2,199 reputation
712
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 10 months
seen yesterday

Apr
10
awarded  Citizen Patrol
Jan
20
comment How do I help a player who struggles with a tactics-focused character?
@András Thank you for your feedback. I do agree that the start of this means more work for the DM which is always a resource to watch carefully, but ideally it's a starting cost and not a constant one due to things like Ilmari Karonen's comment. The goal as I read the question seemed to be how to allow a player who has poor tactical skills to play a character who is the opposite and have moments of glory regardless, rather than how to fix said poor tactical skills (which is a totally valid solution which already has some great answers).
Jan
18
answered How do I help a player who struggles with a tactics-focused character?
Dec
5
comment Too many divergent side quests. What do I do?
+1 for number 2, this has served me well on multiple occasions with my group that has similar amounts of personal hooks and character desires to deal with. The best part is that if something suddenly comes up that would fit, it's frequently easy to find little ways to hook it in retroactively that they're only now discovering.
Nov
26
comment Does liquid count as ground?
Considering the answers to the other question are largely that there is no formal definition beyond DM fiat, the answers there are likely to be the same as those that would be found here, specifying water doesn't change them. Soulrift's new answer over there even talks about Water explicitly though.
Nov
17
comment Why is Cooperative Crafting a feat?
One minor improvement with the feat over Aid Another, though I don't know how often it comes up in Pathfinder is this line - "either one of you can fulfill any other prerequisites for crafting the item.". This means if there are two potential crafters, one who has a better crafting check and another who has a requisite but a worse check, with just Aid Another the lead would have to be the latter with the former only granting +2, while with the feat the better crafter can lead despite lacking the requisite that the weaker crafter can cover (and still give +2 or +4).
Aug
23
comment Slaying Action + Sniper's Action
I'd imagine so. The only sneak attack limitation I am aware of on hybrid rogues is the fact that it only works on rogue powers and rogue paragon path powers.
Aug
21
comment Is a Racial hatred to all Humans enough for an evil alignment?
@Flotolk As a minor note, having a bonus towards doing something doesn't mean you always have to do it, it just means that should you choose to take that course of action you are more apt at it for whatever reason. Think of the bonus this way, if the Strix character decides to take hostile action against a human they just won't have the same mental hangups against harming them as other races, just like we IRL can choose not to kill spiders and the like, despite it being quite easy for us.
Aug
19
revised Slaying Action + Sniper's Action
noticed a small hole in my logic
Aug
19
answered Slaying Action + Sniper's Action
Jul
8
comment Does Thunder Hooves Rage damage stack with itself?
Similar enough to this to not be worth putting in a separate answer: Even if you do count it as triggering each time you go over the only thing running over them gives is the boolean state of 1[W] extra damage on the next attack (which most likely happens after your full move). Note that (while slightly different in this case) bonuses don't stack if they're triggered from the same power/feat so it's unlikely that you are expected to be able to stack doing 1[W] extra damage three times from the same power.
Jul
2
comment A game where death is permanent?
For what it's worth, in my game I houseruled away the Raise Dead ritual from the start and informed my players of such. Yet to have an actual player death, but as for "Could a game like this be made to work?" that is one example :)
Jun
28
revised Enchanted Superior Impements
Added reference
Jun
24
answered Enchanted Superior Impements
Jun
11
comment Resolving simultaneous triggers
That is how I currently understand it, yes. Though I will admit this interpretation is mostly through observation of implications of other power/action wordings. The main differentiation being the free action being an opt-in action in its own right coming after the property that just says it happens. The teleports (assuming you can do them one after another) aren't useless though. That's a lot of squares you could travel (or a lot of combat advantage granted)
Jun
11
comment Resolving simultaneous triggers
Even in that case it seems like that would put it after the Hit block resolves while the essentially No Action item property would happen during. I will admit though that my understanding of resolution order is entirely based on powers I've seen and the fact that the Free/No action distinction makes no sense if they both do exactly the same thing. Since this is getting somewhat discuss-y though I'll hop into chat. (note didn't see your comment edit, heh)
Jun
11
comment Resolving simultaneous triggers
@waxeagle if they go off after the action that triggered them, assuming that the term is being used in the Standard/Minor/Move/Free/No/...etc context, means they should go off immediately after the power resolves entirely (ie: not after part of the hit block is done). Rain of Hammers as it is worded seems to trigger as part of the Hit block the damage happens in. I could be wrong of course, but this is how a strict reading of the rules looks to me.
Jun
11
answered Resolving simultaneous triggers
Jun
9
awarded  Yearling
Jun
6
comment How should a DM recover from major player plot derailment?
Plans seldom survive contact with the players, it sounds like you've figured out a good way to go with it though :). Don't forget that if there are any parts of your old plan you really liked, there's no reason you can't shelve them for now to pull out later as needed.