1,616 reputation
721
bio website
location Downers Grove, IL
age 37
visits member for 3 years
seen Dec 15 at 16:13

Software engineer and architect, working primarily with Microsoft technologies for the desktop and the web.


Dec
7
awarded  Yearling
Sep
5
comment How many spells does a cleric add to its repertoire at each level?
+1 Good answer, particularly the tidbit about actually knowing every Cleric spell on the list instead of just every spell for the spell levels that the cleric can cast. Also, enjoy your Reversal badge. :)
Jul
28
awarded  Popular Question
Jul
23
awarded  Popular Question
Jul
21
comment How do enchantment spells work with V/S components?
What I find interesting is that spellcasters compare rather poorly to manifesters in this regard. Manifesters don't have components at all - just "displays". With a simple concentration check, a manifester can suppress the display, making the act of casting purely a mental action (i.e., completely covert). No extra feat required, no extra power points expended. Seems a bit unbalanced in that regard.
Jul
17
comment How is Polymorph “broken”?
I had the same concerns regarding "...what DM is going to let their players plumb every rule-book to find the very best combination of abilities...". So I asked a follow-on question here: rpg.stackexchange.com/q/19674/2787
Jul
11
comment Is Improved Trip / Combat Reflexes / Elusive Target / Spiked Chain overly powerful?
@Ben-Jamin I think the most reasonable interpretation of that part of the rule is: "Soft Cover Creatures, even your enemies, can [be in a position to] provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC." Bracketed text is mine. In this case, "can" refers to the ability to exist in a certain spot, not the ability to choose, once in the certain spot, whether to grant something else the benefits of cover.
Jul
11
comment Is Improved Trip / Combat Reflexes / Elusive Target / Spiked Chain overly powerful?
@Ben-Jamin That's a tricky nuance to the rule. I see multiple interpretations: 1) The entity providing cover can opt not to provide cover. 2) The entity receiving cover can opt not to take cover. 3) The entity facing cover can opt not to face it. #3 seems ridiculous: common sense indicates that an attacking foe cannot choose whether the target has cover or not. But #1 and #2 seem valid interpretations of the rule, though I would choose to interpret the rule as not involving choice - cover exists whether any party involved wants it or not.
Jul
9
comment Is Improved Trip / Combat Reflexes / Elusive Target / Spiked Chain overly powerful?
@Ben-Jamin See this question regarding soft cover and attacks of opportunity at reach: rpg.stackexchange.com/a/35443/2787
Jul
9
comment Which, and how many, skills should a Human Scout pick?
Unless it is a house rule of your group's, a roll of 1 on a skill check is not an automatic failure. Automatic failures on a roll of 1 apply only to attack rolls and saving throws. Similarly, a roll of 20 on a skill check is not an automatic success.
Jul
2
awarded  Curious
Jun
18
answered Can a Rogue (D&D 3.5) use sneak attack on both the first and second attack?
May
27
answered Is there a reason to ignore/adjust the Wealth By Level chart?
May
27
comment Is there a reason to ignore/adjust the Wealth By Level chart?
+1 Can't agree more. I've found a trend across a swath of D&D 3.5 related answers to adhere a bit too much to published "guidelines", such as CR, WBL, EL, etc. I play in groups where wealth between characters may differ by 20% or more, but often no one even cares. It fits the story, and if the story is strong, these "guidelines" can easily be pushed aside.
Apr
3
awarded  Nice Answer
Mar
28
accepted Do creatures get an attack of opportunity against targets with soft cover?
Mar
28
comment Do creatures get an attack of opportunity against targets with soft cover?
+1 Thank you for the excellent explanation.
Mar
25
revised Do creatures get an attack of opportunity against targets with soft cover?
Add clarification to question and solicitation for more answers.
Jan
15
accepted How many ways are there (if any) to use more than one meta-psionic feat on one manifestation?
Jan
14
comment Do creatures get an attack of opportunity against targets with soft cover?
Note that in the second paragraph under the main heading of "Cover" in the linked article in my question, there is this sentence: "When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks." So, attacks against non-adjacent targets are treated as range attacks for the purposes of determining cover, and soft cover specifically mentions that it provides cover against ranged attacks. So, does that mean 1) AoO's are blocked, or 2) targets of the AoO get a +4 AC bonus, or 3) resolve AoO normally?