New answers tagged

3

Another role-play based answer is that the scimitar may not be available or even exist the the game world, as would be the case if your game world is Celtic based, remember that the scimitar was a weapon found predominantly in the Middle East/Asia IRL and would be completely foreign to anyone in the British Isles or France in the middle ages. The land the ...


22

Because it's Cool! Remember D&D is a role playing game first and a war game second. If the player imagines her Druid as a sickle wielding bad ass, reaping the foes of nature: fan-bloody-tastic. I am DMing a player whose gnome cleric dual wields daggers - mechanically she is giving up +2 AC from a shield or a 1d8 primary for the chance to do roughly the ...


7

He wouldn't, if he could help it A sickle is a simple weapon. A scimitar is a martial weapon. Strictly speaking, martial weapons are straight up better than simple weapons, role-playing aside. This is balanced by the fact that magic heavy classes tend to not have martial weapon proficiency, so they are limited by what types of weapons they can use. It ...


44

The shortest answer is, assuming the druid has the best-case scenario available to them, they wouldn't. The scimitar is all-around a better weapon than the sickle, assuming you're proficient in both (since the sickle is simple and the scimitar is martial, this is a reason why a character might wield the sickle instead, but doesn't apply to the druid). As a ...


6

You must have a base enhancement bonus to add any magical special ability. A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus. - Pathfinder RPG, p. 468 In general, special abilities add directly to the effective enhancement bonus. However, there is no special exception for ones that add a linear/direct cost. They're are ...


4

No, the bow can't have adaptive added without adding an enhancement bonus first. From the introduction to Magic Weapon Special Abilities: A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.


7

This is a case of specific trumps general. In general, the PFRPG core book says the following about a composite longbow: All composite bows are made with a particular strength rating (that is, each requires a minimum Strength modifier to use with proficiency). However, Ultimate Equipment's adaptive property (an adaptive composite longbow being the more ...


9

This rule comes from D&D 3.5, but was not carried over to Pathfinder. The rule is: A lit torch swung as an improvised weapon deals 1d3 points of fire damage per hit. You can find this in the "Vulnerabilities of Swarms" section of the d20srd Swarm entry, next to other text that talks about how swarms are especially vulnerable to energy attacks in ...


3

No. Enhancement bonuses give a bonus to damage rolls. If you don't roll for damage, you don't get to add it. (This is why the latest version of Magic Missile specifically calls out that you can add your enhancement bonus, since by default you would not)


-3

I play an archer and I would still say no, or atleast restrict the magical property to the short range bracket with the logic being that the magical bow/crossbow/sling could leave lingering enchantment on the ammo for the initial duration of its flight. I feel that being able to stack magic bonuses of ammo and weapon more than makes up for the weakness of ...


4

Note the bolded text: Shield (1 DP): The weapon counts as a light shield made of wood or metal and can have armor spikes (your choice). Add the gp price of the shield and any armor spikes that the weapon gains from this quality to the weapon's gp price. This quality can be added only to one-handed melee weapons. Armor spikes are different from shield ...


1

I would imagine giving a weapon a shield designation lets you treat it the same as a light shield for armor(and all) purposes. I.e. you get +1 AC. Note however, it only says you can create a light shield, Shield (1 DP): The weapon counts as a light shield made of wood or metal and can have armor spikes (your choice). Add the gp price of the shield and ...


2

It might be a useful feature for tanks, who use heavy shields (not tower shields). With the feat Improved Shield Bash, they keep their armorclass unchanged. Benefit: When you perform a shield bash, you may still apply the shield's shield bonus to your AC. Still might look poorly, because you get penalties on all attacks. However if you get 2 more ...


8

Your weapon can be a shield. And that shield can have spikes on it as well. It smells of stupid at first as trading a weapon attack for a shield AC bonus which in turn is traded for a shield bash attack sounds ridiculous. I can't find a rule that says adding spikes on your handaxe-shield-thing makes it deal extra damage through regular handaxing. When I ...


10

Your numbers are all a bit odd (perhaps you are using a playtest edition, or your DM is providing his own customized equipment list), but I think your question is answerable with the information you've provided. Why would the scythe be considered heavy? Heavy vs. Not Heavy The Heavy keyword isn't necessarily tied to weight. Heavy. Small creatures have ...


7

There is no Scythe in the Player's Handbook. However, I think this is primarily a terminology issue. Specifically, the weapon property Heavy is defined as Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon's size and bulk makes it too large for a Small creature to use effectively. Therefore, despite the fact it ...


76

Any character can use any weapon; there are no limitations (except size - a medium creature can't use a storm giant's axe or a pixie's dagger). If they are proficient in that weapon they get their proficiency bonus; if not, they don't. A wood elf cleric is proficient in longsword, shortsword, shortbow, and longbow (from wood elf) and all simple weapons ...


11

If you transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon, every time you create your pact weapon thereafter your "bonded" weapon will appear. Pact of the Blade (PHB p. 107-108) You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which ...


0

RAW: Yes. You can throw a harpoon to someone 30 metres away and make him being magically pulled to an adjacent square. You are then considered grappled as described in the grapple weapon property text, ie you can only move or damage the creature. You can't for example get another weapon to replace the harpoon you have thrown. Of course this is ridiculous ...


2

Yes, that is what the weapon special quality grapple does: On a successful critical hit with a weapon of this type, you can grapple the target of the attack. The wielder can then attempt a combat maneuver check to grapple his opponent as a free action. This grapple attempt does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the creature you are ...


5

On its turn the undine makes a melee attack then uses hydraulic push The undine weaponshaft says As a full-round action, an undine can make a single melee attack with the weapon and use her hydraulic push spell-like ability against the target of that melee attack. The weapon otherwise functions like a standard weapon of its type.... Although the ...


4

I would simply change the difficulty. You want to kick open that door? Sounds like a you need a great (+4) effort. But with the right tools the difficulty might drop to fair (+2). But opening a door does not sound like something your want your players to roll on - remember: Only let them roll if both results (success and failure) are interesting.


9

There is no such thing as a weapon (or anything else noteworthy in a Fate game) without an aspect, so invoke away! But see the bottom of my answer for a challenge to the idea you need a numerical bonus (or an action!) at all. Aspects are explicit statements about implicit narrative truths. This means that everything which is true about your story has an ...


1

If it is not especially written, that one's natural armor is primitive, then I believe it is not. Thus it should be doubled versus primitive weapons.


0

The Adventurer's League Player's Guide explicitly states both what is ALLOWED (which books, character creation methods etc) and what is DISALLOWED (for example- Evil alignments outside certain LE exceptions). The Allowed Rules includes everything in the PHB except rolling for attributes and hit points. The rule under Monk specifically states that "Whatever ...


-3

No, he can't do it- but he can absolutely do something similar at 5th level. If the Paladin was 5th level and possessed the dual wield feat (and thus had the extra attack feature) he could attack versatile for the second attack, because as a Sage Advice on extra attacks said: Extra Attack imposes no limitation on what you use for the attacks. In the ...


5

Your character can call things differently than your character sheet. If your sheet says "greatsword," but your character keeps referring to his zweihander, an AL DM would not have any grounds to stop you, as there are no rules for role playing (aside from alignment restrictions, rules of conduct, etc). You can play a halfling that insists, in character, ...


3

1: Ki focuses being an Implement, they can be enchanted in the same way as any other implement or weapon. 2: Yes, you would choose whether to use the enhancement value of the dagger or the Ki focus. Do keep in mind, however page 64 of PHB 3: If you have both a magic ki focus and a magic weapon, you choose before you use an attack power whether to ...


7

Yes, superior ki foci can be enchanted. As with other superior implements, superior ki foci are still ki focus implements and can be enchanted just like a non-superior ki focus. Superior implements are basically an implement-user's equivalent of exotic weapons: you spend a feat to be able to use a version of your preferred implement/weapon that has some ...


10

If I were to crate a masterwork blue ice long sword, would it be the same as +1 blue ice long sword? (Minus it being magical) +1 to touch and +1 to damage? For the purposes of attack and damage rolls, yes. For most other purposes, no. The issue is that while attack rolls with the weapon have a +1 enhancement bonus, and damage rolls with the weapon have ...


6

Yes, a masterwork blue ice longsword is mostly equivalent to a +1 longsword. As you said, blue ice slashing weapons give +1 damage, and masterwork weapons give +1 attack. A +1 magic weapon gives +1 damage and +1 attack, so a masterwork blue ice weapon gives the same attack & damage bonuses as a +1 magic weapon of the same type (assuming it's a slashing ...



Top 50 recent answers are included