Hot answers tagged

22

The answer is on page 246 of the DMG. Armor Class. An object's Armor Class is a measure of how difficult it is to deal damage to the object when striking it (because the object has no chance of dodging out of the way). The Object Armor Class table provides suggested AC values for various substances. So in the case of attacking object AC means ...


20

D&D 3.5's definition of the paralyzed status reads (emphases mine) A paralyzed character is frozen in place and unable to move or act. A paralyzed character has effective Dexterity and Strength scores of 0 and is helpless, but can take purely mental actions So when paralyzed, you can't speak (referring to question #2), as that would be an action, ...


19

Yes, a prone immobilized creature can stand up. The definition for Immobilized could seem a little fuzzy upon first reading: When a creature is immobilized, it can’t move, unless it teleports or is pulled, pushed, or slid. Until you note that Move is explicitly defined: Any instance of movement, whether it is done willingly or unwillingly. ...


19

The first and third points aren’t really big deals; actually, the third point would be a disadvantage of save-or-dies. Would be, if the numbers were more reasonable. By the numbers: you can probably make someone fail a saving throw Ultimately, caster classes have every reason to pump their save DCs as much as they can. The ability score that sets the ...


12

Dominated is defined quite specifically in the rules: The creature can't take actions voluntarily. Instead the dominator chooses a single action for the creature to take on the creature's turn: a standard, a move, a minor or a free action. The only powers or game features that the dominator can make the creature use are ones that can be used at will, ...


11

The blinded condition doesn't do that. Blinded The creature can’t see, which means its targets have total concealment against it. The creature takes a -10 penalty to Perception checks. The creature grants combat advantage. The creature can’t flank. A blinded creature cannot have combat advantage against anyone. (RC229) People can ...


11

For an always-drunk NPC, you have a number of options. First, simply "de-level" an NPC of higher level, to represent the overall poor effects of being drunk. In a more complex mode, have the monster be 2 levels higher than the appropriate monster for the level, but impose the following conditions. Traits Aura 1: [The NPC] and any ally in the aura ...


11

Mobs tend to not be very effective in 3.5 As you noted, the orcs were torn to shreds. The party had powerful, area-affecting debuffs available, and used them. Meanwhile, due to the extreme degree to which the orcs outnumbered the PCs (5:1), we expect that the orcs were commensurately low-level (the CR guidelines would suggest that their numbers alone ...


10

Monster Manual 3 solos tend to use one of a few tricks to deal with this. Any one of them is pretty good; using multiples might be a bit much. Give the solos saves at the start of their turn. If you do this, that saving throw probably shouldn't get the +5 bonus to saves. You can also tune this down a bit by only letting them make one save. Allow the solos ...


10

Your assumption of RAW is correct. You would upon scoring a critical hit and them failing their save, paralyze them for one round. The round starts on your initiative count and the paralysis ends just before your following initiative count. The benefit is that while you yourself aren't deriving a benefit from the paralysis, the targeted creature loses ...


10

There's nothing in the PHB that says you can't. Blinded (PHB 290) • A blinded creature can’t see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight. • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature’s attack rolls have disadvantage. The blinded condition doesn't prevent you from casting any spell per se. As you ...


9

So if a player wanted to stand, spending the move action, but not moving because its not leaving the adjacent square. Does this meet the requirements for ending the ongoing damage? No, it doesn't meet the requirement for ending the ongoing damage. The description for Reaving Damage you quoted says the following: that enemy also takes ongoing 5 damage ...


9

You take damage at the start of your turn. You make a saving throw at the end of your turn, unless something or someone grants you a saving throw. For example, Boots of Free Movement which have the following power: Encounter (Minor Action) Make a saving throw against a slow, immobilize, or restrain effect that a save can end. Note that you ...


8

I love @KRyan's post, but I think some numbers really help illustrate the effect here. 2nd-level party vs. 15 Goblins Your Sorcerer catches them in a Color Spray. Every Goblin who fails is basically out of the fight for 3d4+1 rounds or so. Sorcerer's DC is 15, the Goblins have a Will save of -1. On average 75% (11) of the Goblins drop. But the ...


8

That's it There's only one type of charmed in 5e, and that is the status which you quoted: You get advantage on social skill checks and it can't attack you any more. That's all the "control" you get. If a spell gives more control than that, it is explicitly described. I didn't play editions prior to 5th but I think I heard somewhere that the charmed ...


7

You'd use restrained over grabbed in circumstances where the victim isn't just prevented from moving away, but also otherwise inconvenienced. (That's where the -2 and "grants combat advantage" come in.) Consider "held firmly by the arm" and "wrapped up in animated vines."


7

It sounds like you have a very acceptable fire-focused intention. I suspect one of the things that is complicating matters is the fact that: The Mage Wizard can select 2 Encounter powers per level, so that offers some variety. It helps that the DM lets us waive the restrictions on the number of powers we can use per day. I think that's why he makes the ...


7

Yes, Combat Advantage works with ranged attacks. Combat Advantage doesn't care about ranged or melee or bursts or whatever else. Any kind of attack will give you the +2 attack bonus versus that target, as long as you can see them. No part of the CA rules are specified as melee-only. Conditions such as Blinded, Dazed and Restrained say "the creature grants ...


7

As Hey I can Chan pointed out in the Rules compendium p.35 Immobilized "An immobilized creature can’t move out of the space it was in when it became immobilized. It otherwise functions normally unless it’s flying. Immobilized fl ying creatures that have the ability to hover can maintain their initial altitude. All other flying creatures ...


6

If I've got your wrist in one of my hands, you're grabbed. If I've got a rope around your belly, again, grabbed. If I've got both your wrists behind your back, you're restrained. If my rope is pinning your arms, you're probably restrained.


6

You take ongoing damage at the start of your turn. You make the saving throw at the end of your turn.


6

Yes, he is losing that round. Unfortunately a stunned character cannot do any action. If your GM allows it, you can rule-bend it and be able to do some non-actions, like the 5-foot step. From http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm Not an Action Some activities are so minor that they are not even considered free actions. They literally ...


6

Charms don't override/preempt each other unless that is called out in the rules The quick answer is no - abilities or spells that impose the charmed condition don't cancel previous charmed conditions. They can be in effect at the same time. The answers to this question covered some of these charming rules One exception is in the case of harpies, once a ...


5

Sly Flourish recently wrote a blog entry with new monster powers one of which, Brutal Shakeoff, is designed to let solos shake off status effects rather than get locked down. In brief, the solo can sacrifice HP to save. That blog is a great source of other monster fixes and optimizations, check it out.


5

Yes. Being immobilized only prevents you from moving out of your current space. If someone is standing in your space with you, however, you must shift out of your space to stand from prone, and this is disallowed by being immobilized.


5

There are two rules in the RC that inform this particular situation. The first is the rule about overlapping durations (227): When a creature is subject to identical effects that end at different times, it ignores all but the effect that has the most time remaining....Effects that a save can end (labeled “save ends”) work differently, since it’s not ...


5

No. The Rules Compendium on page 92 says "Sequence: The order of entries in a power description is a general guide to the sequence in which the power's effects occur." So as Mind Break says: "Hit: 1d8 + Intelligence modifier psychic damage, and the target gains vulnerability to psychic damage equal to your Charisma modifier until the end of your next turn."...


5

By RAW, Sleep should affect the Armor Guardian. The Compendium states (emphasis mine) (from the Rules Compendium pg. 225): Immune: A creature that is immune to a damage type (such as cold or fire), a condition (such as dazed or petrified), or another specific effect (such as disease or forced movement) is not affected by it. A creature that is immune ...


5

The assumption with the spell and related effects is that staying on the ethereal plane takes magical power, and is not a default state for creatures not native to the plane and which have not physically traveled there via Plane Shift or similar effect. So blinking into the ethereal plane is a temporary enabled spell effect, powered by active magic, and you ...


4

Well I know there is a stop against delaying turn to avoid the effects of save-ends or until end of your next turn effects. End of Turn when the Creature Delays: At the moment the creature delays, any effect that it has been sustaining ends. In addition, effects that last until the end of the creature’s turn now end if they are beneficial to it and its ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible