There is not a canonical list of the metals associated with each plane, even if just for fluff reasons. There is a very obscure list, but it was printed long after the concept of forks for plane shift first originated, so for a long time there was no list. And that list was published in Dragon magazine and never again referenced, making it ...


22

Yes, you can cast spells with a Material (M) component without issue. Your Holy Symbol takes care of it. This is one of the more difficult things to look up in the current 5e rules. It starts on page 58, under Cleric spellcasting: You can use a holy symbol (found in chapter 5) as a spellcasting focus for your cleric spells. In the equipment section, ...


21

Unless specifically stated, material components are not consumed by a spell. Create Undead doesn't say that the onyx stones are consumed so no, you don't need to "burn" 450 gp each time you (re)cast the spell but you do still need to provide the components for each recasting. The rules for components can be found on page 203 of the PHB.


20

Practically, Eschew Materials is a situational feat similar to Still Spell or Silent Spell - it allows you to cast spells if you don't have your spell materials pouch (it was stolen or Grabbed or you've been imprisoned or the wench you took home from the bar and got you undressed just turned into a vampire) or if you can't reach it (because you're grappled ...


20

The components are only consumed when specified. Players handbook pg 203: Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must ...


19

No. PHB, pg 203 If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell. When you cast Magic Mouth you are embedding a message in a usually mundane object to be spoken at another time. It is physically the object that speaks the words. Since you are not providing the spell's components, you are unable to cast ...


19

The rules for spellcasting spell this out clearly: A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components. (Source: 5e System Reference document)


17

What sort of techniques be used to make reagents meaningful? How can I reward wizards that go through the extra effort of working with reagents? Once reagents are meaningful, they will reward the player for using them. First off, make them part of the game world: A passing wizard asks to borrow some component, a ritual you are attending requires fragments ...


17

You can't cast spells while holding your two-handed sword or your sword and shield without the War Caster feat. This is spelled out on page 203 of the PHB: If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. However, you don't necessarily need to take the feat in order to use a two-...


17

If you are talking about the material components specifically... Most of the components are fluff, for most casters, most of the time. They choose a component pouch or an arcane focus, and they don't have to worry about the lint, sand, feathers or eye of newt. If they get separated from their focus, the materials needed can be an interesting plot point or ...


16

I am pretty sure that the rules never clarify beyond what you have already quoted, and I am certain that the rules you have quoted are not definitive on this point. I, and literally everyone I have ever played with or talked to, have always assumed that casting spells with both material and somatic components takes one hand. Never really paid very much ...


16

A spell's target is different from a spell's material components, so trying to use the feat Eschew Materials to bypass needing a corpse as the target of the spell animate dead, for example, is beyond the feat's scope (as is using the feat to bypass animate dead's onyx material component, by the way). To be clear, the feat Eschew Materials only obviates ...


15

Strictly tracking the spell components is a serious drag. Consider the added bookkeeping cost to an already paperwork heavy class every wizard's turn of every battle: "So I have a 3rd level spell slot left, so I can cast... but that would only leave me with 14 grams of charcoal...after those spells I now have hmmm. 47 grams of sulfur, 94 grams of generic ...


15

Taking your hand off the weapon should not require any action expenditure - you are just letting go of it, same as if you dropped it. You can then use your free object interaction to restore your grip after casting. The PHB Errata says: Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it. ...


15

The somatic component states: If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. Just make sure both their hands are tied and you're set. Or cut both of their hands off. The point is that you can restrict their somatic component by making sure they don't have "free use of at least one ...


14

RAW Most of this is something that will have to be determined by your group / DM: The rules don't clearly state whether or not the suggestion itself is the verbal component for Suggestion. The rules do state that someone who makes a mental save is unaware of the spell unless the spell has a "perceptible effect" (PHB, page 204). The rules do state that you ...


13

You either handwave them away or you require them to be gathered on the wizard's initiative and you roleplay it out. Lots of groups opt for the former. It means you don't have to track every live spider or think about how they're stored and carried. The disadvantage is that you lose a huge aspect of the original power balance between wizards and other ...


13

The point of using a spell-casting focus or a component pouch is to replace the components for a spell - since they are more or less just for flavor. It keeps you from holding on to a bag of random items just to cast spells (i.e. A bar of iron to cast Hold Person, or a bit of bat fur to cast Arcane Eye). The exceptions to this rule: The component is ...


13

Sorry, but by RAW, the items lists for Arcane Focus and Holy Symbol are unique and separate. An arcane focus can be a Crystal, an Orb, a Rod, a Staff, or a Wand. A holy symbol can be an Amulet, an Emblem, or a Reliquary. You can try to convince your DM to something like combining the AF Crystal with the HS Amulet, but that would be house-ruling. ;)


12

Kelgore's Firebolt - No The material component for Kelgore's Firebolt is "a handful of ashes", and the spell effect says that it "conjures a shard of red-hot rock." So no, there is no RAW way to substitute your own pebble in there and have it work. Spells only do what they say they do, and the spell says quite clearly that it conjures a red-hot pebble. It ...


12

It's a Trap! Sort Of. Not in the traditional sense, but the 8th-level Sor/Wiz spell sympathy [ench] (PH 292) is bait for a trap. Pick the kind of intelligent creature or pick an opposed alignment and lie in wait. Unlike most spells, the spell sympathy brings the adventure to the PCs, consequently--potentially!--enabling access to treasure without need for ...


12

No The spell description states, As part of casting the spell, you can scribe a circle on the ground with the blood used as a material component. Because it must be done as part of the casting action and with the same blood being used as the material component for the ritual. Since it goes on further to say "your space" I believe ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible