79,334 reputation
5197385
bio website d7.pipemaze.com
location Vancouver, Canada
age 34
visits member for 4 years, 3 months
seen 23 mins ago

Roleplayer, lapsed blogger, and full-time dad.

Started playing with AD&D 1e and GMing with AD&D 2e. Ran D&D 3.x, 4e briefly, then became a fan of indie games and the OSR. Particularly fond of GMless and short-form games because they suit a busy schedule and are good for enticing non-gamers into the hobby.

Running Dungeon World (on hiatus) • Playing D&D 4eReading Designers & Dragons (2014) by Shannon Appelcline


Feb
10
comment What version of D&D, or similar game, should I choose given my criteria?
@AlanDeSmet Yep. And again, late-era 3.x is pretty different from early-era 3.x. Late-2e to early-3e was a pretty seamless transition, but early- or even mid-2e to late-3e is shockingly different.
Feb
8
revised Where can I find other RPG players?
integrate comment
Feb
8
revised What version of D&D, or similar game, should I choose given my criteria?
added 386 characters in body
Feb
8
revised What version of D&D, or similar game, should I choose given my criteria?
added 340 characters in body
Feb
8
answered What version of D&D, or similar game, should I choose given my criteria?
Feb
8
comment Mimic's adhesive
I realised I was answer from a d20 SRD reading not a PRD reading, so I've deleted my answer. However, I maintain that the mimic is grappled is correct: "An adhesive-covered mimic automatically grapples" is not saying that it merely inflicts the grappled condition directly, it is saying that it grapples. The "automatically" doesn't alter what state follows, only how the state is brought about.
Feb
8
revised Do you always get a Will save?
more descriptive title
Feb
8
comment Mimic's adhesive
I realised just now that your first bullet point is ambiguous. When you ask about opponents trying grapple checks, are you asking what happens if someone initiates a grapple against a mimic, or are you asking what happens if someone tries to escape a grapple the mimic initiated?
Feb
7
revised What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?
added 28 characters in body
Feb
7
comment What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?
@KRyan Yes, good point. Sneak-Attack-from-Surprise only triggered once, IIRC? That's more what I was leaning on. The wording got inaccurate because in pre-3e backstab doesn't rely on surprise mechanically at all, and I was trying to avoid saying "surprise only once", because that is true in earlier editions. It's just not relevant to backstabbing in them.
Feb
7
answered What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?
Feb
7
comment What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?
Actually, this is not true across editions; "backstab only once" is how it works in 3.x and 4e and represented a significant change from previous editions. Given that Next is trying to bring back many elements of pre-3e D&D, how it works in 3.x and 4e is especially unreliable as a guide.
Feb
7
awarded  Nice Answer
Feb
7
answered Description trumps example?
Feb
7
comment Do Paladins add their Proficency bonus to their Spell Save DC?
You can still use formatting on your phone; under the hood, the buttons just add the text formatting in Markdown format. See the advanced formatting help page for the exhaustive details.
Feb
7
revised Do Paladins add their Proficency bonus to their Spell Save DC?
formatting
Feb
6
revised Do Paladins add their Proficency bonus to their Spell Save DC?
formatting & typos
Feb
6
comment Can you use Warp to escape a Binding?
Yes, that's a good caveat. I was working with the fictional setups of Spiderman and Nightcrawler, but a binding that, say, paralyzed the target's muscles would not prevent a warp, but would still be in effect at the destination.
Feb
6
comment History of the Wish Spell
@SteveED I'm not sure that "since a player character could purchase one in the first OD&D books" is accurate. As far as I'm aware, the default before 3e (barring the DM introducing a house rule) was that magic items could not be bought. Otherwise, great research!
Feb
6
comment History of the Wish Spell
@tpg2114 D&Ds prior to 3e used table inches for all measurements, a holdover from when combat used the Chainmail wargaming rules. Since the rules used different scales inside and outside, table inches were retained as the base unit of reference long after miniatures were no longer used for combat. Inside a table inch is 10 feet, outside it's 10 yards. So they could create a 30-foot-tall whirlwind in the dungeon, and a 30-yard-tall one in the wilderness.