22,232 reputation
354120
bio website havoc.boldo.com
location Lago Vista, TX
age 45
visits member for 4 years, 3 months
seen Nov 21 at 18:57

By day (and night, far too often) I'm the Operations Manager at Digital Motorworks.

Most of the rest of the time I'm with my family or gaming, or thinking about gaming.

Currently playing a 14th level Shifter Paladin in a 4th edition DnD campaign. I'm also just starting to run a campaign of my own.


Mar
5
comment Can a creature immune to Immobilized walk away from a creature grabbing it?
@Snowbody - to my knowledge there is no condition named "Blinded + 5 ongoing damage" Those are two separate conditions. You can tell because it is usually followed by "Save ends both"
Sep
24
comment How does Blind, Dominate and Stun affect a Mount
@ioanwigmore - it's a straight reading of the rules. While I usually quote the exact rules, in this case (being a 3 part question) I felt it would bloat the answer beyond usefulness.
Aug
18
comment Does a proning opportunity attack end movement in the square a creature was moving from?
I don't believe that second paragraph is accurate. Crawl is a separate action than Walk. After being prone, the creature may initiate a Crawl action if they have a move action (or equivalent) remaining, but the Walk action is essentially finished.
Aug
3
comment Is leather and/or hide proficiency sufficient to wear studded leather?
@JoshuaAslanSmith - studded has the interesting "tough" (ignore the first crit) property. It seems pretty sweet.
Aug
3
comment Is leather and/or hide proficiency sufficient to wear studded leather?
@user2525 - you can check the compendium or the book that the item was released in.
Jul
25
comment Do you get one or two saves when pushed into a pit?
@MrJinPengyou - Are you aware that forced movement does not normally allow a saving throw? If the forced movement forces you into hindering terrain (a pit is an example of hindering terrain) then you get a saving throw to avoid going into the hidden terrain.
Jul
24
comment Is there a saving throw for forced movement over unrevealed pits?
@Tacroy - which part? Treating 4e as a simulation is bound to lead to a lot of issues ;)
Jul
15
comment Do racial powers stack with class powers?
Welcome to RPG Luke!
Jun
26
comment Does the errata-ed Magic missile always kill a minion?
@Snowbody effect != miss, they are different.
Jun
19
comment What RPG worlds/systems work best together in crossover combinations?
This should not be reopened. Per our guidelines on sys-rec questions, Questions should be specific enough that there can be a single or best answer. This is just asking for people to relate their experiences. There is no objective reason to vote for one answer over another.
Jun
3
comment Burrowing, Large Creatures, Opportunity Attacks, Drowning, and Z-Axis Movement
One question with many parts attached just isn't going to work IMHO. Your tree format is supported (more or less) as questions can easily be linked from other questions. The multiquestion is flawed in that it restricts folks from answering, and those that do have to thread another guantlet. Consider FRandall's answer. I agree with parts of it, but not other parts. So how do I vote it? Answer - I can't in good conscience. I'm going to close this question so you can start fresh. On the plus side, more questions equals more rep gain for you!
Jun
2
comment Burrowing, Large Creatures, Opportunity Attacks, Drowning, and Z-Axis Movement
I appreciate that you put a lot of work into this question. However its pretty rare for a 4e question to go half a day without an answer so I'm going to give you some advice. 1) Ask your questions as separate questions so that one person doesn't feel they have to provide answers to everything in order to satisfy your request. 2) remove your answers from the question, add one of them in as an answer to your own question if you like. Good luck!
May
31
comment Can a mark be maintained when the target is invisible?
@stevec - The jury is still out on formatting of special terms, but I definitely frown on highlighting of non game defined terms like marking or invisibility.
May
30
comment When exactly do I make a saving throw?
I think you're wildly misinterpreting the "Specific beats General" guidance on page 29 of the Rules Compendium to be equivalent to the old concept of "Rule 0"
May
29
comment When exactly do I make a saving throw?
There isn't a Will saving throw in 4e. There are only Saving throws.
May
8
comment How can I make sure I'm awarding the right amount of honor at the end of a session?
When I read the book recently I understood it to be -12-16 a session, which sounded like a lot, but at least made sense with the per category rating per session. Looking at it again, it is -12 to 16 per level. Good question. I'm lacking actual play experience to help craft an answer though!
May
8
comment What does the Axe Expertise extra feature mean by “that results in a 1”?
@ErikBurigo If you gift it to the DM, it works pretty well...
May
8
comment What does the Axe Expertise extra feature mean by “that results in a 1”?
@SteveC - I dunno, but once I had the dice out I didn't want to leave any of them out of the shot. :) Plus there is probably some Dragon article that has a d20 axe, maybe an April's fools issue somewhere!
May
8
comment What does the Axe Expertise extra feature mean by “that results in a 1”?
@waxeagle yep, got a couple sets. I enjoy them a bunch, thanks.
May
7
comment How do the rules that govern a Cleric's Turn Undead ability vary among D&D editions?
Reposting my deleted comment as I feel it still applies and this question is not up to our standards. (It could easily be fixed by stating what problem you are trying to solve) -- I don't understand what problem this question is solving. Perhaps you could state that explicitly? As our faq notes, "You should only ask practical, answerable questions based on actual problems that you face. Chatty, open-ended questions diminish the usefulness of our site and push other questions off the front page. "