Hot answers tagged

57

The book is correct. For the reason why level 6-9 spells exist for the Warlock when their Pact Magic slots cap at 5, check the Mystic Arcanum class feature on PHB p.108. Mystic Arcanum At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can ...


34

Awakened Mind reads: Starting at 1st level, your alien knowledge gives you the ability to touch the minds of other creatures. You can communicate telepathically with any creature you can see within 30 feet of you. And from the DM's Basic Rules, page 5: A creature without telepathy can receive and respond to telepathic messages but can't initiate or ...


34

There might be some synergy issues with other melee or Warlock abilities- Hex is a nice potential chunk of Warlock DPR and takes a Bonus Action to cast/retarget, while Polearm Mastery's extra attack or Great Weapon Fighting's cleave also take that extra attack. But if your Warlock is willing to give that up, I don't see much problem. That said, I can't tell ...


25

Yes, it's quite possible. Stuff to keep in mind, cloaks of the walking wounded, faerie companions from themes, and the skald multiclass are critical. The skald gives a floating encounter heal, the faerie beasts give meatshields, and the cloaks make second wind heal 2 surges. The trick with this party is that they should be able to kill their opponents ...


23

Short rests require an hour in which a character does nothing more strenuous than eating, drinking, reading, and tending to wounds. (PHB, page 186.) Eldritch Master takes one minute, and doesn't specify what you can and can't be doing in that time. It's unclear (i.e. open to DM ruling) if you have to spend that minute doing nothing except entreating ...


22

Generally better? Yes. Strictly better? No. As Scott mentions in his answer, Disguise Self can not only alter your appearance (via illusion), but your clothing as well. It's important to note the inverse of this: Alter Self does not specify that it modifies your clothing or equipment. This means that, depending on how severe your alterations are, you ...


21

You are absolutely right, an Eldritch Blaster is usually stronger After the 2nd level, when you get Agonizing Blast you can do d10+Cha damage, the same as a Longsword two-handed, if you are Strength primary. You can attack twice with both on level 5. At level 11 Eldritch Blast pulls ahead with 3 attacks, and the Charisma bonus on the Pact Weapon damage on ...


21

There is no RAW answer, so it's up to the DM. The way I would rule is that if there is no Patron there is no power. I would do this with the divine classes as well. I don't do it to be mean to the player, but for the cool story options it provides. From a story perspective, there is a really cool way you can handle this (I've done it but used a Cleric and ...


20

Rules as written: the subtleties of "can see" you're reading into don't exist. Whether you "can see" something mechanically means "you have line of sight to it." This heavily implied by the Player's Handbook, and finally made explicit in the Rules Compendium's section of Line of Sight on p106: A few powers do require a user to be able to see a creature ...


20

No. Consider that: Verbal (V) ...the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. If you can argue that this is ALL that is needed to cast a purely verbal spell, then anyone or anything with a mouth can cast it. Let's get more basic: suppose you don't have spell slots left to ...


20

No, only a creature's own movement can provoke opportunity attacks (Player's Basic Rules, p. 74): You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. Since Repelling Blast is you pushing them and doesn't use their own (re)action or movement, it doesn't ...


19

You're right that the PHB could be clearer about this in certain places, for example in the Spellcasting Chapter under the heading "Known and Prepared Spells" (PHB 201), we find: Members of a few classes, including bards and sorcerers, have a limited list of spells they know that are always fixed in mind. No specific mention of Warlocks there, though ...


19

No, they're not the same. The wizard's fine inks are cheaper! the material components you expended as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as fine inks you need to record it The 50 gp the wizard spends covers piles of duplicate material components, and also some good-quality ink. Even cheap material components add up when you're using ...


19

PHB 201: When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell’s level or higher... You cannot cast a level 3 spell using a level 1 slot. PHB 164: If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to ...


17

According to Jeremy Crawford: I'd allow a pearl of power to take an expended spell slot of 4th level or higher and turn it into a 3rd-level slot. It seems a reasonable compromise to regain lower level slots before your next short rest. As of the first set of errata to the DMG, this is now the official answer as well. Pearl of Power (p. 184). ...


16

Warlock Prestige Class Eligibility Basically, there are three rules: Spell-like abilities have Caster Levels, and therefore things that require a particular Caster Level can be met with a spell-like ability that has sufficient Caster Level. Warlock invocations are specifically arcane, which means they can also meet requirements for Arcane Caster Level. ...


16

You are absolutely right, there is not much reason to go above level 2 with Warlock from an optimization standpoint, if you only want Eldritch Blast. You get every benefit from Eldritch Blast, without giving up much in return. You will have to consider however that Eldritch Blast requires Charisma, and that one is the usual dump stat of an Eldritch Knight. ...


15

This is obviously unintended. Any workaround which utterly invalidates a mechanic is probably unintended and should be treated with extreme caution. You say it yourself: if this is allowed, the proximity restriction completely disappears and you can curse whomever you feel like You're proposing something which effectively removes a restriction from a ...


15

Your spell slots recover based on the class feature that allows your spellcasting. The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. ...


15

The point of Eldritch Master is to give you the benefit of a Short Rest in a much shorter time (1 minute instead of 60). From your clarification in response to the first answer, your group is using a variant of Short Rest as 5-10 minutes, rather than 60. This greatly reduces the power of Eldritch Master, as it's now speeding up recovery by 5-10x rather ...


15

No, Warlock Spellslots do not count toward the Multiclass Spellcaster table Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes, and a third of your fighter or rogue levels (rounded down) ...


15

The published rules don't go into this level of detail. As far as I see it there are two basic ways to rule this. The pragmatic approach Fine inks are rare, and rare inks are fine. They cost about the same, so they are the same. The flavourful approach For example: A wizard's fine inks are the sort you could use to write an invitation to a society ball. ...


15

Yes As it is stated in the text: Expanded Spell List The Fiend lets you choose from an expanded list of spells when you learn a warlock spell. The following spells are added to the warlock spell list for you. I.E. whenever you learn a spell, you have extra choices. You don't have extra spells known.


15

It's every creature... Area of Effect spells and abilities, unless specified otherwise, hit everyone in their area. The same wording "each creature in a [certain] foot radius" is present in Fireball. By the logic of your fellow player, you should also be able to decide which creatures are affected by fireball. But that is not the case. For reference, a ...


14

The best way to do this - Have an ally cast Greater Invisibility on you. An Invisible attacker has advantage automatically, and with Greater Invisibility you can attack without losing the Invisibility. This will grant you advantage for as long as the spell persists.


14

Deciding how a lich is created is the DM's job, as the game does not provide the answer (and arguably it should depend on the setting anyway). Your DM sounds cooperative, so I'm sure you can come up with something creative and awesome together.


14

You only know 2 at level 3 The chart shows your total overall cantrips at each level. You are correct that the maximum cantrips you can ever learn from warlock levels is 4. However you can also learn them from multi-classing, feats, and some racial choices.


13

All warlock spell slots are the same level (PHB p.107, under the Spell Slots section). As they level, warlocks eventually reach their maximum of 4 spell slots, and their maximum spell slot level of 5. Do note that you can cast lower level spells in slots that are higher level than the base spell (I.E., Hold Person, a second level spell, can be cast with any ...


13

Actually, I think I found the answer by re-reading the spells (say, Shillelagh): "The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls" Notice it doesn't say Wisdom (as in previous editions, where spells referenced the ...


13

By the rules, no. The Pact of the Chain says: You learn the find familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn't count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. And the find ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible