1,233 reputation
513
bio website None.Seriously.
location Virginia
age 35
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen Jul 13 at 2:22

Oct
15
comment Does Sage of Ages roll replacement happen before or after the roll?
This is how I have always interpreted it.
Oct
15
comment Does Sage of Ages roll replacement happen before or after the roll?
I disagree. It says "You can use the result...in place of any one d20 roll you make...". The d20 roll must have actually taken place for the Prescience roll to replace it.
Sep
12
comment Does Augmenting Whetstone work on a magical item?
@adamjford: A good point, which makes it clearer how bonuses on magic items actually function.
Sep
12
comment Does Augmenting Whetstone work on a magical item?
There's no difference, actually. If you had a separate enhancement bonus, it still wouldn't stack with the whetstone or +3 axe.
Sep
11
comment How can I convert monsters from D&D 3, 3.5 or 4 ed to 2ed monsters?
I would also reiterate the importance of voting, and accepting answers that helped you. If you like an answer, upvote it. If it's the best answer that has come in for the question, accept it.
Sep
7
comment Combining D&D 4th ed. Player's Handbook 1, 2 and 3
This seems more like a comment than an answer.
Aug
30
comment Is there a penalty for holding a two handed weapon in offhand while throwing a weapon?
@Erik: I view that as ignoring the catch, since it returns no matter what.
Aug
29
comment Spell school specialization dnd 4e
I think it's possible to choose one school at 1st level and a different school at 5th level, and your 11th-level feature is based on what you picked at 5th. This is based on the character builder, though, not a direct reference to the Essentials books.
Aug
26
comment Is there a penalty for holding a two handed weapon in offhand while throwing a weapon?
@Snowbody: I have no idea. Purely by RAW, the throw and catch are the same action, so the weapon would be thrown caught before you had the opportunity to put your hand back on the Mordenkrad. I have no idea if the catch is optional, but I assume you could free-action drop the Dwarven Thrower first. I will edit to reflect this.
Aug
26
comment Clarification of Raise Dead
@Chad: The Vorpal property now means that, any time you are rolling damage dice in connection with an attack, if it comes up as its maximum value, add in that maximum value and then roll it again (repeating as many times as you keep getting maximum value). It does not automatically kill by severing a creature's head, so it is not applicable here.
Aug
26
comment Clarification of Raise Dead
@Chad: That is a very 3.5e view of the world, but 4e does not work that way. There isn't a Regeneration spell or ritual any more (Remove Affliction seems like a similar equivalent), and the Resurrection spell is recast as a level 8 Essentials Cleric power which works almost exactly like the Raise Dead ritual but only for creatures who died in the last 24 hours. All of the old spells to which you refer require a very simulationist game, which 4e is decidedly not. Even something like the Rogue's Leg-Breaker power doesn't include any affliction beyond HP damage.
Aug
21
comment Can Swiftpad boots be used in a vertical jump?
Something else of note: this means you can jump diagonally in the air as well. So if the OP's secret ambition is to leap tall buildings in a single bound, all he really needs is these boots and about a 30 STR.
Aug
19
comment Does movement continue after an Opportunity Attack?
Here's a question for clarification. Do you treat each square of movement as though it were were a separate miniature action? So you move X squares, get interrupted, and then move the remainder of your movement from wherever you landed, if possible?
Aug
18
comment Can a free action be taken in the middle of another action?
Just for the specific case you cite, couldn't you Quick-Draw the weapon as part of the action of using its daily power?
Aug
9
comment Is the extra damage from Assassin's Strike maximized on a critical?
@Simon: This answer seems the more likely of the two. In that case, you could tag the bonus damage from Quickhit Bracers onto the offhand attack, since it is done second and that is the only hit they can attach to, and maximize the extra dice if the second hit crits.
Aug
8
comment Is the extra damage from Assassin's Strike maximized on a critical?
So it seems like the procedure here is something like the following: figure out what the damage roll would be without a critical hit, considering all effects; maximize that; and then go ahead and add bonus effects that only trigger on a crit, without maximizing them.
Jul
23
comment What's the impact of a monster being immune to Unconscious?
@YogoZuno: That's a reasonable interpretation, and certainly matches designer intent better, but it isn't actually RAW. If you choose to make it unconscious - forgoing the opportunity to kill it - and unconsciousness has no effect on the creature, that doesn't magically make it dead. This is why DMs are needed, and why Rule-As-Intended is important. When you write "I would say..." that's a table ruling, not RAW.
Jul
22
comment What's the impact of a monster being immune to Unconscious?
@Neil, Chad, GMNoob: There doesn't seem to be any such thing as nonlethal damage. You do damage until you kill it; when you find out that you killed it, you can optionally declare that you knocked it out instead. See the middle of page 261 in the Rules Compendium. I was surprised to learn this, but it seems to be true.
Jul
22
comment What's the impact of a monster being immune to Unconscious?
@Chad: I was writing from a practical DMing perspective, not a RAW perspective. Your comment (and downvote) aroused my curiosity, so I dug up a RAW answer for you.
Jul
22
comment Do two Eladrin both wearing a Circlet of Revelation auto-save on Charm effects?
@cthos: I assume if they wanted to prevent this they could have written, or released errata, that the bonuses are racial. Probably not a big priority, though.