New answers tagged

5

Yes, a Life Domain cleric's Goodberrys are great. The Disciple of Life feature would make each berry restore 4 hit points, instead of 1, assuming you cast goodberry with a 1st-level slot. (Sage Advice Compendium for fifth edition.) For any who aren't aware, "Sage Advice" is the long-standing name given to TSR's, then WotC's, official clarifications ...


4

If the aid another action can assist a creature affected by a spell, that use of the aid another action is mentioned in the spell's description There's no general way to use the aid another action to assist an ally affected by a spell. Instead, a specific spell's description will mention how a creature can use the aid another action to assist an ally ...


0

The official policy is "Newest update is most correct" so by that marker, Lost Empires is the "right" version. Practical policy, as always, remains "Ask your DM". As KRyan's answer mentions, many things were not updated from 3.0, and many of those things need, at the very least, some revision to be in-line with 3.5e. Create Crawling Claw definitely falls ...


5

So, officially 3.5 is supposed to be more-or-less backwards compatible with 3.0, and Wizards was supposed to update anything that needed explicit updating and everything else just needed generic massaging to fit into place. In reality, though, that’s not the case, and no one ever really suggested it was. Updating material for 3.5 was always laid in the DM’s ...


4

This is a gray area, and I think the ruling was a good one. Yes, it's a very powerful result, but not an insurmountable one. The victim could remove his boots fairly easily and be rid of the effect. Yes, they're greased, so that would be difficult, but if I can dig a potion out of my backpack and quaff it in 6 seconds, I can kick off some greasy boots in ...


0

quick list of "touch" spells (from my feylock spell list): Guidance, Spare the dying, Illusory script, Protection from Evil and Good, Invisibility, Spider Climb, Fly, Gaseous Form, Remove Curse, Tongues, Greater Invisibility, True Seeing, Plane Shift, Foresight. Ritual Spells: Identify, illusory Script, Beast Sense, Gentle Repose, Feign Death, Meld Into ...


0

While the other answers thoroughly deal with the options you have for setting a fixed DC for the item, I will provide an answer to your question. What is the spellcasting ability modifier for a non-spellcaster character? The rules on this can be found in the DMG, in the Magic Items (Activating an Item) section: Spells (DMG, p.141) A magic item, ...


3

The feat Intensified Spell does almost nothing when used to modify the spell ball lightning The dice of damage dealt by the spell ball lighting aren't based on the caster's level. The only thing the feat Intensify Spell will do if applied to the spell ball lightning is cause the modified spell to either occupy a higher level spell lot if it's prepared or ...


1

Fair and Play-Balanced Retraining Retraining is a big perk. If a wizard can re-train beyond what is allowed in the rules, all classes should be able to. I have allowed retraining a class build option at leveling-up, similar to the rules in fourth edition: When leveling up, a character may change one class build node option for a different choice. ...


0

Like many of the others have said, the trick is really in making the time for it. In one of the games I was in, two of us played really booky wizards, and the other 2 were a great brutish meat-shield, and a miniature sword-tornado. The first major investment we made as a group was a wagon, with a pair of horses, and we stocked it up with various tools ...


1

If you allow feats in the game, remind your player that they exist, and can be taken instead of one of their class's stat increase. There are several feats in 5e that give small boosts to a character's casting ability. Note that only Spell Sniper requires you to be able to cast spells already before taking it. Magic Initiate: 2 cantrips from a chosen ...


5

D&D has a number of methods of "sorting out the rules". One of the longstanding rulings that applies here is "Specific beats General" (PHB, p.7). In this case, a Wizard would generally cast their spells using Intelligence. However, a Drow has the special abilities that you described, and they are specifically called out as using Charisma. But a Wizard ...


11

You are correct. Your Drow racial spells would be cast using your Charisma, but your Wizard spells would use your Intelligence. The closest mention to this is in the Multiclassing section of the SRD, which states Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast ...


1

Expensive material components such as "500 gp of crushed diamonds" are considered to be balancing factors for spells whose in-game and meta-game effects are not even. For instance, spells that revive the dead have varying power levels, and are sorted into spell levels based on that power level. However, quite aside from the in-game power level, they have ...


1

The Ready action allows you to name a catalyst and a reaction to the catalyst. You could say, "When the monster comes around the corner I want to attack him with my clobbering stick," or "When Bob says 'Now!' I want to cut the rope." In either case, it uses your reaction for that round and you can no longer take any reactions (including Opportunity Attacks)...


3

Quick Answer This diamond. Its weight is negligible (short of a truckload), and its size on the order of a sweet pea. Dimensions Measurements: 7.54 × 6.67 × 4.57 mm [230 mm3] Weight: 2.00 carat Mass: 400 mg (0.0141096 oz) Explained There are many variables in appraising gemstones. Size isn't really considered, being a derivative of weight. Weight ...


1

It may be obvious that a creature's holding a charge but not for the reasons one might expect When a creature's holding a charge, Cast a Spell says If you don't discharge the [touch] spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone ...


1

I'd raise the question of specificity -- if the caster points "up in the air" while outside, where is he actually pointing? Could be any position from just above his hand to that 300 foot limit (or well beyond, causing the spell to fail). Much more useful to precipitate the victim into the Astral Plane. That said, if you have a single creature to deal ...


7

In 5e, spells which deal damage require an Attack roll or a Saving throw. The lack of a Saving throw makes this spell OP at 5th level. If you add the Saving throw, the damage that you can deal by teleporting an enemy 300 ft into the air seems balanced to me. Compare for example with the 10d6+40 damage for Disintegration (level 6) or the 8d8 damage to ...


1

Giving a system-agnostic answer here. In fantasy, it's common to want gems to be "larger than life". However, one expects larger gems to be more valuable, ceteris paribus. I.e., other factors may matter, but we can hold them constant for our purposes. Empirically, I recall looking at a chart of diamond prices once and finding that they vary as roughly the ...


11

Let's take a pull in mathematics, economy and physics. First, let's look up the weight of a gold piece. Google even answers that question: In “Basic” D&D (and previous editions) and First Edition AD&D, despite the described weight, gold pieces are considered to weigh a tenth of a pound (1.6 standard ounces) each for encumbrance purposes, with ...


1

Are their visual indicators that a spell's charge is being held? If there's nothing in the manual is totally up to you, as a master. Shocking Grasp could have a strong visual (sparks, lights, crackles) Poison touch could alter the appearence of the finger to resemble a spider's leg, or a scorpion's sting Touch of Idiocy could have no visual effect at ...


4

The simplest answer: A 50gp diamond is exactly as large as a 50gp diamond. Not terribly helpful, I'm aware, but unfortunately I've never seen any of the rules editions get into specifics about exactly how big or small a particular size of gem is. In addition to all the variables that affect the value of real world gems (Color, Cut, Clarity, Carat, what ...


1

This question depends on many variables, the most prominent being the 4 C's: Color, Cut, Clarity, and Carat. Carat corresponds back to the size, so that is irrelevant. Uncut diamonds with large defects that make even smaller diamonds flawed could fetch a lower price than much smaller diamonds. Diamonds with yellow in them can be worth far less than clear ...


27

Not necessarily any smaller than the 500 GP diamond In the real world, diamond value has as much to do with cut, clarity, and color as it does about size. So the price difference between a "regular" 500 GP diamond from the DM Guide and this 50 GP material component wouldn't necessarily denote a size difference at all. (Maybe jewelers in the Forgotten ...


15

Some examples of magic items that accomplish similar things: Spell Scrolls: each spell level has a given rarity, save DC, and attack bonus. The attack bonuses progress from cantrips to 9th-level as +5, +5, +5, +7, +7, +9, +9, +10, +10, +11. Circlet of Blasting: Casts Scorching Ray with an attack bonus of +5. Ioun Stone of Reserve: Casts stored spells ...


13

As a matter of fact there is already an item that allows you to cast Scorching Ray, the circlet of blasting. I would suggest you have your item do the same thing it does: When you make the spell’s attacks, you do so with an attack bonus of +5.


2

A bard can cast chord of shards when he wants, but the spell only has an effect during the bard's own bardic performance The 1st-level bard spell chord of shards can be cast effectively only during a round in which one of the bard's own bardic performances is either started (as a standard action at levels 1-6 and optionally as a move action at levels 7-12 ...


0

Having found more information since first posting my question, I think it beneficial for me to consolidate my findings and those contributed by my fellow answerers. The original question sought to understand the impact of halving (or multiplying) a character's speed in an area affected by a spell, which in this case has a 15' radius of effect. I will break ...


3

Hi there is a quote on a recent question that seems to answer this question as well, although the wording of the question is different/opposite the wording of the answer is clear for this question: If, while under the effect of a spell that depends on type (such as hold person), my character is transformed into a different creature type by polymorph, ...


2

During your bardic performance, The spell text is pretty clear, however, you can cast the spell without being in a bardic performance, but since the spell duration is instantaneous, the spell will simply fail because it cannot do anything if you are not in a bardic performance. Note that the spell does not require you to be in a bardic performance to be ...


1

From Pathfinder SRD, "Touch spells in combat" : If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely The spell is actually cast and all the components requirements have been met. Normally, delivering the spell is a touch attack that is a free action that is part of casting the spell : Many ...


-1

Chronological Approach: Apparatus: CL 19th; animate objects & continual flame dispel magic + PaO So you dispel magic targeting the apparatus (DC 11+19= 30), lasting for 1d4 rounds. According to RAW, the apparatus is now (momentarily) non-magical, which at this point is nothing more than an oversized 500lbs. trashcan with a hidden lid (Search DC ...


-5

Not sure about this... but the wording says, "treat 'ANY' 1 on the damage die as a 2." (Not roll of a 1 or a 2!) ... As noted for the Halfing luck, or fighters GWF. ... so .. think Witch Bolt .. d12. 10=20,11=22,& 12=22!... Hmmm?


11

Yes, you can make a solid note shaped like a whole note. And yes, you can put it around someone's wrist like a manacle, though it won't necessarily be a very good manacle. Here's an interesting observation: You're assuming that a solid note takes the shape of the symbol for a note in modern staff notation. There is no reason to believe this is the case. ...


4

The physical form is not of a part of Western-Earth musical notation. As the spell says, it can be of any form you can imagine, so long as it is no larger than your hand. So yes, it can be a ring. It won't be very effective as manacles until your caster level is higher though, since an opposed strength check against Str 10 + CL can destroy it, but you can ...


1

You can move the Major Image only by using your action. There are no other ways to manipulate the location of an illusion, so that's your only option. However, normally this is fine. You can travel with your illusion by constantly giving your attention to it and making it travel with you. Any time you need to do anything complicated enough to require your ...


8

The spell break is complicated While it's possible for the spell break to be used creatively, that it's a 1st-level spell that has a short range and that allows a Fortitude saving throw really limits its utility. Further, that it takes two failed saving throws to destroy anything with the spell makes me appreciate the 2nd-level spell shatter. Determining ...


6

Size I don't remember where the rules for assigning size category to an object are stated explicitly, but it is generally the same as for creatures. You can use some guidelines from Animated Object monster entry (it has examples of objects of each size category) and from Equipment section of PHB. Weapon Size: Every weapon has a size category. This ...


-2

Medium sized or smaller objects use the same scale as beings: a cubboard spanning 5 feet or less and standing up to 8 feet height is medium. Small objects are roughly same base area, but are more a cube of 5 feet in dimensions. About the problem if a piece of the structure can be targeted I can't say for sure. I suspect, that as soon as it is a piece of the ...


0

I would think it would be in the way the illusion was cast - a free-standing illusion would be tied to the location it was cast in. An illusion of an item inside a box would be tied to the box it was cast in - moving the box doesn't leave the illusion floating in the air where the box was. If the illusion was cast, for example, on a pedestal or a cart, ...


0

Let's look at the rule text: In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. Well, that is pretty poor, however in ...


-2

The question is twofold: What ways are there to detect a held contact spells? What other caveats are there for held contact spells? Let's start with 2, as that is easier. First of all, the spell is cast to all but the finishing touch component already, so it might be (depending on GM opinion) rolled already. In that case, the achieved number (die + ...


1

Yes, this will work, as a 2-stage attack. Cast the Inflict spell (or whatever your touch spell would be) first, and hold the charge, as per your first quote. On your next action, use Touch of Corruption as normal. When (if) you hit with Touch of Corruption, whatever you have touched immediately fulfills the trigger clause for "holding a charge", and the ...


3

No. The authors specifically address how you can move an illusion. It requires using an action. Moving two illusions would require two actions. There are solid game-design reasons the authors made this explicit. The alternative - allowing wizards to stockpile illusions - circumvents the resource-limitation mechanics that the Wizard class is built on. ...


0

No, it would not complete the spell properly. Casting a spell involves focusing the mystical energy to do what you want. As you allow the energy to flow through you, your esoteric intonations, your practiced gestures, and your carefully prepared bits of fluff and pinches of dusts all serve to focus the spell to its purpose, guiding its energies. When you ...


1

but that is tiresome and impractical Why? "Hey DM, is it OK if I get the illusion to follow me until the next encounter?" "Sure" What's tiresome or impractical about that? The point is, things like "actions" are only relevant within the context of a combat encounter. Moving the illusion takes your action in those situations but in between, there is no ...


1

Yes, you can bind or restrain an enemy with illusory reality, but you have to follows the rules of the skills. The object can’t deal damage This is easy, the binding material cannot do harm to the enemy. E.g. a chain with thorns cannot deal damage to the bind creature due to the thorns. Another example would be bind it so tightly that does damage. ...


17

Like so many things in D&D 5e, this is left as a call to be made by “the agent on the ground” rather than “headquarters” — that is, it's up to the DM who can actually see the situation involved and made the best judgement call and ruling. The fundamental rules for the spell are simple enough to work in most situations, but don't bother to attempt the ...


4

Allow me to briefly digress on "historical" fireballs. (Back in my day...!) I had a very amusing afternoon, back in the 1E days, playing out the volume of a fireball. In the early editions, fireballs were specifically called out to conform to whatever space was available, and the spell said it fill about 33,000 cubic feet of volume, or about 33 10'x10'x10' "...



Top 50 recent answers are included