21,692 reputation
249116
bio website twitter.com/#!/Jadasc
location Medford, MA
age 39
visits member for 3 years, 8 months
seen 14 mins ago

I've been involved in one aspect or another of the adventure games hobby for the past twenty-five years. Started playing in 1987. (First game? Champions, followed by CyberSpace, the Iron Crown cyberpunk game for Space Master, their sci-fi Rolemaster spin-off.) Was hired by InQuest Magazine in 1996, where I started my editorial career. Since then, I've done work for Green Ronin, Malhavoc Press, Dream Pod 9, and White Wolf. I managed two different game stores in the metro Boston area in the 2000s, and am now working primarily freelance. Still gaming after all these years.

I have a weakness for good coffee and bad puns.


Feb
24
comment Is the Good Lich template is a character template or a lich template?
"Are you a good lich, or a bad lich?" — Glinda, making her Knowledge: Religion check.
Feb
12
comment Can a Wraith perceive the Shadowlands when emboding or skinriding?
Regarding your edit: I don't have access to Spectres: Dark Reflections, so I don't know if "ghost vision" is a power that spectres have that wraiths do not. I still believe that my answer is correct, based on my experience with the line as a whole. You're right, however, about the implication; I simply think it's a poor choice of words on the author's part.
Feb
8
comment Can a Wraith perceive the Shadowlands when emboding or skinriding?
@Flamma The same roll one would make to act across the shroud, based on its difficulty.
Feb
8
comment Can a Wraith perceive the Shadowlands when emboding or skinriding?
@Flamma There's no book that explicitly says it that I've found, but my reasoning is this: wraiths can see wraiths not because they have a power that lets them do so, like a "sense ghost" ability, but because they exist in the same plane of being. They can see them with their eyes in the Shadowlands because that's where they are. Once they leave the Shadowlands, they cannot see wraiths any more than they could see any other kind of spirit entity, or the astral plane.
Feb
3
comment What happen to a Wraith's belongings when it falls into a Harrowing?
No worries. And the reason I focused on the destruction harrowing is, to my mind, that's the only one where the outcome is in question. In harrowings targeting a fetter or a passion, it's certain that you can bring your gear. Of course, since the goal of the harrowing isn't to destroy the spectral actors, but to roleplay out a scene involving what matters to you, the sword is unlikely to help.
Feb
3
comment What happen to a Wraith's belongings when it falls into a Harrowing?
That text isn't there in Second Edition: what it says instead is, "With even her tenuous hold on the reality of the Shadowlands being eroded, she stands on the verge of total dissolution." I think that, with the new edition, they strove to fix this problem; a Harrowing either moves a wraith bodily into the Labyrinth, or just triggers the roll. And I checked about the Corpus thing. "Success snaps her back to a Fetter (if she has any) or to a random part of the Tempest where she immediately recovers a single point each of temporary and permanent Corpus.
Jan
14
comment What content and format does a MET: VTM character submission need?
@SevenSidedDie I believe you are. There was a policy some years ago that White Wolf had regarding its LARP groups, the use of their material for for-play games, and a bunch of politics that are a decade old. None of that stuff is extant now. The link you've provided is to the publisher, By Night Studios, promoting the event that I referenced in my edit. It's possible that the questioner is about to play in a global chronicle game, but if she didn't say so, it's not quite correct to assume that.
Jan
14
comment What content and format does a MET: VTM character submission need?
When you say "sanctioned," what organization are you playing with?
Jan
5
comment Abandoned at embrace
Welcome to the site, Jason!
Dec
27
comment When adapting a setting to 13th Age, how to decide what is an Icon?
@KyleWilley Makes sense. I was thinking mainly of "That group of people who Mon Mothma leads and who Admiral Akbar reports to" — the ones who gave Leia her mission. She's got, like, a 3 point positive connection to them, where Luke has 1 (at the end of the first film) and Han has 0, or maybe one conflicted.
Dec
27
comment When adapting a setting to 13th Age, how to decide what is an Icon?
@KyleWilley I suppose that's true, but I think there's a lot of potential in the idea that a group dedicated to a single goal could be, in and of itself, iconic if they tend to be dealt with as a collective. Obi-Wan Kenobi has a conflicted relationship with the Jedi Council, but not any specific Jedi Knight as a whole, if you feel me.
Dec
24
comment Anything known about the Green or the White?
It's not an answer to the question, but you can see the write-up for white dragons (a Bestiary sneak preview) at pelgranepress.com/site/media/pdfs/…. White dragons aren't just ice dragons; they're cemetery dragons and moon dragons, too.
Dec
22
comment Can a character choose to be taken out?
Author in the thread. :)
Dec
19
comment Extended actions rules, retry at bonus?
What I'm getting is that if you stop by choice, and you have more rolls left, and if the project is one that you can come back to, you can pick up where you left off, with no bonus or penalty. If something forces you to stop, and that can include failing a roll or running out of resources or time or not having the skill to continue, you are considered to have "failed," but may be able to resume later with a proportional bonus. Keeping your gained successes is determined by whether or not you chose to gain a condition upon a failed roll, and is a separate element.
Dec
19
comment Extended actions rules, retry at bonus?
Yeah, my reading now is that "abandoning" is something you do when you fail, either because you ran out of rolls or because something else made you stop — in Sammy's case, it was because he ran out of time. The percentage bonus only comes when starting again after failure, not when "taking a break" between rolls.
Dec
19
comment Extended actions rules, retry at bonus?
The trouble with this is that this example comes at the tail end of a very long section, where the character has a number of restrictions on him that are imposed by the story and aren't made clear. In this case, Sammy is under a time constraint — he has enough skill for seven rolls, but only enough time for four. I've reread the example and have revised my answer.
Dec
17
comment What does this kind of prereq mean?
@acolyte I think he has; it's the World of Darkness core setting for the nWoD rules. Merits don't have prereqs in the same way in oWoD, especially not to the degree they do in nWoD, and merits for individual games tend to be Supernatural.
Nov
30
comment Film noir character archetypes
My downvote is for "bad speculation." That last paragraph implies that you don't have first-hand knowledge of what's in the book, and you're guessing based on other works.
Nov
28
comment How do you handle multiple actions that do not require dice-pools?
If I ever knew you hung out here, @qoonpooka, I'd forgotten it. Nice to see you.
Nov
5
comment How does Lure of Flames work?
So long as you're good with that, I'll answer the question below. I might recommend removing the rules-as-written tag, then.