Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

45

Spells A fair number of spells prevent teleportation; a wizard will struggle to gain access to some of them, but the skill Use Magic Device and a wand or staff will solve that. The 4th-level Sor/Wiz spell dimensional anchor [abjur] (PH 221) for 1 min./level prevents 1 creature from using any extradimensional movement if a ranged touch attack succeeds ...


18

Yes, if the creature is trained in Acrobatics. It's because of this Acrobatics ability: REDUCE FALLING DAMAGE (Trained only) If a creature that has training in Acrobatics falls, it can make an Acrobatics check to reduce the amount of falling damage it takes. The creature can make this check whether or not the fall is intentional. Action: ...


10

Depending on how many can cast teleportation, all the party need to be touching to teleport away. One suggestion would be to have him divide the party as they enter the cave preventing them all from being within touch range of each other.


8

Yes, Nightcrawler can escape from the webs by teleporting. Binding only prevents Move, Change Posture, and facing changes. It doesn't prevent anything that it doesn't mention: it doesn't prevent attacking from inside the webs, seeing out, or using powers such as Warp.


8

Yes, you can. The boots state that you use them exactly as if you had used the spell teleportation. That means you gain all effects of the spell, exactly as if you had cast it on yourself, including the ability to take people with you. As for how many people you can take, the spell allows for one medium creature (or lower) per three caster levels. If we ...


7

To create the effect of the Dahaka in your plot, there are two basic elements you need: the creature must be unstoppable (but escapable) until X happens, and then defeatable with X. And for this to work, the most crucial point is that the party must know that. Knowing they can't win, they'll run and look for a way to win. If they believe they might win, ...


7

In 4E, teleports require line of sight, but do not require line of effect. You could teleport through a glass window, no problem. So, in general, if a power gives you line of sight where otherwise you would not have it, the answer is "yes, you can teleport there". That is provided the distance teleported from your location does not exceed normal ...


6

No, the items give you (the “character wearing this footwear”) the effect of teleportation as if you had cast it (read: you “may teleport,” which is a summary of teleportation’s effect), but only you. They do not give you the ability to cast it as if it were the spell (i.e. choose the targeting yourself).


6

You can only bring a grabbed ally along when you teleport if you have teleportation as a movement speed, not if you use a power to teleport. From the Rules Compendium, p244 (emphasis mine): Move a Grabbed Target Action: Standard action Strength Check: The creature makes a Strength check opposed by the Fortitude of the target it is grabbing. The ...


5

An NPC with vast resources should cover (almost) all of his warded area with Forbiddance. (Cleric 6). We can assume the wizard either has a cleric on staff or can hire one (either through services or money), and nothing says "go away" than random enemies taking 12d6 damage every couple hundred feet. Forbiddance's important sentence reads: Forbiddance ...


5

SevenSide Die response is correct except in one respect. The character may still be bound after using the Warp. It depends on how the power is set up. One characteristic of the binding attack is that it can be destroyed by an external force so the referee will have to use his common sense in adjudicating this with the Warp power. But to reiterate, sans ...


5

Maybe The 9th-level Sor/Wiz spell teleportation circle [conj] (PH 293) says that You create a circle on the floor or other horizontal surface that teleports, as greater teleport, any creature who stands on it to a designated spot. But it's the DM's decision both how one goes about designating and what, exactly, is a spot. Here are some choices: ...


4

Since 'movement' is defined as leaving one square and entering another, our group has interpreted teleporting as moving one square. You left the square you were in, and entered the destination square, without moving from or into any squares in between. So we aren't applying the -5. Personally, if I were the DM, and someone teleported to a good hiding spot, ...


4

RAW they do have to reroll stealth since they did move more than 2 squares. The character may never have passed the open room, but you can explain the -5 stealth check as noise associated with the teleport.


4

The wizard's cave could be a demiplane. With the Teleport spell, interplanar travel is impossible. This leaves the possibility to Plane Shift, but I don't suppose 10th level characters regularly prepare the spell, especially that it requires specific focus, not part of the components pouch. Also, I'd let the players know they enter another plane. For ...


4

The hallow/unhallow spell comes with a one-year lasting effect the caster needs to choose from a list. Dimensional anchor is amongst the options, allowing the caster to block teleportation of everyone that's not of his own faith, as long as they stay inside the hallow/unhallow radius. Add physical barriers to avoid people just walking out of the area and you ...


3

Introduce the Opponent Early You needn't adjust your game world to make this happen. Restricting teleportation countermeasures leads to a host of higher-level implications with which the campaign must struggle later. Thus, rather than potentially injuring your campaign's verisimilitude by limiting teleportation countermeasures at mid-levels when they become ...


3

Joshua Aslan Smith makes a number of completely reasonable assumptions in his answer, but I think it's important note that they are in fact assumptions. Any Teleport You Make I'm not inclined to assume this means that you are the one that must teleport. That would be totally reasonable, but I can't say for sure that it's the case. I mean, if I teleport ...


3

Neither of the two items work Eladrin Boots would not work as it stipulates any teleport the character makes, restricting its bonus to teleportation of the PC. Gloves of Dimensional Repulsion is trickier because its written poorly (a lot of items in the Adventurers Vault fail to live up to the rest of 4e in terms of using the accepted terms). The phrase ...


2

The immediate action rules do not really specify limitations on when you can activate them; you can activate them at any time that you are not flat-footed and have the appropriate actions available. If I jaunt in response to him actually shooting the arrow (meaning release of the bow-string, or the moment after he has completed targetting), does my ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible