3,437 reputation
724
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 2 months
seen yesterday

1d
comment What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?
d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Transmutation-Polymorph for the Polymorph subschool, d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/p/polymorph for the specific spell in question. They could have been a bit more clear and direct on this particular point, but reading carefully through all of that does eventually lead to the conclusion that nothing in the spell or the rules that go with it allow for the creature type to change, and the Polymorph subschool rules do call out that the spells only do what it says, so if it doesn't say the type changes, then it doesn't.
May
21
comment Can a Power be Augmented Using the Same Option Multiple Times
@JackLesnie Except the text of the augment doesn't say it "grants you an animal", it says the power "can also affect an animal". In English, if "in addition to all these options, you can affect an animal, and in addition to all those options (including the "animal" option already added to the list), you can also affect an animal", then the second instance of adding "animal" to the list is just redundant, it doesn't turn the first one from "an animal" into "up to two animals".
May
17
answered What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?
May
17
answered Does the ×4 cost of armoring a mount apply to base cost or total cost?
May
17
comment Role playing a character that speaks in rhyme, and making it work well
@SteveJessop It doesn't necessarily have to go meta, provided that your convention calls for contextual translation rather than literal translation (which avoids a lot of problems, not just this one), and provided that you are willing to hand-wave the translations working out smoothly and accurately to an unrealistic degree (again, avoids a lot of problems, not just this one). It just means that the translation transparently accounts for the differences in what rhymes.
May
16
comment Can you have multiple cohorts?
@ShadowKras Who said anything about taking any one feat multiple times? We're all talking about taking two different feats, each of them one time. There's no "You can take this multiple times" clause, because you can't take it multiple times. You can, however, take it one time, and also take the other feat one time, and have both of them do their respective effects separately, the end result of which is that you have one PC with two cohorts.
May
14
comment Can you have multiple cohorts?
As for picking a better example, the one mentioned in the OP and Leadership itself seem to be the only Paizo ones that grant cohorts. Others that do so are pretty much all 3pp
May
14
comment Can you have multiple cohorts?
@MrTumnus I didn't, I used the feat only to demonstrate the difference; I determined that there was a difference in the first place independently of it, though I guess I can see how the way I phrased it makes that a bit unclear. If I come up with a better phrasing, I'll switch it.
May
14
comment What skill would you use to determine a scent?
The bit about what it means to have a score in an ability might have been mentioned in Savage Species, but it wasn't from there, it was in Core. The very first book on the shelves for both of those editions, the PHB, had a blurb for each ability, including the bit about having a metabolism and the bit about being able to perceive its environment.
May
14
answered Can you have multiple cohorts?
May
11
reviewed Approve What are the legal/ethical considerations of republishing old adventures for new editions?
May
11
answered How can an aristocracy be perpetuated between creatures that can't interbreed?
May
8
comment Can a Power be Augmented Using the Same Option Multiple Times
@JackLesnie By that interpretation, it shouldn't matter how many times you apply augment 1, you still only get an animal.
May
6
revised Is there a way to affect mindless creatures with mind-affecting spells or powers?
added 1091 characters in body
May
6
comment Can a Power be Augmented Using the Same Option Multiple Times
Augment 1 once and 3 once would get him two animals. He doesn't need to apply the first augment once per animal, just once total, because it doesn't allow a particular target to be an animal, it allows the power to include animals in its list of legal target types. As for the augments improving save DCs, I suspect he's probably referring to the effects of the Mental Intrusion ability of psions with Telepathy as their chosen discipline, though there's also a feat that has a similar effect.
May
6
comment Is there a way to affect mindless creatures with mind-affecting spells or powers?
@KRyan Ways to bypass the immunity? Yes, I didn't specify them because the OP made it clear that he was already aware of them. Gotta get to class now, will edit after to make this clearer
May
6
answered Is there a way to affect mindless creatures with mind-affecting spells or powers?
May
1
comment How can I make a grappling Fighter?
@C.Ross Recommending to the unwitting that they take Fighter past level 2 isn't Being very Nice, either.
May
1
comment Do the greater and normal versions of a spell stack in Pathfinder?
I was right on track to upvote, right up until you suggested naming an unnamed bonus as a houserule fix. That is a HUGE nerf, for absolutely no good reason. Preventing a related basic and greater spell from stacking with each other is unnecessary, but reasonable. Preventing them from stacking from a whole class of other effects that they were clearly and explicitly designed to stack with is not.
Apr
20
comment Can I combine INT boosting Cognatogens with Fox's Cunning?
Current version is no longer unclear, though it is a possible duplicate of every other "does X stack with Y" question we've ever had, as the answer to any one of them pretty much clears up the rest of them as well.