New answers tagged

1

I'd let him do it once, the first time during an encounter. After that, it's no longer a Sneak Attack. Despite the fact that he is hidden, the enemy is aware of his location and that he is hostile. If there were two doorways and the defender was uncertain which he might attack from, I might be more tempted to allow it. Just disappearing from sight does not ...


0

Now that the rulebooks have been published, we have a much clearer answer to this question. From Chapter 9: Combat, under Surprise: Any character or monster that doesn’t notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter. If you’re surprised, you can’t move or take an action on your first turn of the combat. Thus we can see that losing ...


10

No Being behind another creature does not allow you to hide. The rules To attempt to hide from a creature you must be not be seen by it (PHB p. 177). The Skulker feat allows you to try to hide when you are lightly obscured from the creature from which you are hiding (PHB p. 170). A lightly obscured area is defined as such: Vision and light (PHB p. ...


4

There is no "automatically succeed stealth check" -- stealth checks are opposed by perception checks. So that's out. Let's see how it would work in general. Here are some rules from the stealth skill: Breaking Stealth When you start your turn using Stealth, you can leave cover or concealment and remain unobserved as long as you succeed at a Stealth ...


1

Under PF for the Rogue class (page 68 of the Core rules): Fast Stealth (Ex): This ability allows a rogue to move at full speed using the Stealth skill without penalty. As others have said, from greater-than-half-speed to less-than-full-speed, the penalty is -5. Personally, I have run it as -5 for (51% to 75%) speed and -10 for (76-100%) speed ... unless the ...



Top 50 recent answers are included