1,270 reputation
1523
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 8 months
seen Oct 11 at 22:10

There is probably nothing that bothers me as much as when people don't accept answers to their question and give no explanation whatsoever. Did you find an answer by yourself? Post it! Did you find all answers unfit? Leave them a comment, so they can know what you're still missing.
There really is no excuse to just leave them sitting there for more than, let's say, a week. Any more than that's just being a dick to the people that went out of their way to help you, as well as harming RPG.SE as a whole.


Oct
11
comment Can you attack and then do Total Defense in the same turn?
Certainly not! I just wanted to add a clarification, lest anyone think "You can't attack and do Total Defense in the same turn" is a general rule. Your post answered the question just fine; if I thought it was inaccurate, I would have posted an answer myself.
Oct
10
comment Can you attack and then do Total Defense in the same turn?
Actually, you can, provided you get an extra standard action from somewhere, or a way to attack as a free/swift/immediate action before using total defense, etc. I'm AFB at the moment, so I'm not entirely sure if there's a purely Pathfinder way to do this, though.
Aug
21
awarded  Popular Question
Aug
9
comment Can a Wizard/Artificer teach spells to himself?
@KRyan Well spotted. "The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed <...> The act of writing triggers the prepared spell". Since the creation feat lists requirements, I was fooled into thinking that those were the only ones and din't think to check this.
Jul
16
awarded  Taxonomist
Jul
2
awarded  Curious
Jun
6
awarded  Popular Question
Feb
19
awarded  Yearling
Jan
10
awarded  Popular Question
Nov
8
awarded  Popular Question
Sep
29
comment How do I roleplay an intelligent character?
@AllenGould Which is one of many reasons why it's important to communicate with your players and make sure everyone is having fun.
Sep
27
comment How do I roleplay an intelligent character?
@AllenGould I understand how that could be a problem (in fact, I remember when a DM of mine expected me to perform the duties of my bard... even though I have zero musical talent), but that's why I suggested giving hints or partial solutions instead. Just giving them the solution is basically a "you don't need to play, just roll a a die to win!", and wouldn't be fun at all.
Apr
4
comment What happens to a returning weapon if someone else grabs and throws it?
@b300mussolini I'm don't think a thrown person would qualify as a projectile weapon for the purposes of Snatch Arrow and the like. Could you give more info on the items or feats, or are they homebrew?
Apr
4
awarded  Nice Question
Feb
19
awarded  Yearling
Dec
31
comment Can a Psion become a Thrallherd, then drop Diplomacy with Psychic Reformation?
@KRyan: The rule in CW and CA is actually a copy/paste from the 3rd ed. rules on PrCs. 3.5 ed. does not define any rule contradicting them in any of the core books, so "that only applies in those books only" is just an assumption on your part and should never be treated as an unquestionable truth like you are doing. That said, this discussion does not add any value in answering the question it's on, so I won't continue it further.
Dec
31
comment Can a Psion become a Thrallherd, then drop Diplomacy with Psychic Reformation?
@KRyan: Like I said, that depens on whose word you take. The issue is that, no matter your answer, there is always some contradiction (e.g., if you play by "you can no longer gain a level on a PrC if you don't meet the prerequisites", you can't take more than one level in Ur-Priest). In the end you should really just rely on common sense.
Sep
5
awarded  Fanatic
Aug
24
comment Baleful polymorph on a dragon and spells with a somatic component
It will always, of course, be the DM's call. We used to have a Warmage that was polymorphed into a hummingbird and the DM allowed him to retain his spellcasting abilities; he found the change to be... favorable.
Aug
24
comment Baleful polymorph on a dragon and spells with a somatic component
That does not necessarily rule out spells that don't need any of those components like, say, Glorious Master of the Elements. It can also use a Silent spell with no somatic component, a Still spell with no verbal component... you get the idea. It would also be able to use its spell-like abilities ("A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost.").