2,109 reputation
614
bio website
location La Crosse, WI
age 31
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen 2 days ago

I'm a semi-active player and GM for a number of different systems. My current games focus more on the latest edition of Shadowrun, but my favorite games are Dungeons and Dragons games. I've been running and playing games (mostly running) for the last fifteen years and have a solid grasp of the rules of the systems I run right now.


Aug
7
awarded  Nice Question
Jul
3
comment How do I deal with a Technomancer who uses a *lot* of sprites?
It's an issue if you have a hacker that knows what they're doing. Sure, a technomancer can't be 'hacked' and tracing them is hard. Notice that it doesn't say impossible. Technomancers get a silver plate to eat off from on a golden pedestal by many people in SR. They're seen as untouchable. They are not, and my rigger Mouse proves that point. I constantly have to clean my data trail every game and put more points into my stealth program when running around the city. It's not as easy as most people think it is.
Jul
2
awarded  Nice Answer
May
8
comment How does Monk's unarmed strike interact with powers requiring two weapons?
I kind of call suspect on that last comment. By the flavor of the text, you are correct. They can make an unarmed strike with any part of their body. However, back in 3.5, a monk needed to be wielding only monk weapons or have their body unimpeded to use their flurry of blows, gain the damage from their unarmed strikes, ect. Even though this is 4th we're talking about, it still sounds right to me. A monk's martial arts encompasses the entire body. Limiting them to only kicks would reduce their effectiveness, ergo, reducing their ability to effectively wield their unarmed strike.
Mar
30
answered Giving Players the Game They Want
Mar
29
accepted How to use a Minigun effectively
Mar
28
comment How to use a Minigun effectively
That was my major point about the RC, was that many of them were incompatible. I'll have to pass this by the books and see if I can see that rule somewhere.
Mar
22
asked How to use a Minigun effectively
Mar
19
comment Do burst powers affect the square you occupy?
Is there a specific place where this lists this? Because I can see how it's interpreted to mean that. However, I think the point of the close burst is to not target the caster when making the attack. Meaning you could, theoretically, target tiny in your square. At least it makes sense to me in that context.
Mar
8
comment How do I deal with a Technomancer who uses a *lot* of sprites?
One thing to point out about sprites is that you can only have so many registered. I can't remember what stat it is (Cha?) but you can only have so many. Plus, if compiling a sprite on the fly, you do take drain and you can't have more then one compiled sprite at a time (what I call a Run-Time sprite)
Mar
8
answered How do I deal with a Technomancer who uses a *lot* of sprites?
Mar
6
comment “Epic Level” Shadowrun
If you want to be especially mean, you can throw in some twists to the campaign. They have cortex bombs in their heads. Have they even tried to ID the ware? Maybe it's nothing more then a chip in their brains to make them think that. Psychological mind-games like this from the prison would be great. At least give the players a way out while being bought by SK. Give them the small window of oppertunity to try and escape. Or maybe they like the idea of being part of the mega corp, since it'll pay well and they're protected. Just some hooks for your last run.
Mar
6
answered “Epic Level” Shadowrun
Mar
4
awarded  Yearling
Feb
29
comment Does Novice Power let you retrain your Paragon Path encounter power?
Well, I agree with you. That's why it didn't make sense when I saw that and thought 'Wait...I guess you could, by the rules, swap it out'. I was actually looking for that ruling but didn't run across it.
Feb
29
comment Thunder Hooves Issue
No, I understand. I was just pointing out that Rage + Action Point + At Will Power was what I assumed his idea was.
Feb
29
comment Does Novice Power let you retrain your Paragon Path encounter power?
AH, hard rulings. It didn't seem to make sense before, but now that I know there's a rule for it specifically...
Feb
29
answered Thunder Hooves Issue
Feb
28
comment Can a thief sneak attack with an implement power?
I guess the entire subject is off, in my opinion. I can't see how the type of weapon you're using as an implement matter in terms of sneak attack, but if those are the rules, those are the rules. I don't agree with them, but if it's a hard ruling from WotC I have to accept it.
Feb
27
awarded  Commentator