Reputation
29,299
Next tag badge:
425/400 score
72/80 answers
Badges
7 64 142
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~518k people reached

1d
awarded  Nice Answer
2d
comment Can I cast a no-concentration spell while concentrating on another?
@doppelgreener I felt sure this would be a duplicate of something but it doesn't seem to be.
2d
answered Can I cast a no-concentration spell while concentrating on another?
2d
awarded  Nice Answer
2d
comment Can surprise be granted by another skill than Dexterity (Stealth)?
I agree with this answer in general except that it conflates surprising someone with acting before them. The combat rules call for initiative after surprise has been determined: if the surprised creature rolls well on initiative their turn comes first and they are no longer surprised when the surpriser acts.
2d
answered How many Critical Hits for Assassinate?
2d
revised How long is the Temple of Elemental Evil (T1-4) campaign?
added 172 characters in body
2d
comment How long is the Temple of Elemental Evil (T1-4) campaign?
@GMJoe I was in high school and had no other social life so once a week or so. Now its more like 3 sessions per year.
2d
answered How long is the Temple of Elemental Evil (T1-4) campaign?
Apr
26
answered How do the dual wield feat and versatile weapons interact?
Apr
26
answered Are these escape options for a Large creature correct?
Apr
26
comment Running a Senate Based game?
Hi, welcome to the site. Please take a look at the tour. You should also check out the don't ask section of the help as your question as it stands falls bang into it.
Apr
25
answered Non-Combat XP, with combat later
Apr
24
revised How does the Alert feat change the first turn of the battle?
added 345 characters in body
Apr
24
answered How does the Alert feat change the first turn of the battle?
Apr
24
comment How does the Alert feat change the first turn of the battle?
This is not how surprise works - read the rules again.
Apr
24
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
@DavidMulder I have zero impulse to make my fantasy world consistent given that the real one isn't. Each to his own.
Apr
23
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
@DavidMulder My point is that all DM knowledge should theoretically be discoverable by the players. They may not discover it but if you are making stuff up then that they can't discover, except for whatever pleasure that gives you, it's a waste of time. You also don't have to make this stuff up in advance; my idea for the Kobold/gnolls relationship took about 6 seconds and could have been a response to a player question rather than pre-planned.
Apr
22
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
If you are going to explain it to yourself (and you should) find a way to get that info to the players. "Ah, kobolds," says the PC dwarf "best keep an eye for gnolls, they oft work together."
Apr
21
accepted What does “… when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there” mean