11,731 reputation
23099
bio website
location Rochester, NY
age 25
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen Apr 2 at 19:30

Software Developer by day.

Husband, Father, avid gamer by night.


Feb
6
answered What happens when a creature falls on another creature?
Feb
6
comment When does a creature “Deal Damage”?
I'm curious where you draw the line. Are there any damage-dealing actions that wouldn't trigger the Shackle damage? What if you push a button, triggering a trap that damages somebody? What if you cut a rope someone is hanging from, causing them to take falling damage? Neither involve using "powers". What if you remove someone's resistance to the damage from a separate aura they are already standing in? Technically its your action that caused them to take the damage, but I don't think anyone would say that you dealt it. :)
Feb
6
comment When does a creature “Deal Damage”?
What about falling or other environmental damage? Does a monster take the damage when he pushes you off a cliff/teleports you 10 squares straight up/slides you into a forest fire?
Jan
16
answered Unusually Unfair Trap in White Plume Mountain
Dec
31
awarded  Popular Question
Dec
20
awarded  Enlightened
Dec
19
awarded  Nice Answer
Dec
19
comment Tying someone up in 4E
I'd probably go with -20 on the attacker's thievery check, by default, with varying degrees of lesser penalties if the target is dazed/stunned/restrained/prone/etc.
Dec
19
answered Tying someone up in 4E
Dec
17
awarded  Notable Question
Dec
10
comment Can a creature shift while swimming?
@GMNoob Hmm, you are right. Wish I could downvote myself, but upvoting the correct answer will have to do! If the votes and accepted answer don't sort themselves out here in a few days I'll delete this answer so that we aren't misinforming people.
Dec
3
awarded  Yearling
Nov
29
answered How can I increase tension during roleplaying?
Nov
29
revised Origin of the word “Soak” for avoiding damage
edited tags
Oct
19
answered Multiclassing Shaman/Invoker
Oct
17
comment Is the turn when a readied action goes off, considered a different turn from the one when the ready action took place in?
I see now that curse used to work like I described until it was errata'd. I missed the memo :)
Oct
17
comment Is the turn when a readied action goes off, considered a different turn from the one when the ready action took place in?
I guess that's why the rule confused me, because it goes against what I've believed and played for the past 4 years. I learned something new today! Strange that the rule for "Once per Round" seems to contradict this by using the word turn in its definition.
Oct
16
comment Is the turn when a readied action goes off, considered a different turn from the one when the ready action took place in?
I found the "Once per turn" rule from the compendium to be more confusing than helpful. Once per round seems more pertinent here.
Oct
16
comment Is the turn when a readied action goes off, considered a different turn from the one when the ready action took place in?
Or "Ready, take an OA and deal curse damage, then the readied action triggers." Or a warlord grants you an attack, etc, etc. There are plenty of ways this could happen.
Oct
16
revised Is the turn when a readied action goes off, considered a different turn from the one when the ready action took place in?
added 18 characters in body