12,508 reputation
13081
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 8 months
seen 1 hour ago

I'm a game designer that's been playing tabletop games since the early '00s. Most of my experience is with the D&D 3/3.5/Pathfinder ruleset, but I've bee branching out more in the past few years.


Jul
26
reviewed No Action Needed Looking for a Space marine RPG similar to Starship Troopers (the Novel)
Jul
26
reviewed Leave Closed Are there any RPGs that realistically prioritize speed and reach in melee?
Jul
26
reviewed Approve suggested edit on Can a Synthesist Summoner with a multi-armed eidolon get the multiweapon fighting monster feat?
Jul
26
answered How do I build a non-biomorphic AI?
Jul
24
accepted Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting in 5e?
Jul
23
comment When you Obtain a Cohort through the Leadership feat is it per the MM Entry or is it statted as a character?
That would be an absolutely reasonable houserule. :)
Jul
22
awarded  Nice Answer
Jul
22
comment Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting in 5e?
That solution seems... really cheesy. In that case, the "right after the trigger finishes" text is meaningless, since you could reasonably apply the "when they start to X" trigger to any readied action, which doesn't seem like it's the intended behavior.
Jul
22
reviewed Close What living apex lifeforms are there other than dragons?
Jul
22
asked Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting in 5e?
Jul
22
answered Are peoples' competencies really as flat in D&D 5e as its math suggests?
Jul
22
revised When you Obtain a Cohort through the Leadership feat is it per the MM Entry or is it statted as a character?
Added notes about dragons.
Jul
22
comment When a Sorcerer with the Maestro Bloodline casts verbal+somatic spells, are they affected by Bloodline Arcana?
Nope! Foci are foci. The line says that the spell can't have somatic or material components, but it doesn't say that the spell can't have a focus, so you can cast spells that require foci at +1 caster level all day long.
Jul
22
answered When you Obtain a Cohort through the Leadership feat is it per the MM Entry or is it statted as a character?
Jul
22
answered When a Sorcerer with the Maestro Bloodline casts verbal+somatic spells, are they affected by Bloodline Arcana?
Jul
12
comment How do Permanent Ability boosts interact with other items/spells that increase that ability
That last part is actually true, because Barkskin also applies an enhancement bonus to your natural armor. However, if you have a bonus to your natural armor from two different sources (say, racial and enhancement), then it stacks just like anything else would. The definition here makes it pretty clear: d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/…
Jul
12
comment How do Permanent Ability boosts interact with other items/spells that increase that ability
One thing you have incorrect here: An Amulet of Natural Armor doesn't give a natural armor bonus, it applies an enhancement bonus to your existing armor bonus. In the example you give, the character with a racial +2 Natural Armor bonus would have a total +3 Natural Armor bonus with the amulet. The text says: "... an enhancement bonus to his natural armor from +1 to +5..."
Jul
11
awarded  Good Question
Jul
11
comment How do spellbook tattoos combine with creatures that can change their shape?
Maybe, but there's very little evidence that the canvas would stay once you shifted back. The polymorph rules say that you turn into a typical member of whatever race you're turning into, and a typical creature doesn't have spell tattoos. This is certainly in the realm of "maybe your GM will allow it because it would be so cool", though.
Jul
11
answered How do spellbook tattoos combine with creatures that can change their shape?