Reputation
10,982
Top tag
Next privilege 15,000 Rep.
Protect questions
Badges
1 31 82
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~200k people reached

Dec
3
comment How to handle a group of inexperienced players who split their party more often than I can handle
"In real life, the advantage of splitting the party is that it allows you to do more than one thing at a time. However, as a GM, I can only resolve one situation at a time, so splitting the party doesn't actually make anything faster, and puts you at a disadvantage if you come across situations where the missing party members would be useful." I've found this explanation helps prevent party splitting in any situation where there's not in-setting time pressure.
Dec
3
revised How does the Necklace of Adaption's bubble of air work out in practice underwater?
Extended range of possible sources.
Dec
3
comment Is it ever okay to flat-out ban Tier 1 classes?
How is this opinion-based? The answer is "Yes."
Dec
3
reviewed Close What is a good gaming system for running a 'con man' game?
Dec
3
reviewed Leave Open Is it ever okay to flat-out ban Tier 1 classes?
Dec
3
comment How do I learn to become a good GM?
Ah, quantum ogre railroading. While this is a valid GMing technique, it's not appropriate for all campaigns and playstyles. -1.
Dec
3
comment When can you interpose yourself in the path of an attack?
@detly Yes. In fact, Alice could conceivably jump in front of every attack in the session, if she wanted. Which would be awesome. She'd probably need some kind of genre-appropriate narrative permission to do it, such as super speed in a superhero campaign, or wanting to stop a fight between two implacable enemies who should be allies in a shonen manga, but it's possible.
Dec
3
comment Can a character craft expensive material components?
Note that reliably crafting an expensive material component will usually require ranks in an appropriate craft skill; Any player who claims they can use one single craft skill to mix unguents, cut gems, carve ivory figurines and magnetize iron rods is probably pushing it.
Dec
2
comment Dual Wielding With an Instrument?
@Axelrod Careful, that generally wrecks the tuning.
Dec
2
comment How does the Necklace of Adaption's bubble of air work out in practice underwater?
I know it depends on how the necklace works; I'm asking if "how it works" is explicitly stated anywhere. As is, this answer is just restating the question. (I don't want to diss your excellent analysis of the possibilities - But do you know if there's anything that suggests one possibility over the others?)
Dec
2
awarded  Nice Question
Dec
2
comment Does Water Breathing let someone breathe under the surface of *any* liquid, or just ordinary water?
You should edit that clarification into your answer, since it's important. Incidentally, most fish don't have lungs, and respirate without breathing.
Dec
2
comment How does the Necklace of Adaption's bubble of air work out in practice underwater?
Agreeing with KRyan, here: The "allowing to breathe" thing is just one part of the effect description, and you're missing the bit that I'm actually asking about. The point about the laws of physics applying unless otherwise specified is good, but we can't know what effect the laws of physics would have until we know exactly what the necklace does - and so that's what I'm asking about.
Dec
2
asked How does the Necklace of Adaption's bubble of air work out in practice underwater?
Dec
1
comment Does Water Breathing let someone breathe under the surface of *any* liquid, or just ordinary water?
I'm not sure I understand your fifth footnote - if drown doesn't work on creatures who can breathe water, wouldn't someone subject to water breathing be an invalid target? Or do you interpret the "ineffective" as meaning "the spell technically functions, but has no meaningful effect?"
Dec
1
comment Does Water Breathing let someone breathe under the surface of *any* liquid, or just ordinary water?
@Shalvenay Also, what I said really isn't saying anything new that this answer doesn't say already - It's more supporting evidence that keshlam could potentially add to their answer.
Dec
1
comment Can you use a feat if your ability falls below the prerequisite?
@ShadowKras The question also says that the character's strength "dropped from 20 to 6," not that "it was subject to a 14 points of strength damage." There's no rule saying that poison can't deal ability drain.
Dec
1
reviewed Leave Closed What exactly is AD&D?
Dec
1
comment Does Water Breathing let someone breathe under the surface of *any* liquid, or just ordinary water?
@Shalvenay Alas, to make an answer relevant to 3.5rd edition, I'd need a source from that edition, and I don't have one.
Nov
30
reviewed Close Do these Feats + Paladin Relentless Avenger = Redundant?