2,397 reputation
529
bio website zanyphoto.com
location San Jose, CA
age 42
visits member for 1 year, 4 months
seen 7 hours ago

Software engineer, photographer, musician, and gamer.


Aug
29
reviewed Approve suggested edit on Do rules exist for creating artefacts?
Aug
28
awarded  Nice Question
Aug
27
comment Is a Bard quicker to engage?
Whoa. This is sweet!
Aug
27
comment How does “failure” work in Dungeon World? How does it move the story forward?
This is an interesting answer, but when you’re departing from an apparent consensus, I recommend using more quotations from the rulebooks and designer notes, and less bold-all-caps.
Aug
25
comment Why did the D&D devs design spontaneous casters to lose out on a spell level compared to prepared casters?
Jonathan Tweet was the lead designer and the author of the Player’s Handbook. While Monte Cook and Skip Williams did contribute to the overall design, Williams’s primary area of responsibility was the Monster Manual.
Aug
24
comment Does a Barbarian get an extra 1d6 or 2d6 if they are using a Greatsword?
The quote suggests that this is to make axes more attractive than swords, but it also makes smaller swords relatively much better than a big sword, which is just kind of bizarre. That makes it sound like the quote is a spur of the moment rationalization rather than a considered design decision, so I don't think it's good evidence in favor of the ruling.
Aug
24
answered Overcoming setting complexity paralysis as a GM
Aug
24
comment Does a Barbarian get an extra 1d6 or 2d6 if they are using a Greatsword?
This reading produces the strange result that a greatsword deals only slightly more damage than a two-handed longsword: 5d6 (17.5) versus 3d10 (16.5). That doesn't seem like an intended result.
Aug
23
comment Can a DM disallow the Candle of Invocation exploit using RAW?
@SevenSidedDie Market prices for magic items survived two editions and over 12 years. I don't see anything inherently wrong with them – magic item markets work fine mechanically and thematically in other games (eg Shadowrun).
Aug
21
comment Does 5e better explain what they mean by “duration, or until you lose your concentration?”
To me the ambiguity is more: Is this when it ends, or how long it lasts? The former implies whichever comes first, whereas the latter implies whichever comes last. It’s especially confusing because duration normally means the latter, not the former. So the rule on page 203 is necessary to disambiguate.
Aug
20
comment Is there a limit on the volume of material that can be affected by the Minor Alchemy class feature?
I’m not entirely sure whether the duration is supposed to be whichever comes first or last (although most spells end early if you stop concentrating). And I’m not sure whether the hour starts at the beginning of the spell or the completion of the transmutation. But I do think your interpretation is a reasonable one.
Aug
20
awarded  Custodian
Aug
20
reviewed Approve suggested edit on What is advantage?
Aug
20
comment Does 5e address the murderhobos problem?
That would be neutralizing the threat in some other manner. I'm not seeing the distinction you're making.
Aug
20
accepted If I roll a low Hit Die, can I use the fixed value instead?
Aug
20
comment How to determine surprise when only part of a side is stealthy?
Yes, unfortunately sentences like this are ambiguous in English – the not is an even bigger problem than the indefinite article – but I like the approach you took to resolving it. I was thinking along the same lines myself, that surprise makes more sense if you interpret it that way.
Aug
20
comment How to determine surprise when only part of a side is stealthy?
Thanks, I think that’s an improvement, although I still don’t think the group passive Perception is a good idea. (The rest of the house rule is good, though.)
Aug
20
asked How to determine surprise when only part of a side is stealthy?
Aug
19
comment Is there a general rule of take the average or roll the dice?
There are also many instances where you are allowed to optionally modify a roll after you have rolled it. All of the ones I recall explicitly state that you can choose to add the modifier after you have rolled but before the DM announces the result.
Aug
19
awarded  Nice Question