16,656 reputation
144103
bio website
location Massachusetts
age
visits member for 3 years
seen 1 hour ago

I'm a game designer that's been playing tabletop games since the early '00s. Most of my experience is with the D&D 3/3.5/Pathfinder ruleset, but I've been branching out more in the past few years.


Dec
12
awarded  Nice Answer
Dec
7
accepted How does Mage Armor interact with Unarmored Defense?
Dec
7
accepted Does the Ring of Animal Friendship allow a save?
Dec
7
accepted Is a Summoner wearing Mithral Breastplate subject to ASF?
Dec
7
accepted Do Nightsticks stack with themselves?
Dec
7
comment Are there homebrew fix classes or rules that put Fighting types and Roguish types into Tier 1?
To the person who downvoted: Could you tell me why? I'd appreciate feedback.
Dec
7
comment Can a spellcaster know why a spell failed?
The caster knows how the spell works, certainly, but not what the specific effects of this casting are. I don't know of any rules that say that a caster knows that the spell failed due to the target passing their save, for example.
Dec
7
answered Are there homebrew fix classes or rules that put Fighting types and Roguish types into Tier 1?
Dec
7
comment Can a spellcaster know why a spell failed?
-1: I'm unaware of rules that support any of this stuff. I can't find anything in the magic overview in either system that makes it clear that you know why a spell would fail, or that a caster "is assumed to have a complete understanding of the spell". You can certainly run it that way, but you can just as easily run it the other way. If you can cite rules text that agrees with your interpretation, I'd reverse my downvote.
Dec
7
comment Can a spellcaster know why a spell failed?
Not an answer, but it's totally common and reasonable in the real world for skilled people to not know why their thing didn't work. I can't count the number of stories I've heard from programmers where a program failed because of a minor mistake that took hours to find, and seconds to fix.
Dec
7
answered Can you Plane Shift to the plane that you're on?
Dec
5
comment Do wizards really have to prepare spells multiple times to cast them multiple times?
@RobertF That analogy wouldn't work for 5E. Since wizards can cast a prepared spell more than once, the gun analogy wouldn't really work.
Dec
5
awarded  Good Answer
Dec
4
comment Do wizards really have to prepare spells multiple times to cast them multiple times?
@Ellesedil You're partially correct. The Spell Points system (UA 153) gives everyone a number of spell points (sorcerers get marginally more), and allow characters to spontaneously cast all of their prepared spells using those spell points. There is no change to the number of spells prepared. I don't like this variant, because it makes prepared spellcasters much, much more powerful, without causing a similar increase in power to spontaneous casters. The variant I propose makes wizards a bit less versatile, which is an important consideration.
Dec
4
awarded  Nice Answer
Dec
4
revised Do wizards really have to prepare spells multiple times to cast them multiple times?
Added houserules.
Dec
4
revised Do wizards really have to prepare spells multiple times to cast them multiple times?
Added note about vancian preparation.
Dec
4
answered Do wizards really have to prepare spells multiple times to cast them multiple times?
Dec
3
awarded  Good Answer
Dec
3
awarded  Enlightened