Hot answers tagged

29

OK, so there are two aspects of this that can go one of two ways: Your minion can be summoned, or else called, created, or whatever else. Your minion can summon, or else call, create, or whatever else, its own minion. Summoning As you can see, in both cases the difference is “summon” versus “something else.” This is because summoning has a particular ...


28

All Summon spells fall under the Conjuration school, which imposes additional restrictions. Specifically: A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of ...


24

A summoned monster's alignment only matters if you're a cleric. The summon monster spells are of the same alignment as the creature you summon (e.g. summoning a Dretch is a Chaotic and Evil spell). A cleric is forbidden from casting spells of alignment opposed to his alignment or his deity's alignment. A good-aligned wizard can freely summon fiendish ...


20

Here's what detect magic itself says: Outsiders and elementals are not magical in themselves, but if they are summoned, the conjuration spell registers. So as long as the summoning spell lasts, the elemental (or the pool in which it hides) will appear to have conjuration magic in it. If the elemental had originated here, or walked through the portal, ...


20

It's been etablished before that distance, line of sight and even being on another plane don't affect the capacity of concentration, unless a DM rules that some circumstances might call for a concentration check. A sage advice article confirms that. However, let's look at a part of the description of the spell Conjure Woodlands Beings : The summoned ...


19

No From Magic Overview ► Conjuration: A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear [...] floating in an empty space. This line was almost-certainly added specifically to eliminate the tactic you’re describing.


18

There's no fixed rule for this, so it will be up to you and your GM to work this out. An Eidolon has its own feelings, and Intelligence score, and the same alignment as you. I would say that 90% of the time, the Eidolon should be controlled by the player. If the GM needs to have a RP moment between you and the Eidolon, then that is a situation where it ...


16

Much like summoned creatures, animal companions, bonded mounts, familiars, etc., this is totally up to your DM. All the rules say is that eidolons are treated as summoned creatures, which similarly have ambiguous autonomy. Typically, DMs will just have PCs control the eidolon directly. The vast majority of gaming groups do this. As with animal companions ...


16

Five minutes Until the End of the Encounter: The effect ends at the end of the current encounter or after five minutes, whichever comes first. [Rules Compendium 226] Keep in mind that "current encounter" doesn't specify a combat encounter, so you could probably treat it as a duration of "for this scene" in many cases. But yes, there is a hard ...


16

Your DM is wrong SRD > Magic Overview > Spell Descriptions > School: Beneath the spell name is a line giving the school of magic (and the subschool, if appropriate) that the spell belongs to. Almost every spell belongs to one of eight schools of magic. A school of magic is a group of related spells that work in similar ways. A small number of ...


15

The summoned creatures are always different specific creatures unless the DM is using a variant that alters the standard summon spells The Dungeon Master's Guide on Variant: Summoning Individual Monsters says that When a character casts a summon monster or summon nature’s ally spell, she gets a typical, random creature of the kind she chooses. As a ...


14

The spell Conjure Elemental, cast as a 6th level spell, can summon an Invisible Stalker. It's available to Druids and Wizards at 9th level, but obviously they will have to wait until 11th level to cast it as a 6th level spell. If you know the name of an Invisible Stalker, you could also summon it with Gate, a 9th level spell available to Clerics, Sorcerers ...


13

Because the celestial eagle summoned by the celestial commander understands him, Yes, the Eagle Can Aid Another in Combat According to the spell summon monster I et. al. the summoned creature "attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to ...


13

If your goal is to use Planar Binding I would attempt to use Imprisonment to put the demon to sleep and then cast Planar Binding. Then dispel it when you want to talk to the demon. If your goal is to just to talk to the demon then use Forcecage. Note that Forcecage is not a good choice if want to planar bind as it block spells from both directions. I think ...


13

Technically, no. Summon Monster allows you to choose which kind of creature, not the specific member of that kind. Lesser Planar Ally, however, does. Summon Monster states: You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can change that choice each time you cast the spell. Lesser Planar Ally states: If you know an individual creature’s ...


13

While it doesn't really matter if the spell with the [Fire] descriptor comes from Evocation or Conjuration school, I'm afraid that Summon Monster can't be used to power Fiery Burst: Only actual spells or spell slots allow the character to use the primary benefit of a reserve feat. Spell-like abilities, supernatural abilities, and extraordinary ...


13

Typically, every creature fought gives experience. However, certain effects (especially summoning) can be exceptions. In general, experience is not awarded because a creature used its abilities. If Goblin A called for help and two more goblins came, those goblins award full exp. If Goblin A used an alchemical item to attract a pair of wolves in the area ...


12

There are two points to remember here, one in-game and one out: In-universe, magic isn't a science, and in most settings shouldn't be a replacement to technology. What this means is that even if our 21st century players know that (for instance) air bubbles in the blood stream can be lethal, that doesn't mean that a 1st level Air Bubble spell can kill ...


12

Yes, a cleric can take the feat Spell Focus As a feat wholly lacking in prerequisites, nearly any creature can take the feat Spell Focus, even those that can't cast spells at all. (Maybe such a creature needs the feat to qualify for a prestige class or another feat--like the feat Augment Summoning--or is planning to take levels in a class that casts spells ...


12

No, summoned monsters can't summon other monsters. According to Summon Monster I: A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Yes, spawned creatures can spawn other creatures. There is no rule that I am aware of that if [you] create spawn, the creature you spawn ...


10

Depends on the keyword of the power used in summoning the creature. If it has the conjuration keyword, the following probably exempts it from most auras/zones (emphasis mine): Unaffected by the Environment: Terrain & environmental phenomena have no effect on the conjuration. For example, a conjuration that is an icy hand functions in an inferno ...


10

I'm also a big fan of Fate and Magic the Gathering, so here's to hoping I do your question justice! Balance and Feasibility To answer some of your concerns first, I will say that such a system is totally feasible and can be "balanced" just fine, as long as you and your players all agree upfront what it should look like, what the limits are, and how common ...


9

Spells will specify if they stop or somehow don't have an affect when you are unconscious. Spirtual weapon makes no such mention, so it hangs around doing nothing while you are out. Summoned creatures for example all say: dissapears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends. And all such spells have the concentration mechanic on them. ...


9

Gate requires that you know the name of the entity you're summoning. So the answer is both simple and hard: only summon demons you know are keen on making bargains; don't summon ones known to be difficult or violent; if you don't know which kind is attached to the name you've dug up in your research, don't summon it. But why, you ask, would any demon or ...


9

Yes, there's nothing (in the rules, anyway) preventing multiple Eldritch Knights from bonding with a single weapon. Once you have bonded a weapon to yourself, you can’t be disarmed of that weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport ...


9

As far as the rules are concerned, the pixie can continue to concentrate on a spell after it disappears. The only things that break concentration are (PHB 203): Casting another speIl that requires concentration. [...] Taking damage. [...] Being incapacitated or killed. [...] While the word "disappears" in the Conjure Woodland Beings spell is ...


8

Invokers are not the best summoners in the game, but their key abilities (Intelligence, Wisdom and, to same extent, Constitution) allow them to dabble in other power sources. Feats Before going multiclass, you may want to try Righteous SummonsDDI, which gives you a summoned-creature related benefit according to your Covenant. There are also a handful of ...


8

The summoned creature is a valid target of such effects however it has no inherent ability to use basic attacks so the end result is not favorable for you. The attacks allowed to each summoned creature are as listed for each power. Currently I am aware of none that grant basic attacks. Summoned creatures are not granted any basic attacks by default. ...


8

Many spells that produce minions include text that specifies what the critters do if not specifically commanded otherwise. Summon Monster I, for example, says that creatures not otherwise commanded will attack the caster's enemies to the best of their ability. Ghoul Army has no such text. As a result, the ghouls and ghast created by Ghoul Army are under no ...


8

Yes, with difficulty. Celestial/Fiendish animals summoned with Summon Monster have their normal animal intelligence. They don't have languages, but they can be commanded like any animals can, namely, with Handle Animal. Since the summoned creatures don't have any tricks listed in their descriptions, it's pretty safe to assume that they don't know any. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible