4,620 reputation
828
bio website terrible-and-true.tumblr.com
location Ellicott City, MD
age 46
visits member for 4 years, 3 months
seen Oct 27 '11 at 11:14

Peter Seckler (Peter_Seckler on this site) has been playing D&D in one form or another since 1978. Although he originally joined the RPGA in 2000, he didn't get very involved with any of the official campaigns until the Xendrik Expeditions campaign came out. When he isn't DMing, he works with "something involving computers" and lives in a world dominated by 8-bit music, fuzz pedals, analog synthesizers, his 50cc honda scooter, and his unexplainably hot girlfriend, who also happens to be a drow warlord.


Jan
7
comment Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?
The definitive answer at last.
Jan
7
accepted Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?
Jan
7
comment Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?
I upvoted but I want to entertain alternate possibilities. As a DM I love the idea of involuntary astral backlash. By a strict reading of the rules that damage occurs. unless someone can point out where it says it doesn't.
Jan
7
comment Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?
Nope, these are in fact attacks. Astral Seal has an attack roll, and is used against hostiles, and must beat a defense. Astral Seal is kinda the iconic one, but I use Hymn of Resurgence as an alternate example. since the power doesn't do damage I think you do make a good case for their not being crit damage, (and I feel pretty comfortable making rulings like that myself) but I was wondering if there are principles at work here. Because there is something kinda of interesting that happens when a pacifist attacks a bloodied creature, even accidentally- he gets stunned.
Jan
7
asked Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?
Jan
6
comment How often can a fighter benefit from Avenging Spirit?
Correct! But the nature of this feat (it provides a situational AP that has to be used in the same turn..) might be an exception (I would treat it as one). LFR Adventuring Company APs work like that as well.
Jan
5
revised What are some specific areas of compatibility between Cavaliers and Paladins?
Corrected spelling of Cavalier (originally had cavilier)
Jan
5
answered How often can a fighter benefit from Avenging Spirit?
Jan
5
answered How does telepathy work
Jan
4
revised What is the real difference between D&D 4th Edition and Essentials?
added 9 characters in body
Jan
4
comment What is the real difference between D&D 4th Edition and Essentials?
This is simply not true. The errata part is true (errata is incorporated into the Rules Compendium) but you only get a tiny selection of whats available with 4e with Essentials. Most of the classes, most races, most items, the multiclassing rules, the hybrids.. most everything.. are in the other books. Essentials is great, but it's only a basic version of the game.
Jan
4
answered What is the real difference between D&D 4th Edition and Essentials?
Jan
1
comment How do I adjudicate the natural tendency for hikers to spread in D&D 4e?
I guess my point is..the use of the term "hand wave". Really, it's no differnt than any edition of D&D (or any RPG, really..). There might be skill checks, or negotiations for gear, or roleplaying scenes in a general way.. but that's just as in any game. There was no system to conduct bargaining or research checks in Basic D&D, but those did take place (of course) and nobody ever called them 'hand-waving'.
Jan
1
comment How do I adjudicate the natural tendency for hikers to spread in D&D 4e?
Your comment "From a 4E perspective, you hand-wave the stuff in between the encounters, unless you're engaging with the skill challenge system, but simulationist minutiae is not part of "the 4E perspective." is simply not true.
Dec
30
comment Calculating encounter level with mixed CR enemies?
Aww, your first answer (pre-edit) was better. This one is now about XP rather than Encounter Level.
Dec
28
answered Roleplaying an addiction
Dec
27
answered Must you not use Monk Unarmed Strike, to take the bonus from Iron Parry?
Dec
26
revised Question regarding Sneak of Shadows feat
corrected the title of the feat- Sneak of Shadows vice Shadowy Sneak
Dec
26
answered Calculating encounter level with mixed CR enemies?
Dec
23
answered Where would Teleportation Circles be in Forgotten Realms?