Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

Ghost vs Spirit in DnD Ghosts are usually Undead and can come in a variety of forms from a hamless spirit to the darkes shade. Spirits can also be a wide variety of things from spirits of elements to fey spirit creatures, to spirits of the dead summon to commune with, but spirits are ususally a life escence and not undead like ghosts There is not a ...


0

Ghost are not evil by default The ghost in the bestiary is a example of a ghost-templated creature. The template itself does ot change the original creature alignment. To better understand the nature of ghosts, you need to know how ghost are created. A Ghost is created from the soul of a deceased being that is unable to start the journey to its final ...


0

Spirits in general are not foes that the PCs will face. Ghosts, as described in the Bestiary, are talking about a subgroup of spirits that will be a foe or a villain against the party. And as with any monster or race described in the Bestiaries, the stats are general guidelines for when the party typically faces such a creature as a foe. They are not ...


1

There is a 2nd Level Wizard spell called "See Invisible" which can be made Permanent through the Permanency Spell. To get this done at the earliest levels, you'd have to purchase two scrolls: A CL 10 Permanency Scroll: 1,250 gp A See Invisibility Scroll: 150 gp Diamond Dust Material Components: 5,000 gp Total: 6,400 gp You also need to be able to ...


3

If the zombie used to be a resurrectable creature in life, it is resurrected as that creature. The relevant quote from the description of the undead type is: Not affected by raise dead and reincarnate spells or abilities. Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures. These spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures ...


15

The Rules Are Contradictory The 7th-level Clr spell resurrection [conj] (PH 272-3) and the 9th-level Clr spell true resurrection [conj] (PH 296) say that You can [bring back from the dead] someone killed by a death effect or someone who has been turned into an undead creature and then destroyed. (emphasis mine), but the spells inherit the entry ...


3

They wouldn't come back. A zombie is a creature, it is not 'a corpse' which is the specified target for Resurrection. True Resurrection would arguably work, since it doesn't require a corpse. In that case, what happened to the Zombie would be up to the GM. It might conceivably continue to exist, as the True Resurrection spell creates a new body for the ...


18

If the zombie is still 'alive', then Resurrection does nothing. From the spell description: You can resurrect someone killed by a death effect or someone who has been turned into an undead creature and then destroyed. You cannot resurrect someone who has died of old age. Constructs, elementals, outsiders, and undead creatures can’t be resurrected. ...


13

In 3.5, you gain experience for overcoming challenges, not for individual things you do. So a fighter doesn’t get XP for successfully attacking, a wizard doesn’t get XP for successfully casting a spell, and a cleric doesn’t get XP for successfully turning an undead creature. Rather, they get XP when their attack, spell, or turn undead ...


5

There's no standard amount. I D&D 3.5e XP is dealt for overcoming challenges, not for doing actions. If successfully turning those undead leads to their demise or lets the party otherwise "win" the encounter (for example by successfully bypassing it), you should get the XP those monsters were worth.


5

I would argue Yes. Lay on Hands is a supernatural touch attack, meaning that it follows the rules of “weapon-like spells” found in Complete Arcane (yes, even though it is not a spell). These rules do not cover Smite Evil specifically, but generally clarify that touch-attack effects are effectively weapons in all ways but name – that is, if ...


0

No. 'Normal' is used rarely in the rules but clearly seems to refer to a melee attack as outlined in the PHB 'Combat' chapter that i'm not going to quote extensively here for reasons of brevity. A spell touch attack, class ability, SLA or Special Attack may reference the rules for attacks outlined in the PHB but they are not themselves 'normal' melee ...


1

First of all, if its that important to you, then just say that he made his save. I think that is way better, then having the lich teleport away or similar, that would make the players feel screwed in a bad way. The Wizard has prepared this 7 lvl spell and now that actually has a usage the DM screws him - bad idea In my opinion. Secondly a lich doesn't have ...



Top 50 recent answers are included