Reputation
7,197
Top tag
Next privilege 10,000 Rep.
Access moderator tools
Badges
1 18 48
Impact
~126k people reached

Apr
21
comment My DM is my roommate and not a good DM… help?
Alternating games might be a good idea, but I think the rest of the suggestion in this answer is a bit passive/aggressive and could backfire in various ways. I would take the basic idea of alternating games and recommend the fiancee run as good a game as they can instead. As a side issue, there are two other players who don't deserve to be caught up in some kind of bad game one-upmanship.
Apr
21
revised (How) can a Warforged get the Dragonblood Subtype?
added 2 characters in body
Apr
21
comment What do you have to roll to successfully steal a health potion from a store?
I think this is a good answer because it provides some reasonable-to-expect background where other answers defer to the DM. Worth also bearing in mind the consequences of stealing from a place selling high value and rarely-purchased items. The shop-keeper may quite easily put 2+2 together (or use a simple divination spell) in order to discover who stole the goods. Unless the DM is feeling generous, this would not be a roll-get-and-forget crime, but could have serious consequences to the OP's party relationship with the settlement.
Apr
20
comment My DM is my roommate and not a good DM… help?
Are there any redeeming features to this game, or is it a constant stream of annoyances similar to the ones you list? If the latter, it seems unlikely that it is fixable with a single piece of advice, unless you are simply asking for the best way of exiting the game whilst remaining friends with your room-mate. And, being your room-mate, you know him and his likely reactions to your behaviour better than anyone here. To narrow down the question, can you change it from "How should we handle this situation?" and write the outcome you would like?
Apr
19
revised Should a rogue be denied a hide attempt if he is around a corner of a hall and his position is known, and it is the only place to hide?
deleted 1 character in body
Apr
19
revised Should a rogue be denied a hide attempt if he is around a corner of a hall and his position is known, and it is the only place to hide?
edited body
Apr
19
comment Should a rogue be denied a hide attempt if he is around a corner of a hall and his position is known, and it is the only place to hide?
Of course this: youtube.com/watch?v=zekiZYSVdeQ
Apr
19
answered Should a rogue be denied a hide attempt if he is around a corner of a hall and his position is known, and it is the only place to hide?
Apr
18
awarded  Nice Question
Apr
17
asked Dungeon World after much D&D (3.5E, 4E and 5E) - struggling with what degree of “fiction first” applies to moves
Apr
7
comment What are the statistical implications of doubling damage on crit instead of doubling the dice rolled?
I clicked through here about to add the same answer. The ultimate statistical implication is "more chance of PC deaths". Easy to fix though - let the players use the swingy approach of doubling the damage rolls of single set of damage dice if they like it, and make the monsters use the averaging approach to double the number of dice.
Apr
5
comment Do multiple attacks get advantage for both attacks if the creature is under the effects of Faerie Fire?
There are a few "get advantage on next attack" situations though, which might be confusing the OP, and could be the subject of similar question. E.g. target hit with Guiding Bolt.
Apr
1
comment Does the D4 from Bless go away after it's used?
The concentration rules are an important part of the rules for Bless and other buff spells, and the OP is advised to read them carefully, and remember to apply them (in play my group still misses some clashes of concentration spells - especially with cantrips - or forgets to roll checks on taking damage). The effect may seem powerful otherwise.
Mar
30
comment Do creatures with Legendary Resistance know what is hitting them in order to choose to use the resistance or not?
@anaximander: Probably just people strongly agreeing with the other answer, which this one is kind of the opposite to. This answer assumes that Legendary Resistance is a power that the creature is aware of and controls the use of.
Mar
16
comment Would the AC from a Sorcerer's Draconic Resistance combine with a Monk's Unarmoured Defence?
@Escoce: You can have both abilities - the end result is you get the best protection from either the skill or the tough skin. They combine as max( A, B ) instead of base + A + B in the rules. Note that neither of these things has much basis in reality of avoiding being hit or damaged (they protect in too different ways). Instead the rules have been made to fit in the context of other rules. Specifically in 5E, the bounded accuracy design falls apart if you allow a few individuals to stack AC when characters fighting them do not also stack attack bonuses.
Mar
14
comment Would the AC from a Sorcerer's Draconic Resistance combine with a Monk's Unarmoured Defence?
@Escoce: It is not a "no stacking" problem at all, because 5E doesn't really have anti-stacking rules like 3E, other than "you cannot stack the exact same thing multiple times". Instead, buffs are carefully designed and worded such that stacking is generally not avaliable. In order to stack two AC effects like those listed, you have to wilfully ignore the rule quoted in this answer plus the very clear definitions of the AC abilities, and apply your "common sense" to how you think the rules work. Not only does that fight against the rules, but as you point out it also creates balance issues.
Mar
2
comment Can PCs attune to a Hag Eye or similar magical items?
There are also some spells which operate via "enchanting" items, but with restricted use, which the Hag Eye effect appears similar to (in terms of the description being somewhere in-between a "magical item" and the effects of a spell). I think Arcane Lock, Clone, Cordon of Arrows, Drawmij's Instant Summons, Leomond's Secret Chest are in that category - I've given up looking further . . .
Feb
28
awarded  Custodian
Feb
28
reviewed Reject Can PCs gain XP from “defeating” an enemy who actually just used Feign Death?
Feb
26
awarded  Good Answer