Reputation
3,274
Top tag
Next privilege 5,000 Rep.
Approve tag wiki edits
Badges
9 27
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~93k people reached

Oct
28
comment Astral Combat, Damage, and You
No...she (and the player) are dumb and don't know what a duel nature being is. Or, at least, the player decided to be dumb.
Oct
27
comment Astral Combat, Damage, and You
This did answer this well enough for me, thank you. To the first point, the character is literally dumb given her stats. She 'shouldn't' have done that, no. But she did. To the second point, the character got angry about that and said that they should have just remade a character at that point...so yeah...
Oct
26
comment Astral Combat, Damage, and You
This is what I am thinking, but I need to get some solid rules lawyering on this, since it did result in a PC death and the PC doesn't feel it was fair.
Sep
11
comment Pathfinder Kingdom Builder: How big, area wise, is a hex?
Of course, the one paragraph that I'm looking for is the one I seem to have read over without realizing it. Thanks!
Sep
9
comment Headshot (but don't aim for it please)
Nope, he's right. Calling a shot is simply telling people where you'll be shooting. The other way we play it is that when you attack, you make a Called Shot action, which is a normal attack with the appropriate modifiers.
Jul
17
comment Player has little faith in DM, unhappy with in-game events, acts stubborn, obstructing game play
But his explination clearly states that the group has all been together, wanted the same plot hooks, and has been fine working together up to this point. And the same things the character has wanted are things they are actively saying no to. There has been no in-game discussion about why this is.
Jul
8
comment Activating an agent from a different deck
It boils down to the fact that you answered your own question. Do you have access to the second deck (i.e. are you an admin with privileges)? If the answer is yes, then you can easily spend the action commanding an agent through a matrix action. Essentially, the other cyberdeck grants you three (or four) marks and says 'Sure, run things on me'.
Jul
8
comment Can player characters be Nega-Mages?
I'd actually posit that this is exactly what you were looking for. Can you play as a Nega-Mage? By RAW, no you can not. What are the alternatives? There is the listing to the alternative. What the other answer gained you was a more detailed way to take the third-party build and use it as justification for what you want to play. I explained the actual logic behind the story, system, and mechanics for you to try and build something around.
May
29
comment Necromancers that actually do necromancy
Basically what I was going to say anyways. Nicely put.
May
29
comment The Creation of Magical items and the increase of DC
Don't worry...I've got your grammer and spelling covered. ^.^ And welcome to Stack Exchange!
May
22
comment Assist Decker by attaching friendly drone on hostile drone
True...which is why I point out that this situation, like many others, has to be a logical problem the story teller has to think through. You're right that the OS score might still go up. But if neither device was connected to the matrix at the time (you shut down your matrix connection and simply reach out through the drone, which is physically connected to the other drone, which both are off the grid as well) you can make the argument. It was just a thought.
Apr
17
comment How does Gunnery work when Jumped In
It's not that I don't believe you. I do. I just want to make sure that I'm getting the right information for this and accepting the right answer. SR5 has been needle-in-haystack problematic at this point, so I want to be sure I know what's going on.
Apr
17
comment How does Gunnery work when Jumped In
Can you show me an example from the book where they clearly define what is considered remote operation of a system? Rigging, in my opinion, is only remote control when you are rigging from a distance. Jumping into a machine means you 'become' the machine...not that you're remote controlling it.
Apr
10
comment How does Gunnery work when Jumped In
Got it, thanks! I knew you got extra dice when you rigged, but I was having trouble finding this out in the new book.
Mar
20
comment Opposed tests with limits: is sprite compilation special?
Using reagents to 'set' the limit can be done either way, but for what I understand it to be, most spells are only as good as the number of net hits you get. There are, however, differences to this rules, such as indirect combat spells, where the damage of the spell is set by the initial force. He can, yes, just opt to not take the successes. It'd be the same as someone saying that they want to knock someone out, but not do SO much damage as to actually hurt them.
Oct
11
comment rigging precision SR5
For me, it all depends on if the gun turret is a different device then the car. If it is, I would expect that you could autopilot it just fine. Otherwise, it's the same as saying "I'm going to have an autosoft control my feet and run while I use my arms". It's all one system, so it all is controlled by one source: your brain.
Oct
2
comment Foci cost in Shadowrun 5ed
You can rebind a foci to yourself, but you have to first break the bond that it had with the person before it. I don't remember if the bond is still there after death, but either way, you have to make an Enchanting roll to unbind a foci. Then, you have to rebind it with the normal costs and rolls.
Jul
31
comment Shooting with drones
I do apologize that the rules for 5th edition aren't organized as well as they should be. The page that lists combat with drones is no where near the actual rigging rules, like they should be. I'll edit my answer.
Jul
9
comment Can a single device be both a master and a slave?
It's not so much that the marks travel downwards. It's the fact that, as a user that's put three marks on the cyberdeck that's protecting a PAN, you now have full authorization on that device to do with it what you will. You'll still have to make matrix hacking tests to mess with it, but it recognizes you as a user. Break the connection with the master and they can't follow you to your link. But while your link is on the deck, you and the link and all your devices are 'trusting' the authority of the deck and it's users, whoever they might 'appear' to be.
Jul
9
comment Can a single device be both a master and a slave?
This is why a PAN can be a double edged sword. The master or node of a network holds all of the security of a system now. Mark the head and you get access to everything it holds. It's why the decker is now the protection for gear.