New answers tagged

-1

"Stacking" bonuses usually refers to having them all active at once. By that definition, then no, it is not possible to stack the Monk and Swordsage ability - by RAW the condition to activate either one also deactivates the other. A Monk only gains their bonus when not wearing any armor or shield. If they put on light armor (or heavier) their AC bonus no ...


4

Like Eikre's answer says, normally it doesn't matter if a creature can stack both a monk's extraordinary ability AC bonus and a swordsage's extraordinary ability AC bonus because a monk's AC bonus only applies when a creature wears no armor and a swordsage's AC bonus only applies when a creature wears light armor. So far as I'm aware, there's no way for a ...


10

Nope. Strictly speaking, the Swordsage ability only works in light armor, and the Monk ability only works when he's in no armor at all. Gotcha!


0

Overlap (Sort of) Strictly read, each ability just says "you may add your wisdom bonus to AC." Neither says you can add it as an additional bonus or similarly indicates that it's providing a new AC bonus (typed or typeless); it's just a change to how you calculate AC. So, exactly like taking two classes doesn't allow you to add your dexterity bonus twice, ...


2

Some feats assume a creature can take multiple 5-ft. steps even when the feat doesn't allow the creature to A creature really can't take more than one 5-ft. step in a round unless a special ability explicitly allows it. The Player’s Handbook on Take 5-Foot Step says You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. ...


3

Both Evasive Reflexes and shifting defense allow you to take a 5-foot step, period. They let you do that even though it isn’t your turn and you couldn’t otherwise take one. They are each an exception to all kinds of rules around 5-foot steps. Normally you can only make one a turn, but these specifically allow you to take a 5-foot step when you normally ...


5

Stictly speaking, no. If you are a multiclass adept, and you learn a new maneuver by attaining a new level in a martial adept class, determine your initiator level by adding together your level in that class + 1/2 your levels in all other classes. (Tome of Battle pg. 39, emphasis mine) It specifies only levels in classes, so racial hit dice and level ...



Top 50 recent answers are included