Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

13

Just curious, but why do you think this is overpowered? The spell Fly is available at 5th level, since it is a 3rd level spell. Directing the Mage Hand is "a move-equivalent action", and moving under the influence of Fly is a move action. Mage Hand seems to have a far greater maneuverability, but given the duration is a lot less, that doesn't seem that out ...


12

Your DM is wrong in your specific case. I'm not sure whether you're saying delaying doesn't end a sustain -- it does -- so I'll cover readying first, then sustaining. Readying is covered on page 247 of the Rules Compendium and page 291 of the Player's Handbook. Your reading is correct. You would have to sustain before you spent your standard action to ...


7

Yes to the first two questions. From the implement description in the glossary. If you wield a magic implement, you can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of implement powers you use through it. All of the damages you ask about are damage rolls of the Wall of Fire power. They don't need to specify that you add the ...


7

It depends on whether you can move the zone. The only requirements for sustaining a zone are that you 1) spend the required action every round (unless you use an ability to eliminate this requirement, such as Mordenkainen's Lucubration), and 2) you don't take a rest of any kind. Note that there is 1 additional requirement for movable zones. From page 121 ...


7

You can attack each round. Sustaining the sphere (a minor action) and attacking with it (a standard action) are two separate actions. [...] I know that it only needs to be sustained once, [...] That's not true: in order to keep it active you have to spend a minor action each round. By doing so, you prolong the duration until the end of your next turn. ...


6

The warlock class from Complete Arcane can get an infinite-duration flight spell-like ability at 6th level, and that class is far from overpowered. The dragonborn and raptoran races get extraordinary, infinite-duration flight as racial qualities at 6 HD or 5 HD, respectively, regardless of class, and they’re LA +0. Using mage hand or greater mage hand ...


3

Those two sentences aren't directly connected, as in, they don't happen at the same time. They're just a list of things you can do: If you choose, you can sustain the sphere. Whenever you wish and are able and the power is active, you may make another attack with the sphere by using a standard action to do so. They are placed near each other because, ...


3

Well, as far as I can see... It's not THAT overpovered. The reason? It's just a weak telekinesis with very limited duration (just while you are concentrating. And yeah, enemy won't stop shooting arrows at you just because it's not very nice). Sure, you can fly with this spell, why not? But there is one point that makes it not that good. You get "Fly" ...


2

I agree with the other answers, in that the bonuses of your magic implement should apply to damage dealt by the wall. However, there is are other points that should be addressed with your third and fourth questions. Is the bonus added during the wizards turn if the wall is created in the creature's square? According to the description of the power, ...


2

Bryant made a super-helpful explanation to a question asked almost 2 years prior to the time I am currently reading it, so I'm not sure if the OP will ever read this response. But for all you future people, there are a few other important points to be made, based on the rules in the compendium (DnD insiders) as of this posting date: The rules on readying an ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible