Reputation
68,804
Next tag badge:
146/100 score
16/20 answers
Badges
7 212 352
Newest
 Enlightened
Impact
~1.8m people reached

Dec
16
comment How to split up experience with a party of differing levels?
Please note that we don't do signatures here. If you'd like to post a link in your profile, you are welcome to do so.
Nov
19
comment Are the Basic Rules PDFs enough to get into D&D, or do I need the Player's Handbook?
@RobertFisher given that the 5e starter set is actually a subset of the basic PDFs, I'd say it's plenty.
Nov
18
comment Are the Basic Rules PDFs enough to get into D&D, or do I need the Player's Handbook?
@Tyler feel free to drop into chat. I'll jump on over there.
Nov
18
comment Are the Basic Rules PDFs enough to get into D&D, or do I need the Player's Handbook?
@Tritium21 different question here.
Nov
14
comment Can a spellbook contain cantrips?
@kinoto is that to purchase? Or to have cast?
Nov
4
comment Can I use Banishment to get inside the guts of a gargatuan monster?
No, because you can't use the power as intended. The space within the monster's gut isn't unoccupied, it's occupied.
Oct
26
comment If movement is interrupted and an enemy occupies the destination square, is the movement lost?
@julix that's probly a new question, but id say no. If you make an action impossible to continue, its lost.
Sep
23
comment Is the Fighter the only one who gets more attacks per round now?
@Ulrich you need to read the combat chapter, off hand attack is an action granted to all PCs.
Jul
16
comment What is the best way to increase AC as a Monk?
This does not work. Unarmored Defenses do not stack.
Jun
25
comment Earthreaver Stompers (Boots) Daily Power Target Clarification
Yeah, and it seems WOTC took down their per book FAQ (But I don't remember a clarification to this power, and since it wasn't errata'd there probably wasn't one). You've hit on one of the several problems in the power text. There's unfortunately no much clarity to be gained from other sources here :(
Jun
12
comment What advantages does hiding have?
@Miniman you can attack someone you don't have LOS to, you just have to guess where they are. You can't attack someone you don't have LOE to. (and many spells don't work w/o LOS).
Jun
10
comment Modeling gear destruction
@WesleyObenshain I tried to be careful to not say that, because it might, it sort of depends on what you're going for. If that's something the enhances the story for you, great! But then you need to ask if that narrative element is more or less fun if it has mechanical consequence. If doing so enhances your gameplay experience then great, but if it detracts then maybe it's not a good fit. The narrative element can stay without needing a mechanical one.
Jun
10
comment Does Exhaustion Carry Over From A Druid's Wildshaped Form to Their Regular Form?
@LinoFrankCiaralli "drowning" is not a 5e condition. Drowning is a state that inflicts specific conditions (and other effects). If your state changes then conditions that are a result of that state are no longer in effect.
Jun
9
comment Can a Monk use/trigger Defensive Duelist while wielding a monk weapon (or unarmed)?
twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/608080238816296960 this tweet is about natural weapons but makes clear that using dex to attack does not grant finesse.
Jun
8
comment How far do I need to be from a creature to be outside its reach?
@SevenSidedDie thanks! I would have done one myself but I can't upload from here :(
Jun
8
comment Can You Concentrate Through a Long Rest?
ah, missed the bit in the last line there.
Jun
8
comment Can You Concentrate Through a Long Rest?
Is there a reason you're quoting this wiki instead of the source books?
Jun
3
comment How do weapon properties apply to double weapons?
Ah, I'll correct. The compendium definition of the double sword is reflected here I'll see if its errata or a misprint.
Jun
3
comment Does reducing a roll change a critical?
are you familiar with 4e? A roll (Specifically, an attack roll) is defined as the d20+modifiers. A modifier to the roll does not affect what the d20 says.
Jun
3
comment Does reducing a roll change a critical?
your example does in fact lead to a critical in 4e. Crits aren't crits in 4e only if you don't meet the target defense with the roll. There's nothing in the rules that allows for that kind of interpretation. And 4e is a pretty tightly defined combat system. A feather may only do 1 point of damage (or none, as it's not heavy enough to be an improvised weapon), but it'd still register a crit if it hit on a natural 20. The general rule isn't trumped here as the actual die (which is what triggers the crit) is not modified.