1,425 reputation
1621
bio website twitter.com/ioanwigmore
location Edinburgh, United Kingdom
age 28
visits member for 2 years, 7 months
seen Oct 26 at 11:41

Player of RuneQuest, D&D, Deathwatch, Qin.

Dabbler in others.

DM for D&D (4E).


Jun
17
comment Grenade throwing: when even a miss is usually still a hit
I'm sorry, unless the enemy troops are Chaos Space Marines, they have grenades of a similar power, and they won't be able to throw them as far as a Deathwatch Space Marine. Also like I said, Space Marines can throw grenades up to 90 metres without any penalty, which I would not call 'close' and certainly wouldn't require sneaking. Like I asked, are the Deathwatch grenade mechanics calibrated for normal humans? You seem to be saying yes(?) and that that is the intention and not a problem because in your game involving normal humans there's not a problem(?)
Jun
15
revised Grenade throwing: when even a miss is usually still a hit
Rewording of the question
Jun
15
comment Grenade throwing: when even a miss is usually still a hit
I guess my question is "am I reading the rules correctly, and should any modifications be needed?" One can argue that the rules work as written, and space marines are indeed lethal with grenades, or one can argue that the scatter distance should increase with thrown distance, or maybe I'm missing some restriction on thrown weapons that takes this into account.
Jun
15
revised Grenade throwing: when even a miss is usually still a hit
Additional paragraph explaining the absurdity of long-range frag grenades
Jun
15
asked Grenade throwing: when even a miss is usually still a hit
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
Well my "yes" meant it does not simply stop acting, it will still carrying out the last action asked of it. But yes this is getting tricky to answer...
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
Wait, is it possible we actually agree? You say it stops once it completes the last command, I say it continues until there are no more commands (i.e. you're dead).
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
Then it's fine!
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
It gets more tenous, as I'd argue that a Magic Mouth speaking your words with your voice is not 'you', and thus the Servitor will not obey it. This also prevents someone else from ordering your Servitor about by using recorded fragments of some words you said at some point. So you cannot give the Servitor new orders after your death, but you can possibly still tell it how to act (while you are still alive) once it finds out that you are dead. It would effectively be carrying out your last will and testament :D
Jun
12
comment Clarification on 4e Raise Dead's 'part of the corpse'
Add in something about the time limit for Raise Dead being applicable also to the finger that was cut off (with the timer starting as soon as the finger is removed) and you have my vote :)
Jun
12
answered Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
I'd guess that the answer to this question will hinge entirely on how one interprets the words acts: does that mean taking a full set of Standard+Move+Minor actions, or does it purely mean 'this is his initiative'?
Jun
12
comment Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead?
Hmm, if you are unconscious then you do still have an initiative right? For example when making death saving throws you are unconscious, but do still have to roll a dice on your turn. So I think this is really only a valid question for if you are dead, as conscious/unconscious does not change when you have a 'turn'.
Jun
11
awarded  Constituent
Jun
11
revised Do the Onyx Dog's temporary hit points disappear when the party takes a short rest?
Expanding on original answer to escape the Review Page :)
Jun
11
comment What happens if you Push a target, who has another target Grabbed?
Can you give more of an explanation here? Are you agreeing with Erik & Pat and pointing out the exceptions to the general rule?
Jun
11
comment Can penalties from Enlarge Spell result in negative damage?
You beat me to it! But your answer has references so you win :)
Jun
11
answered Can penalties from Enlarge Spell result in negative damage?
Jun
11
comment Can an Undead Servitor use a Ritual scroll?
I already knew you were capable of coming up with interesting uses for rituals, so I'm not at all surprised, and this doesn't change my answer! Given how easy it is in many games to find a town cleric to perform Raise Dead for a fee, I don't see this being particularly overpowered or deviating from the intent of the Servitor. I mean, one can become a Lich at level 14 to cheat death, so why not this?
Jun
11
comment Methods for altering memories in 4E
Very useful! The side notes are also appreciated.