Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

No There's nothing that says they take damage when the cloud enters THEIR square, and doing so would double the amount of damage the cloud does to the creature that round.


11

Fate is about narration, not simulation I think the first thing you have to understand here is that Fate, unlike many other popular rpgs (for example D&D) is about narration, not simulation. So the proper question is not, "What makes most sense in real world terms when someone falls from zone 1 or zone 2?", but rather, "What makes most sense in terms of ...


11

If that's how it's written and there's no errata on it right now, that's how it should work. Cover is cover is cover, no matter if it's ranged or melee.


9

Zones represent ease of movement and the ability to manœuver. But also, remember that… Zones serve the scene [t]he GM’s primary tools for framing the scene are zones and scene aspects. Zones are thus a tool to use as you see fit to frame the scene the way you want. They're decidedly not about simulating a place "right" or anything like that. Is this ...


8

No, Taking 5 damage is not a damage roll. There needs to be dice involved to count as a roll. Damage Roll (from DDI): A roll of a die or dice to determine damage dealt by a power or some other effect. Modifiers to a damage roll apply to the entire roll, not to each die rolled. It's hard to generalize, but additional damage from feats would typically ...


7

It depends on whether you can move the zone. The only requirements for sustaining a zone are that you 1) spend the required action every round (unless you use an ability to eliminate this requirement, such as Mordenkainen's Lucubration), and 2) you don't take a rest of any kind. Note that there is 1 additional requirement for movable zones. From page 121 ...


7

Yes. Damage stacks. This has been clarified for overlapping auras and I don't see why it would not also apply for area effects. In the case above you take 30 fire damage.


6

Yes Any enemies within the zone will have an effective -4 to attack rolls. Enemies outside the zone only take a -2 from the concealment.


6

The zone has a hole that moves with the zone Because: A zone is not a burst or a blast. Let's use your Stinking Cloud example; it seems typical. [...] Area burst 2 within 20 squares Target: Each creature in the burst Attack: Intelligence vs. Fortitude Hit: 1d10 + Intelligence modifier poison damage. Effect: The burst creates a zone ...


6

Any situation in which a creature stops being in square A and starts being in square B, where square B is within the zone but square A is not, counts as entering the zone. It doesn't matter whether the creature moved normally, was moved via forced movement, or teleported. Additionally, appearing inside the zone some other way (such as at the end of a power ...


5

There are actually two questions in the OP, so I'll answer them both. Yes, the power can be used in a place without valid targets. An Area Attack doesn't aim at a target. It aim at a square (within line of sight, as usual), and usually targets creatures within the area created around the target square. If there is no valid targets in the area, usually ...


5

Once you are affected by an aura (or any other effect) you should know what happens when you are in it. Whether your character knows that in precise game mechanical terms your players should know. How they choose to reflect that knowledge in their PCs depends on the level or realism in your game. (some characters know they just lost 5 hp, some PCs may just ...


4

Simply put, in all Fate 3rd Ed Games (of which DFRPG is one; also Spirit of the Century, Diaspora, and Starblazer Adventures), the size of the zones is story determined. They're big enough to require shooting past, small enough to go HTH with anyone inside, and divided as needed for story purposes. When I last played SOTC, the GM had us in several combats ...


4

It says the blast or burst does not target you or your square, with no mention of end condition. As a rules lawyer, I would say that that if Entity A creates a zone with a burst/blast that includes Player B, and B uses Warp in the Weave, then at any given time whatever square B occupies is not included in the zone. Moving the zone doesn't fill the square ...


4

No, the architect's staff would not increase the size of the zone created by Pyromancy Master. Pyromancy Master When you use an area or close arcane fire attack power that is not already a zone, the area of the attack becomes a zone [emphasis mine] that lasts until the end of your next turn. Creatures that end their turns within the zone take fire ...


4

No Reading the text literally says that the creature does not. It did not enter and it did not start its turn there. For the role-playing aspect of the game, if the creature decides to move out of the cloud on its turn I'd explain that as the cloud is moving, the creature moves away from the cloud.


4

The Wizard power stinking cloud has a range of Area burst 2 within 20 squares, not a target creature, meaning that the spell does not need to hit a target to succeed. The Wizard can target a burst spell on any space within range (in this case, 20 squares of herself) that she can affect (is not blocked by a solid object such as a wall), and the cloud covers a ...


3

If the zone moves for any reason, the "Entering the zone..." trigger will never set off for any reason. If the creature/target enters a square occupied by the zone it will always trigger the "Entering the zone..." trigger. Its important to note with forced movement that creatures get to make a save against entering hindering terrain (I.E. any sort of ...


3

Yes. Allow me to explain. First off, this is in no way to contradict dpatchery. I do agree though to some extent with what he says, but there was something else about it that came to mind and this was involving sinemething slightly similar which is the "legendary combo" use of Frost Weapon + Lasting Frost. How I'm told by long discussion with support: ...


3

Presumably this also means that powers that create zones defined by their targeted area would not create the zone in that particular space either. But what happens when the zone created is moveable, such as, for example, Stinking Cloud? Does the hole in the zone move with the cloud, remain centered on the space it was triggered in, or 'fill in' as ...


2

I would rule that the zone does occupy your square I suppose this comes down to the interpretation of a burst or blast "creating" a zone. In my rulings, I've deemed that the zone has the same construction algorithm of the creating burst or blast power, rather than the same specific squares of the burst or blast. This ruling has largely come about from ...


2

The answer to his is highly situational, because like most things in the Dresden Files... there is no true answer. There really is only a cost for moving between zones, so you don't want to make zones so big that it seems strange that your players and NPCs can easily move within such a huge area. Take the example of having a Wizard's duel at a baseball ...


2

Let's go bullet by bullet through your first set of questions. I'm going to assume that the object in square B fills the square completely and thus blocks LOE/LOS from C to the square behind it. This is not universally true and depends on the object. This is a blast 3 power, and as such, the origin of the blast is actually the caster's square. So no, the ...


2

Whatever area the power affected is the area encompassed by the zone. Almost all zone powers are close or area powers, allowing the zone to cover more than one square, though there are a few ranged zone powers that create a zone affecting a single square.


1

Some of the rules text regarding moveable zones is a little ambiguous. Wax Eagle has interpreted things one way, which I find counter-intuitive and strange. Here's another interpretation, which I believe is the intended one. When considering these moveable zone rules, imagine a wizard shooting a cone of flame from his hands. This is a Close blast. Then ...


1

Just to give the only other answer... The Burst/Blasts initial effects are blocked, but the zone is defined as an area filled in by an effect. The zone is created outside your square, so it isn't targeting your square specifically so the zone is created without issue. Additionally, the zone is created as an after effect. So to steal the Stinking Cloud ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible