Tag Info

New answers tagged

4

An elemental on its own would not show any aura. A summoned elemental would show the residue of its summoning, as a Conjuration aura, but if you went to the appropriate elemental plane (or otherwise encountered an elemental that had not been summoned), it has no aura because it is not a magical effect and it has no magical effects on it (or, if it does have ...


18

Here's what detect magic itself says: Outsiders and elementals are not magical in themselves, but if they are summoned, the conjuration spell registers. So as long as the summoning spell lasts, the elemental (or the pool in which it hides) will appear to have conjuration magic in it. If the elemental had originated here, or walked through the portal, ...


0

As others have said, you can roll initiative and have the summoned creature act as normal initiative would dictate! Another way to play it is to group the summoner and the creature together, making them act one right after the other. It's your call really. But if you want RAW, you just roll initiative for it as soon as it is summoned and place it among the ...


2

Go to the source! The PHB (p. 189) says: 1. Determine surprise. 2. Establish positions. 3. Roll initiative. Everyone involved in the combat encounter rolls initiative, determining the order of combatants’ turns. 4. Take turns. 5. Begin the next round. and When combat starts, every participant makes a Dexterity check to ...


6

Yes No Depends: If the summoned creature rolls a higher initiative than the one who summoned it, then it must wait till next round before it acts. If it rolls lower than the summoned then it acts as soon as it's imitative comes up even if that means going before others already in the fight. In general, a summoned creature, and any unknown creature at ...


3

The items remain per the Main FAQ (p91). What happens to a summoned monster’s equipment when it dies or the spell ends? What if it’s not carrying the equipment any more? What if it’s carrying something new? When a summoned creature goes away, so does everything it came with. If it’s holding or wearing something it didn’t appear with, that item ...


13

The summoned creatures are always different specific creatures unless the DM is using a variant that alters the standard summon spells The Dungeon Master's Guide on Variant: Summoning Individual Monsters says that When a character casts a summon monster or summon nature’s ally spell, she gets a typical, random creature of the kind she chooses. As a ...


12

Technically, no. Summon Monster allows you to choose which kind of creature, not the specific member of that kind. Lesser Planar Ally, however, does. Summon Monster states: You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can change that choice each time you cast the spell. Lesser Planar Ally states: If you know an individual creature’s ...


7

It would require a DM ruling. There are no specific mention of rules that specifically address that concern. But one should consider the following: Paladin's Special Mount Each time the mount is called, it appears in full health, regardless of any damage it may have taken previously. The mount also appears wearing or carrying any gear it had when it ...


1

As in the rules statement you copied in, communicate means communication. Either verbal (intelligent summons), handle animal (animals), or some other way. If you can't think of a way to communicate, then your summons just follow you around and attack stuff. An exception is the Summoner class's Eidolon special ability Link (Ex), which allows them to ...



Top 50 recent answers are included