New answers tagged

2

The RAW is unclear, there is no developer commentary on this subject that I can find, and the community opinion seems to be somewhat divided (though somewhat favoring “yes, it basically makes that case 1d3+1”). Demonstration of community opinion: Superior Summoning Question—exactly this question. Thread unanimously agrees that you get the extra creature ...


-3

Yes since shield already involves time travel Shield is a profoundly strange spell that involves changing your AC after you have confirmed you were hit then going back and checking again. Since this is already traveling back I see no problem with the fighter activating Precision Attack since its text about "...before or after making the attack roll..." ...


3

The house rule only improves two cantrips and not by much. The example you provided where a character could cast a spell like magic missile with their action and shillelagh with their bonus action is indeed a benefit to the player, but hardly overpowered or gamebreaking. Since you only get one bonus action per turn, it can take multiple turns to use the ...


8

You can add it after the roll, but not after someone else uses a reaction to respond to the result of the roll (i.e., because the roll indicated a hit and that result was declared): You can use this maneuver before or after making the attack roll, but before any effects of the attack are applied. The attack's success causing someone else to choose to ...


0

To fully answer this question, you would likely have to look at the combinations of spells that can be used (I do not believe it is very many). I can think of two immediate issues that could result from this. However... There are ways to cast spells as a bonus action. Quickened Spell for instance. This may cause some problems assuming a literal ...


7

This house rule really only changes two not particularly powerful spells and is unlikely to unbalance anything This house rule would only change anything when the character casts a bonus action cantrip spell. Searching on donjon I can only find two such spells, Shillelagh and Magic Stone. Both spells give the caster a weapon to use so without spending the ...


1

Yes, you have to make a check for each spell. When there are a very large number of spells active, your DM might choose to let you take the average -- for example if you have a 35% chance to dispel a spell, your DM might rule that you dispel 35% of the 390 spells, so 136 of the spells would be dispelled. Your next attempt could dispel 35% of the remaining ...


6

You're interested in the Targeted Dispel section of dispel magic: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make a dispel check (1d20 + your caster level, maximum +10) against the spell or against each ongoing spell currently in effect on the object or creature. The DC for this dispel check is 11 + the spell’s caster ...


9

Nothing prevents plane shifting to an arbitrary pocket dimension except acquiring the appropriate material component: “a forked, metal rod worth at least 250 gp, attuned to a particular plane of existence”. Getting or tuning the the fork to match an unknown (and possibly unknowable) plane is either a prohibitive challenge or a potential adventure arc. The ...


4

No. On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and if you can spare the time to transcribe the spell. You can inscribe spells that you find. Which implies they must be written down. ...


3

Your example spell Firebolt is cast as an action, not a bonus action. Not all cantrips are cast as bonus actions, and you can find the casting time on the spell's description. Similarly, some non-cantrip spells can be cast with a bonus action. Again, the spell's description should specify the casting time. In most cases, you can only cast one non-cantrip ...


12

No. Cantrips are spells, just like any other spell. There are 2 differences between a Cantrip and any other spell that has a level of 1 or higher: Cantrips do not use up a spell slot Cantrips can be cast on the same turn that a spell is cast using a bonus action Cantrips still have casting times denoted just like other spells. For Firebolt Firebolt ...


47

A planet is a location, not an object The rules (DMG, p.246) have this to say about what an object is: For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects. The Earth is composed of all sorts of components. ...


-1

In general, Bards use music to replace the "Verbal" component of a cast and the action of playing the instrument to satisfy "somatic" requirements. If A spell requires "Verbal" then it must be sung or played. if it requires "Somatic" then yes the instrument must be fingered and played. (If its Somatic but not Verbal I'd allow a Bard to play very softly.) ...


4

According to the rules as written, this is allowable: magic items are objects. Note, however, that true polymorph has changed from the Player's Handbook text quoted above. In the more recent System Reference Document 5.0 v1.1 it reads: If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation lasts until it is dispelled. This makes ...


6

It isn't explicitly stated that a bard needs to play their instrument to use it, no, and if you wanted to leave it at the exact letter of the rules, that would be your answer. However, you already know that, and so I assume that the question is not whether it is explicitly stated, but if it is implicitly stated that a bard must play. The answer would appear ...


0

There's nothing in the RAW that requires a bard to play the instrument to cast their spells. If we look at this from a RAI perspective, I would posit that you do not have to play the instrument unless the spell also has a somatic (S) component: Components Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate ...


15

A spell's target is different from a spell's material components, so trying to use the feat Eschew Materials to bypass needing a corpse as the target of the spell animate dead, for example, is beyond the feat's scope (as is using the feat to bypass animate dead's onyx material component, by the way). To be clear, the feat Eschew Materials only obviates ...


11

The sarcastic answer would be that, if you create it yourself, it's free. That said, in general this should be a non-issue. Both the Animate Dead and Create Undead spells, regardless of material components, require a corpse as the target of the spell. You cannot cast them at nothing, so Eschew Materials would not allow them to be cast without a corpse to ...


52

It looks like your real question is can a spellcaster use Eschew Materials to create undead without having a corpse handy? The answer to that question is no. Animate Dead Components V, S, M (an onyx gem worth at least 25 gp per Hit Die of the undead) Targets one or more corpses touched - Create Undead Components V, S, M (a clay pot ...


5

Corpses are not a material component of reanimation spells but rather the target. Take for example Animate Dead: Casting Time 1 standard action Components V, S, M (an onyx gem worth at least 25 gp per Hit Die of the undead) Targets one or more corpses touched This spell turns corpses into undead skeletons or zombies that obey your spoken ...


8

From the Sage Advice Compendium including rules on the DM (not the player) deciding what is summoned with a Summon X spell, and dispelling such effects once created: "...Whenever you wonder whether a spell’s effects can be dispelled or suspended, you need to answer one question: is the spell’s duration instantaneous? If the answer is yes, there is ...


6

No You run into several problems trying to cast Warding Bond on yourself and have your steed take the damage. You seem to be able to cast warding bond on yourself (which seems fine, you get +1 AC take half damage but then take the damage twice). The target of the spell is the one who gets the AC and the resistance, the caster of the spell is the one who ...


11

The rules as written are fairly clear: it's more typically useful with the caster outside of the sphere. The sphere remains for the duration, and its area is lightly obscured. he sphere’s area is difficult terrain. When the area appears, each creature in it must make a Constitution saving throw. No exception is given for the caster. The caster ...


3

Greater magic weapon applies an enhancement bonus, that is, a bonus with the enhancement type. Bonus types are very important, because they are the way the game answers these kinds of questions (whether the bonuses come from spells, items, feats, or whatever). In this case, the arrows are affected by three spells, and thus three enhancement bonuses, but ...


0

You're missing the more general rule here, which is that in Pathfinder the same type of bonus does not stack. See the Bonus section of the SRD for an explanation of how bonuses work. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial ...


13

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


4

Normally just casting another spell that doesn't require concentration doesn't break the first spell. But you must pay attention to the details (as always). If you ready the second spell for example (in order to let the spell effects happen on a specific trigger) this DOES require concentration and breaks the first spell, even though the second spell in ...


8

RAI, I would say the grapple is broken. The rules specifically say that the condition ends when a creature is moved by Thunderwave, but also in-universe, I'd imagine that Gary is focusing more on staying upright and not being affected by the spell than maintaining his grapple on Victor. However, as a DM I would get Gary to roll a check (likely Strength) ...


29

Things that end Concentration, as per page 203 of the PHB: Casting another spell that requires concentration. Failing the constitution saving throw when you take damage. Being incapacitated or killed. Environmental phenomena, at the DMs discretion. Note that the rules don't say that just 'casting a spell' breaks concentration, only "casting ...


10

You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can’t concentrate on two spells at once. If the spell does not require concentration it doesn't end the first spell.


20

It can have only one sanctuary designated at a time, because the spell provides no method of choosing between sanctuaries. In fact, read as a whole, it becomes clear that designating a (one) sanctuary ahead of time is how you choose where you go when the spell is cast again later. So you can't use this to create an intercontinental travel network. … At ...


5

Going exactly using RAW then it might be allowed, but there is some concerns I have that it should not be. Here are some notes from the PHB (page 171-172) that may help to clarify the situation. Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. For example, a ...


2

Yes. Expeditious Retreat has a casting time of a bonus action, and it gives you the ability to take the dash action as a bonus action (normally you are only allowed one bonus action per turn). However, it explicitly states you can take the dash action when casting (i.e. on the same turn you cast the spell). Since you can always take the dash action as an ...


33

You can only take a single bonus action each turn. However, Expeditious Retreat says that: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. This can be paraphrased as: When you cast this spell, you can take the Dash action. Then, as a bonus action on each of your turns ...


5

Yes, this should work. Disciple of Life says that Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level. Vampiric Touch is a spell of 1st level or higher, check. You are a creature, so if you use Vampiric Touch to restore your hit points, you ...


1

Isn't there a mundane item called waterproofing in Song and Silence? I seem to remember it was put in there to allow bards to protect their instruments from water.


8

RAW is unclear Pact of the Tome reads: Your patron gives you a grimoire called a Book of Shadows. When you gain this feature, choose three cantrips from any class’s spell list. While the book is on your person, you can cast those cantrips at will. They don’t count against your number of cantrips known. If you lose your Book of Shadows, you can ...


12

Pg. 150/153 holds the answer. PHB pg. 150 A book might contain poetry, historical accounts, information pertaining to a particular field of lore, diagrams and notes on gnomish contraptions, or just about anything else that can be represented using text or pictures. A book of spells is a spellbook (described later in this section). And... PHB ...


2

A book would not be suitable, as it already contains ". . . poetry, historical accounts, information pertaining to a particular field of lore, diagrams and notes on gnomish contraptions, . . . ", leaving just the margins for a wizard to scrawl his notes. The more expensive "spellbook" is blank, ready to have spells written on its pages.


7

You can copy spells into a regular book. You can copy a spell from your own spellbook into another book—for example, if you want to make a backup copy of your spellbook. That's about as far as it goes, though. A book and a spellbook are separate items, and anything that requires a spellbook won't work with a regular book. You can't prepare spells ...


11

No, you can't write the spells you know as a Bard into your spellbook. There are 2 ways (outside of levelling as a Wizard) that a Wizard can add spells to their spellbook. The first is by finding them: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare ...


4

Wizards are described as only being able to copy Wizard spells in the spellbook sidebar, and the available sources only appear to be one of four locations: A spell in another caster's spellbook A spell on a scroll A spell in your own spellbook (reduced cost) A spell you currently have prepared (reduced cost) Nevertheless, you're still restricted to ...


0

Depending on the sort of group you're playing with, a little role playing and creative problem solving can go a long way toward cutting the Gordian Knot in these situations: For instance, if you character has a problem with fear spells, another player's character might be able to intimidate him into running away toward the enemy, or you can take up ...


1

I think the most relevant reason to be careful here is in the paragraph right after the list of alternate things you can do with Wish. Emphasis mine: You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your with to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance; the ...


2

Just to name a few good sources of bonuses on Will saves that haven't been mentioned already: The crystal mask of mindarmor (MIC 92) costs 10,000 gp. It takes your head slot but gives a +4 insight bonus on Will saves, a named bonus less common than resistance. The mask of mental armor (MIC 115) costs 4,000 gp. It also takes up the head slot but gives a +3 ...


2

April 2016's Sage Advice expressly defines how this phrase operates and names Cloud of Daggers as one of several spells to which this definition applies. In summary, a spell like moonbeam affects a creature when the creature passes into the spell’s area of effect and when the creature starts its turn there. You’re essentially creating a hazard on the ...


6

Get this anyway... Although more interested in things that aren't stopped by protection from evil, protection from evil is too good not to mention. It's also inexpensive. Any town should have this: A potion of protection from evil [abjur] (PH 266) (50 gp; 0.1 lbs.) (1st-level spell at caster level 1), in addition to other effects, includes an effect that ...


4

Let's first discuss boosting the Will Save: The feat Steadfast Determination (PHB II), among other benefits, let you use your Constitution modifier instead of your Wisdom modifier for your Will save; it has Endurance as a pre-requisite which you can get for free at the 3rd level of Ranger. For 25k, you can get a Cloak of Resistance +5. The spell ...


3

I don't know if you have time to work towards the Survivor's Luck feat (Complete Scoundrel pg 75) which would allow you to reroll a will save. Other than that, have you considered wands (probably requires skillpoints in Use Magic Device) or potions of Owl's Wisdom or Remove Fear? A level 2 bard gets access to the resistance spell (As Matthieu M. ...



Top 50 recent answers are included