Reputation
29,299
Next tag badge:
425/400 score
72/80 answers
Badges
7 64 142
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~518k people reached

1d
comment Can I cast a no-concentration spell while concentrating on another?
@doppelgreener I felt sure this would be a duplicate of something but it doesn't seem to be.
2d
comment Can surprise be granted by another skill than Dexterity (Stealth)?
I agree with this answer in general except that it conflates surprising someone with acting before them. The combat rules call for initiative after surprise has been determined: if the surprised creature rolls well on initiative their turn comes first and they are no longer surprised when the surpriser acts.
2d
comment How long is the Temple of Elemental Evil (T1-4) campaign?
@GMJoe I was in high school and had no other social life so once a week or so. Now its more like 3 sessions per year.
Apr
26
comment Running a Senate Based game?
Hi, welcome to the site. Please take a look at the tour. You should also check out the don't ask section of the help as your question as it stands falls bang into it.
Apr
24
comment How does the Alert feat change the first turn of the battle?
This is not how surprise works - read the rules again.
Apr
24
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
@DavidMulder I have zero impulse to make my fantasy world consistent given that the real one isn't. Each to his own.
Apr
23
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
@DavidMulder My point is that all DM knowledge should theoretically be discoverable by the players. They may not discover it but if you are making stuff up then that they can't discover, except for whatever pleasure that gives you, it's a waste of time. You also don't have to make this stuff up in advance; my idea for the Kobold/gnolls relationship took about 6 seconds and could have been a response to a player question rather than pre-planned.
Apr
22
comment Do different monsters cooperate? Do I need to justify it when they do?
If you are going to explain it to yourself (and you should) find a way to get that info to the players. "Ah, kobolds," says the PC dwarf "best keep an eye for gnolls, they oft work together."
Apr
21
comment Natives' spells and abilities pretty useless on elemental plane of fire?
Yes your assessment is right. By the same token, it's amazing that fish are all good swimmers.
Apr
21
comment How can a character escape after being engulfed by a shambling mound?
No, its Strength (Athletics) check is a 14, you have to beat that.
Apr
18
comment Can a Tome warlock inscribe known spells into their Book of Shadows?
There is an edge case that you have overlooked. You could Sciberras a Warlock spell that you know and when you gain a level swap out that spell from your spells known. You would no longer know it but could use the book to cast it as a ritual.
Apr
17
comment How should I deal with metagaming?
I am familiar with the Israeli day care experiment: it is used in the social sciences of an example of how to totally stuff up your experiment's methodology to get data that is fundamentally flawed econlog.econlib.org/archives/2005/10/revenge_of_the.html
Apr
17
comment Is escaping a grapple an action or an attack action?
For clarity, there are no "full-turn actions" in 5e: there are actions, bonus actions and reactions. Similarly one of the choices you can make for your action is the Attack action which will give you one (or more) attacks, you can also make an attack using some bonus actions and reactions: an "attack" and an "attack action" are very different things.
Apr
16
comment Can a surprised creature contest a grappling attempt?
You should note that you only get 2 turns if you beat the other creature in initiative. See media.wizards.com/2016/downloads/DND/SA_Compendium.pdf p.6
Apr
16
comment Can Prestidigitation soil someone's pants?
@hyde Depends what you mean by 1 cubic foot - is it the volume of space occupied or the volume of material. RAW doesn't tell us so that's DM call.
Apr
14
comment Does Calm Emotions still allow a saving throw?
@András you have the cart before the horse - it is not affecting you because it is suppressed, not the other way around.
Apr
13
comment Can a paladin use his Divine Smite/Improved Divine Smite when using the Tentacle Rod?
@Meta4ic That is quibbling - it's also right
Apr
13
comment Fighting an Invisible Stalker
Please feel free to ask the question - that's what the site is for - just don't ask it in a comment. Also, please search before asking that one; its come up before.
Apr
12
comment Do characters provoke opportunity attack when they leave another character's reach who is not facing them?
Technically since your reach extends above and below you as well, it's 5-feet and 720 solid degrees en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid_angle
Apr
12
comment How can I provide a challenge for a powergamer?
@Nemenia This is a system-agnostic question - where do I get a DM guide that covers every system?