10,253 reputation
23468
bio website
location Oklahoma
age 29
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen 9 hours ago

Oct
18
comment Is there a Maximum force rating?
Awesome, thanks. I was confused by the original wording. The edit looks good.
Oct
18
comment Is there a Maximum force rating?
Also can you expand on this: "EotE and AoR each add +1.", EotE specifically states that if a specialization gives you a Force rating outright, that only happens on the first specialization you take.
Oct
18
comment Is there a Maximum force rating?
I don't have the book on me, but it's way at the end of the tree.
Oct
17
comment Taking out-of-career specialisations
Just a quick additional point, Force Sensitive Exile (and the one from AoR, forget the name) is treated as a "Career Specialization" for everyone in terms of XP expenditure.
Oct
13
comment Is there a Maximum force rating?
As far as I'm aware, there's nothing explicitly preventing you from taking both force-sensitive specializations from EoE and AoR, but you wouldn't get the free force point from the second one (which you've accounted for correctly).
Sep
27
comment Does the appearance of a vampire remain the same forever?
Is there anything that covers the issue of getting your hair cut off and having it regrow every night? (Interview with the Vampire style)?
Sep
5
comment How can I tailor an encounter so that a low level, mostly mundane party can defeat a wasp swarm?
@MrLemon - You can't target a single creature in a swarm, and as such you'd have to target the square with the splash weapon. Thus, the swarm would take splash damage. Which is 1 point of fire damage. So, 1 + .5 = 1.5, round down = 1. That's RAW. RAI you very well may be right, and I'd probably rule it that way.
Sep
3
comment Would an Inquisitor's warband be dispatched to fight the taint of Xenos?
Slight quibble: typically Inquisitors do belong to a given Ordo, but they're free to switch Ordos if they see fit to do so (with the appropriate social repercussions). But being in a given Ordo doesn't preclude an Inquisitor to pursue whatever threat they want to.
Sep
3
comment Would an Inquisitor's warband be dispatched to fight the taint of Xenos?
@Capt.Pantsless - Don't forget that the Inquisition is far-reaching, but limited in number. It wouldn't be too unusual for an Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor to pursue a Daemonic threat if no-one else is nearby, or otherwise indisposed. Plus, Cults (Ordo Hereticus's primary concern) can worship Daemons or Xenos or whatever, so that gives them a lot of overlap.
Sep
3
comment I'm a quarter Draconian, a quarter Dragonborn and half Half-Dragon?
"In 5e, these changed again: apparently in the 5th-edition world, any dragon wishing to bear true dragon children needs the explicit (written?) permission of Bahamut or Tiamat." - What's the source on that? I'm most interested to read that fluff.
Aug
23
accepted How do I use a person as a shield?
Aug
22
comment Casting spells in armor
@Dyndrilliac - He could still wear the armor, his speed would just be reduced by 10 ft. That's the only effect of the minimum strength.
Aug
22
comment Casting spells in armor
Most memorable 5e experience for me yet was the Mountain Dwarf wizard (randomly rolled) running around in Medium Armor pretending to be a fighter.
Aug
21
comment Dark Heresy 2nd edition vs. 1st edition
That makes sense, each game they release they tweak the rules a bit. Which is super annoying when you try to mix the games together...
Aug
21
comment How do I use a person as a shield?
I should mention that I compelled the PC to get lured out into the woods. Even so, trying to get out of it and gaining 4 FATE points in the process was a little cheese-weasely, I thought.
Aug
21
comment How do I use a person as a shield?
@doppelgreener We didn't either until we looked it up. It's actually caused a bit of an imbalance in our game, due especially to the rogue's aim stunt.
Aug
21
comment How do I use a person as a shield?
@doppelgreener - Yes. You can. The last sentence of that paragraph: "You can also stack multiple free invocations together." There is no limitation on that. And later in the book under teamwork, they do this very thing.
Aug
20
comment How do I use a person as a shield?
@SevenSidedDie Success with style for the Aim action for 2 free invokes, + a stunt which gives an extra free invoke on aim actions. You can stack free invokes multiple times in Fate Core: fate-srd.com/fate-core/…. 4th paragraph in that section.
Aug
20
asked How do I use a person as a shield?
Aug
15
comment Can physical devices be hidden inside a host in SR5?
Sort of, I think the crux of what I was getting at is "if it's signal is too low for you to pick up on and if you don't physically access it, you have to go through the host." Re-reading the OP though, it sounds like he had physical access to the devices.