Reputation
10,982
Top tag
Next privilege 15,000 Rep.
Protect questions
Badges
1 31 82
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~200k people reached

Apr
19
comment How do I handle my players killing things by catapulting a folding boat?
If the players have a party, couldn't the players just change strategy such that the person commanding the boat is a different individual to the one casting catapault?
Apr
18
comment How to explain to a new player that metagaming is encouraged in this group
Have you tried saying to this person "metagaming is encouraged in this group?"
Apr
18
comment How is the number of spells limited in a spellbook?
Historical note: The number of pages required for a spell has varied from edition to edition. In third edition, it was two pages per spell level and one page for cantrips; In 3.5rd edition, it was one page per spell level and one page per cantrip; In earlier editions, the number of pages required by the spell was the sum of the spell's level and a die roll...
Apr
18
comment Is necromancy necessarily evil in 5e or Forgotten Realms?
You're ignoring all the necromancy spells that don't create undead. Reincarnate, clone, resurrection... It's possible to be a necromancer who never creates undead at all, though I must admit I've never actually encountered one.
Apr
18
comment Do lycanthropes need to do damage in order to inflict the curse?
@Dronz nitsua60 is right, that way lies madness: If hit points don't represent physical injury, then what do the cure wounds spells do? And yet if they do represent physical injury, how do you square that with the description of what they represent?
Apr
18
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
Thanks, I've reversed my downvote; Your answer seems like the correct one.
Apr
18
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
@HeyICanChan That's interesting, but I don't see how the special case of talking-is-a-free-action-you-can-take-out-of-turn is relevant to this answer. I may have missed an important part of your argument - Could you perhaps break it down for me?
Apr
15
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
Incidentally, if this is possible, the summoned creature would have to appear somewhere inside the force sphere, since force walls block line of effect. Since the sphere is dismissable, that probably won't be a huge tactical problem, but it's an interesting limitation to keep in mind.
Apr
15
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
@user1673882 It's useful to rule out action type as a possible concern, at least.
Apr
15
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
Hmm, that line seems like an important part of your answer - you should edit it in. (Editing your answer will also allow me to remove my downvote.)
Apr
15
comment Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
-1 That "You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one." line only applies to spells that have already been cast and are waiting out their durations, and not to spells in the process of being cast. This answer is incorrect.
Apr
15
answered Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.
Apr
15
comment Should an Aqueous Orb provide cover for a creature hiding behind it?
By RAW, the spell creates a rolling sphere of churning water ten feet in diameter. That is one of the effects of the spell. Do you have any reference to support your assertion that a non-porous sphere of water (magical or otherwise) does not affect the movement of objects passing through it?
Apr
15
comment Which Mongoose Traveller 1e books are mechanically compatible with 2e, if any?
-1 This answer does not actually answer the question in a useful way; It merely asserts that there is an answer.
Apr
14
revised Was a “divine wish” spell ever mentioned in any published game materials?
Slightly clarified wording.
Apr
13
comment Can a Trap-the-Soul enspelled Gem be thrown at it's target?
@WesleyObenshain Huh, for some reason I always thought the trigger object had to incorporate the gem in some way, but now that I check, I see you're right: You could potentially inscribe the victim's name on a letter addressed to them, and keep the gem in your possession...
Apr
13
comment Can a Trap-the-Soul enspelled Gem be thrown at it's target?
@PaulMarshall Alas, in both Pathfinder and 3.5rd edition, trap the soul also traps the body and anything it's carrying, so throwing the gem back isn't possible. 3.0 did leave the body outside the gem, though.
Apr
12
comment What happens if character creation says I gain and lose darkvision simultaneously?
@Thisisstackoverflow You might want to try Fourth Edition, then; It has the kind of highly codified rules you describe.
Apr
12
reviewed Leave Open Can magic items be fixed using spells?
Apr
12
comment What are KRyan's full set of Houserules for D&D 3.5e?
@BESW Good idea: meta.rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/6248/…