46,930 reputation
5119232
bio website none
location Lookout Mountain, GA
age 29
visits member for 3 years, 11 months
seen 1 hour ago

Web Programmer. 4 player/DM. Have also run several games of Dread, and DMing several concurrent session of 5e. Relatively new to table top gaming but I'm a fast learner.


Oct
23
comment Does Concealment exist in D&D 5th Edition?
@Sandwich there are ways that this would not be the case. For instance, a character with darkvision would not suffer from heavy obscurity, a character with tremorsense would not need to see at all.
Oct
23
comment Did I Calculate this Crit Damage Correctly?
Vanguard weapon is in AV1, Furious Assault IIRC is in PHB2, it's a half-orc racial trait. You've got the right answer here.
Oct
23
comment Did I Calculate this Crit Damage Correctly?
Wait until your slayer discovers surprising charge :)
Oct
23
comment Does Concealment exist in D&D 5th Edition?
@cr0m updated..
Oct
23
comment Is encounter balancing/creation in 5e different to previous editions?
@Bigern absolutely. I'll add a link to my answer, but this document has 2 chapters on the subject: media.wizards.com/2014/downloads/dnd/DMDnDBasicRules_v0.1.pdf
Oct
23
comment Is encounter balancing/creation in 5e different to previous editions?
@Bigern there are a couple of different budgets to worry about. There is the per encounter budget, which sets the challenge level of an encounter (namely easy, moderate, hard or deadly), and then the budget per adventuring day, which is what you should put your characters through between long rests. You can concern yourself with the level budget, but I'm not sure how much it's going to gain you. I think you'd be better off focusing on the per encounter and per day budgets
Oct
23
comment Can you jump in combat?
@Strill as a DM, I'd allow it to be extended by taking the Dash action, though I don't believe that's explicitly allowed in the rulebook. But there is also no provision for you remaining aloft between your turns. (though that would make a good question if you wanted to ask it)
Oct
23
comment When do Lair Actions occur?
Good work, I was just working on one of these :)
Oct
23
comment Can you jump in combat?
@Strill no, their jump ends after 5'.
Oct
22
comment What can a character do during a rest?
@Bigern theres some debate in the 5e community in this, Please see the question I linked.
Oct
22
comment Throwing more than once per turn
@Miniman I think he's making the point (one I'd otherwise make if this question wasn't tagged RAW and didn't already have hits answer), that there are literally no balance concerns here Re: allowing this.
Oct
22
comment Throwing more than once per turn
@Trevel yes, that is indeed what that means. Though I'll be honest, that doesn't really make any sense, and Mearls is on record (Though he did back off that it is RAW) as saying that's now now how he'd play it.
Oct
21
comment Confused about fighter's Two Weapon Fighting Style
@SevenSidedDie no. However the reference to penalties for TWF is reminiscent of prior editions (4e notwithstanding)
Oct
21
comment Does a Fey Beast Companion share your actions?
@ExoWaltz that's correct. I'll clarify here
Oct
20
comment Does drinking a potion permit an opportunity attack?
@NateKerkhofs mechanics aren't intended to model realism, and in this case it's one of numerous abstractions that are made. 5e is designed to not worry too much about position or penalize you for taking most combat actions. The only thing that merits an OA is moving out of reach without disengaging. That's it. You could of course choose to have more things trigger one, but that would be the answer For your game not in general or as written
Oct
20
comment Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell?
@GoblinTheodicy it's pretty clearly locked to a L1 spell. With a warlock it's basically just a L1 slot that they'd need to cast a L1 spell in. It would not scale up like the remainder of their slots, and it would not refresh with a rest.
Oct
20
comment Is Thunderwave centered on the caster?
@Besty You cannot be in the middle of the 3-d effect. You can be in the center of the 2-d plane of the effect (Which tends to be the one that matters). Self is rather a loose interpretation. I'd probably rule that final form invalid in my games, but I feel like with certain versions of "point" it would be a valid form.
Oct
19
comment Is Thunderwave centered on the caster?
It really depends on how you define "point of origin." There is a camp who would define it as the entire square that a caster occupies, and another that argues that the "point of origin" is only a point. I'm in the first camp, you seem to be in the latter. That's Ok, though you may want to answer the whole question so that this doesn't find itself deleted by the moderators or the community.
Oct
19
comment Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell?
@MagRoader that may well be the intent, but that's now how it's written.
Oct
19
comment Does an unconscious character accumulate damage?
@Besty yes. That's correct.